We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, helpful staff, awesome view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #149 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Devon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff, awesome view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed at the Strand with my aunty for four nights last month. After reading all the other reviews I was looking forward to it!

We had a room on the 11th floor (deluxe double) with a view of the Empire State. The room was clean, the maid came in everyday, they supplied a bathrobe, shower gel and shampoo etc and the beds nice and comfy. It wasn't a big room but I expected that from the reviews and the bathroom looked modern and stylish. You also get a chocolate in the evening which I appreciated (easily pleased perhaps!), We also asked reception for a coffee machine, which they supplied (though the filter didn't work too well).

The main highlights of the Strand are the rooftop bar - amazing - plus they have a DJ. It's pretty expensive at the bar ($15) and the happy hour doesn't cover the cocktails, but we had a lovely night there on our very first evening. Beware however that you might get moved from your seat at short notice due to it being 'reserved' with no prior warning.

The second highlight is the location - close to Times Square etc and also there's a deli right opposite, serving early morning coffee and omelettes - delicious!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful too and we ate at the restaurant downstairs one evening which was nice food.

The room contains a safe which was useful. There wasn't much room in the wardrobe for two women (!) but I am sure they would have given us more hangers if we asked. Another minor downside is the shower itself wasn't great - not much power, but adequate, and hot, which was the main thing.

I haven't stayed elsewhere in NYC to compare The Strand to, and I wouldn't say it's the fanciest 4* hotel I've been to either, but I would go back again - comfy beds, great location and rooftop bar an added bonus!

P.S Didn't find/use the gym

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cricky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for you wonderful elaborate review! We are delighted that our location and amazing staff exceeding your expectations. We are sorry that you did not get to experience our full service fitness center, and hope we will have the opportunity of hosting you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for the best available rates.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    744
    163
    42
    29
See reviews for
477
976
88
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I have been in this hotel during a short trip in New York. Nice, clean, efficient and in a very good position. Unfortunately nothing really special to report and to move the feedback to 5 full balls. Would a small gym or spa make it better? I would like to come back...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5x15x5-ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Guest

Your kind review is appreciated! Thank you so much for thinking to write about us after nearly a year since you visited the Strand. We were sorry to see that you did not have the opportunity of enjoying our wonderful full service fitness center and hope that we can officially earn that 5 full ball rating from you next time you are with us.

We hope to have you back with us soon! Please feel free to contact me directly for the best available rates.

Warm regards,

John N Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just got back from New York yesterday on our first trip there. The hotel was excellent, with very helpful staff. We usually go to Florida and we were warned we wouldnt get the same level of care but I was very impressed at how friendly all the staff were. The location was perfect, round the corner from the Empire State Building and Time Square. The roof top bar was also nice if not a little pricey, although all alcohol is expensive in New York. Only criticism was the rooms are quite small although this seems standard as space is at a premium. Would definately stay here again & recommend to friends.
Claire & David Findlay, Montrose, Scotland.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of building & higher up will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that we could be part of your experience in the greatest city in the world! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our readers and for pointing out some of the characteristics of our wonderful hotel. Glad to see that our central location, breathtaking views of the Empire State Building from our roof top bar and the warmth your were provided by each and every team memebr. We hope your travels bring you back soon.

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

the hotel is very nice and people who work in it are very pleasant.
the staff was all the time asking to us if we need something. really it was a very nice experience
i will never forget the expirence

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria amparo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your recent visit. We are so glad that you were able to experience the dedicated attentive team of the Strand and hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
224 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days this August and can categorically say the service and room are brilliant.This was our third stay in NYC so know what standard to expect.

Our room was facing the Empire State (1504 if you can get it!) and was an ample size.The bed seemed to be huge king size- enough for 3! The bathroom and shower were superb,and the room and maid service,prompt,considerate and excellent.The Tv channels were good and had premier league football live! I would only suggest if 2 people are staying you need 2 chairs.

Matthew,Peter and John on reception were exceptional and met all our requests- always with a smile and a personal touch.

The rooftop bar is expensive( but has a happy hour 2-5pm) but has a brilliant view of the Empire State- so is worth a visit,but residents just pop up and there is no pressure to buy expensive drinks (it would be worth offering coffee as an option)

We had an 18$ credit each for breakfast which covered the 'Americano' and 'Continental'- remember service and tax around 7$ is added.There is an a la carte option if needed and service and food were good.the Americano is basically 2 eggs,a potato cake,bacon or sausage,toast and coffee or tea- so adequate for most! I would suggest that breakfast in all shapes be included in the price as it is a pain to go out and look elsewhere.We did not dine there in the evening as there are numerous places to find in the City- but there was a fixed price 3 course for 35$ ( again add service) and honestly we found 10 good restaurants for much less than the 85$ it may have cost us at the hotel.

The hotel is on West 37 close to Herald Sq subway and Macy's- so really convenient for all parts of the City.

All in all a brilliant stay- no negatives at all- highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djhall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that we could be part of your 10 day trip to NYC. We are thrilled that you were able to experience the warm personalized service that our ladies and gentlemen so eloquently offer and for the central location that is truly the heart of NYC. I am delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of our King Beds, they are truly an oasis. I suppose it also doesn’t hurt when you have a view of the empire State Building at your finger tips, truly special!

We look forward to your return and hope to always be your NYC home!

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Second time we've stayed here...great place, modern, chic, super clean and such a convenient location.Air conditioner in our room was very noisy but so tired from pounding the pavement all day managed to sleep ok. Our stay was made perfect by Peter and Antwon at the front desk. These guys were amazing, great customer service skills, funny, helpful and accomodating and always got my name right each time I passed the front desk! Made me feel at home.

Janis C. Ont. Canada

Room Tip: Select room with enough space for 2 people to move around in, our room was a little tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased and thankful that you have made the Strand your home when in NYC. Your kind praise about our modern chic décor, great location, super clean rooms and amazing front desk team are all the special qualities I assure you will be waiting each and every time you return. We hope to see you soon!

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Excellent location , rooms are good some have great views ours did not but it didn't spoil our stay, I traveled with my son & asked for 2 beds prior to our arrival , they had only got room with king size bed! They rang the room later saying if we paid extra $50a night to have a room with 2 beds. Service poor some days also check your bill regular as on two occasions the same drink cost me $4 dollars more the day after.dont let this put you off as you can eat & drink out the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berttheras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We were pleased to read that our location was ideal during your recent visit with your son. I certainly understand your frustration, as it is unfortunately impossible to accommodate each of our guests request. I can assure you that the availability of these request often change during the course of a day and can suddenly become available, such as in your case.

I hope we will have the opportunity of having you and your son back with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly to ensure that you receive 2 beds along with the best available rates.

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing