We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #162 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just returned from an 8 night stay, great location between 5th and 6th but the best thing about this hotel is the service, very friendly and nothing too much of a problem. Roof bar is a nice addition looking straight at the Empire State.
24 hr deli across the road which is useful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chay74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your “Perfect” depiction of your recent stay at the Strand Hotel! It was a pleasure to have you with us at for eight nights, and it sounds as if you experienced all our best elements, including helpful, friendly staff and our the rooftop bar with New York City’s most spectacular views. I hope the free WiFi and morning newspapers came in handy, too. I appreciate your writing about your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,,

John N, Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 2,358 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Beautiful hotel, impressing roof top, clean rooms (not spacious, but all you need). Why not 5 on 5? Cause of small breakfast, every day the same. Service: excellent! We had to leave at 5am, and got our breakfast and coffee in a brown bag. Wonderful! Greets from Belgium.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about all the things you enjoyed at The Strand. We are glad that we were able to extend a breakfast to go option for your trip to the airport and I hope your flight back to Belgium was a smooth one. I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to New York.

Enjoy the rest of your summer!

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We just returned from a three night stay at the Strand and we would return in a heartbeat. The staff was incredibly accommodating. Antwan was generally managing the front desk when we arrived and departed and he was fabulous. One member of our party was celebrating her birthday and, when we returned from dinner, there were wine and some lovely desserts awaiting us from The Strand. Our room was every bit as gorgeous, fresh and modern as the ones shown in the ads and the view of the Empire State Building was awesome. The room was also spacious, by New York standards. We were within easy walking distance of many sights, including the New York Public Library and Bryant Park, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Grand Central Station, Tiffany's and the Rockefeller Center. We highly recommend The Strand.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 155011Harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We enjoy making each guest feel truly special, and letting us know about the birthday among those in your party gave our amazing staff a chance to shine. I am delighted that you enjoyed everything, from the rooms, to the central location, to the birthday goodies. Thank you for pointing out that the photos on our website are, in fact, true to life! We’re so proud of our hotel, and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I hope I will have the chance to welcome you again soon.

Warm reagrds,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed here one night during a quick trip to New York and I can't say enough good things about The Strand. Beautiful, modern, well-appointed hotel in the heart of the city. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms clean, but by far the best part was the jaw-dropping view we had of the Empire State Building from our window. The staff was accommodating and made the stay very easy and hassle-free. Only gripe was that after being assured a roll-away bed by the phone operator who made our reservation we arrived at the hotel only to find that the room was too small for one and that they didn't have any to begin with. I think this is the fault of the hotline, but it was a small fault in an otherwise great stay.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank asegreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your wonderful comments and delighted that you enjoyed all the comforts of the Strand! Our central location is truly in the heart of the city, glad you found us and hope to see you back again in the near future. We apologize for the confusion with the rollaway bed, and are grateful to you for pointing it out so that we can address the matter.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were pleased with the hotel overall. The staff was friendly and accomodating. When we checked in we requested a room with a better view, no problem. We were within walking distance of Times Square and had a great view of The Empire States Bldg.
We were disappointed that breakfast wasn't included, as we'd read on previous reviews. That policy had been discontinued. It would have been nice to have coffee in our rooms.
I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,

I was so happy to read that the location, staff, and view from your room were great, and I thank you for sharing this with others. Our buffet breakfast set up changed at the beginning of this year as we are now able to offer wide range of a hot a la carte breakfast items that were not available in the past. Hope you will have the opportunity of trying our new delicious breakfast offering in the future. As for coffee facilities in the rooms, it is our pleasure to provide you with a complimentary coffee maker by simply requesting it at check in or during your reservation. Please feel free to contact me personally in the future for any request you may have.

Hope to see you soon!

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My cousin and I stayed at the Strand for an overnight and had a great experience at this hotel. From the moment we valet our car - to check in - walking around the hotel - to our visit to the roof top bar - EVERY staff person we encountered were extremely helpful & courteous. The location was perfect & the view of the Empire State Building was breathtaking! The room was quiet & the bed was comfortable. My family & I will definitely stay at the Strand again - hopefully soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJbeachk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that you were able to experience the genuine warmth of the Strand team and that you were able to take advantage of the many attractions that are within walking distance of the Strand! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hope you and your family enjoy the rest of your summer!

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Location: the hotel is well located in the heart of Manhattan, on the 37th st between 5th and 6th avenue. 10 minutes walk to Times Square (5 blocks), and 15 minutes walk to Port Authority, one of the main bus terminals in Manhattan. It is also close to Penn metro station (7 blocks away - on the 34th & 8th Avenue) that can take you to Times Square (where all metro lines connect) and from there you can pretty much reach anywhere. There are also many convenience stores around the hotel. Blacksmith Delicatess is right across the street, where you can get breakfast and some snacks for USD10-20 per person. Many Starbucks are around the hotel within 5 to 10 minutes walk.

Airport transfer:
The taxi from/to La Guaradia airport will cost you around USD 35 depending on the traffic ... And 65 USD to JFK. The hotel offers shuttle service to the airport at USD 20 per person (max 2 light luggage & needs to be arranged 5 hours in advance). I personally prefer taking The train from/to JFK: take the AirTrain from the JFK to Jamaica Station (for USD 5), then the LIRR (Long Island Rail Road) to Penn Station (USD 7.5), which is very close to the hotel.
Room: small but clean, elegant and well equipped with a large LCD, minibar and an iPod/iPhone alarm docking station. Don't expect much view: we stayed there twice: once on the 14th floor and yhe second on the 5th (don't take room 510 coz it was terribly small) ... In both times were surrounded by a forest of concrete buildings on very narrow streets (that is Manhattan!). We barely had a closet (we actually left our cloth in the suitcases as there weren't much space to put them in the wardrobe). We had free Internet.
Staff: mostly friendly, but few weren't! ... Tips is the name of the game in NY (and US in general) I asked them for a really BIG favor and they were accommodating: I had to leave 2 of my luggage there for 10 days as I was going on a Bahamas cruise, then coming back to NY, and didn't want to travel with my full luggage, especially with the excessive Woodberry Commons shopping that filled a full large suitcase. At the beginning they refused, but then agreed because my company has a corporate contract with the hotel. Mind you that space in Manhattan is very scarce, and comes at a cost! ... I wd have had to pay a fortune to store my luggage at JFK (USD 16 per luggage per day! ... ie they saved me USD 320 + USD 75 for taxis back and forth to drop the luggage and take them back) ... Don't forget to tip the bellman!
Restaurants: I didn't use any of their restaurants as they were not included in my package. However, the main restaurant at the lobby didn't look great anyway! ... We didn't have a problem finding places to eat ... Restaurants and convenient stores are all around the hotel.
Their Concierge is very friendly. We used them to book the bus tickets to Woodberry Coomons (a must do if you are a shopping guru and looking for branded stuff at very discounted prices) ... We also used them for tips around Manhattan (they provide nice maps) and recommendation for places to watch the 4th of July fireworks.

Value for Money? ... I would recommend the hotel. Although a bit expensive, however reasonable compared to other hotels in Manhattan with the same (or maybe less) quality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank se7s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you have taken to post your elaborate review. Your attention to the many details of your stay is much appreciated as it gives other tripadvisor readers insight should they consider the Strand when in NYC. You mention so much of what makes the Strand a great NYC hotel, from our convenient central location with easy access to all major metro lines, proximity to all major airports, great staff, clean rooms, free WI-FI and overall great value for the money! Please feel free to contact me in the future as we have other room categories that are available with views of the Empire State Building that I will gladly help you reserve.

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#134 of 471 in New York City
1,033 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#124 of 471 in New York City
1,251 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 471 in New York City
3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#80 of 471 in New York City
764 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#156 of 471 in New York City
1,153 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#127 of 471 in New York City
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6201 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £116 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing