We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #171 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Whitby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

First time in New York we found The Strand to be very central to all major areas of Manhattan. Walking distance to Times Square, Grand Central Station and one block from the Empire State Building. Hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. No complimentary breakfast was included but we did receive a credit of $18.50 towards the breakfast menu daily. Not a lot when you consider the average cost of things in New York but we were quite happy with it. This hotel is situated in the Garment District away from the noise of Broadway so we had no problems sleeping at night. The conceirge was helpful with any questions we had and the staff in general were very accomodating for any extra requirements we needed. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to all the action but wants some quiet time also.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side and higher floors have a good view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We so pleased and grateful that the Strand was part of your first visit to our great city.
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts with our readers. Your depiction of our great central location is so helpful; we are very close to all of the major attractions yet nestled away on a block for the serenity necessary for you to escape it all.

Hope this will be one of many trips back to our great city, don’t forget your friends at the Strand!

Warm regards,

John N, Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,301
    761
    177
    48
    31
See reviews for
494
998
88
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights last month. First time in New York and the location was great as could walk to times square easily but hotel is not smack in the middle of the lights and noise. Room was big enough with modern fit out and very comfortable bed. Good sized bathroom too. Staff were also very friendly, helpful and even remembered our names. Hotels rooftop bar is a must as has awesome view of the city and empire state building.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased and flattered that the Strand was part of your first visit to NYC. Thank you for pointing out some of the things that make the Strand so special. Although a small detail, our team takes so much pride in acknowledging each and every guest by name, so happy that this made a difference in your stay with us. Hope this is one of many trips back to our great city. Our team looks forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

John N, Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent 5 days around the US Open and absolutely loved our time here. The staff was outstanding. First night we were in a room on the 4th floor facing the street. A bit noisy for my light sleeping. They moved us to the 17th floor in a quiet area and I slept like a baby. Great extras: laundry service, umbrella, hair dryer, robe, wonderful amenities. Made us feel special every day with warm greetings and excellent concierge service. We walked and used the subway easily from here. We will absolutely come back. Make sure you grab a drink on the rooftop too!

Room Tip: Ask for something not facing the road and higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great time to be in NYC! Being part of the US open must have been an amaziang experience. We are delighted that you had 5 great days with us and that you enjoyed some of nice in-room touches that made a difference. We hope you will always consider us during future trips to our great city!

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed at the Strand with my aunty for four nights last month. After reading all the other reviews I was looking forward to it!

We had a room on the 11th floor (deluxe double) with a view of the Empire State. The room was clean, the maid came in everyday, they supplied a bathrobe, shower gel and shampoo etc and the beds nice and comfy. It wasn't a big room but I expected that from the reviews and the bathroom looked modern and stylish. You also get a chocolate in the evening which I appreciated (easily pleased perhaps!), We also asked reception for a coffee machine, which they supplied (though the filter didn't work too well).

The main highlights of the Strand are the rooftop bar - amazing - plus they have a DJ. It's pretty expensive at the bar ($15) and the happy hour doesn't cover the cocktails, but we had a lovely night there on our very first evening. Beware however that you might get moved from your seat at short notice due to it being 'reserved' with no prior warning.

The second highlight is the location - close to Times Square etc and also there's a deli right opposite, serving early morning coffee and omelettes - delicious!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful too and we ate at the restaurant downstairs one evening which was nice food.

The room contains a safe which was useful. There wasn't much room in the wardrobe for two women (!) but I am sure they would have given us more hangers if we asked. Another minor downside is the shower itself wasn't great - not much power, but adequate, and hot, which was the main thing.

I haven't stayed elsewhere in NYC to compare The Strand to, and I wouldn't say it's the fanciest 4* hotel I've been to either, but I would go back again - comfy beds, great location and rooftop bar an added bonus!

P.S Didn't find/use the gym

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for you wonderful elaborate review! We are delighted that our location and amazing staff exceeding your expectations. We are sorry that you did not get to experience our full service fitness center, and hope we will have the opportunity of hosting you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for the best available rates.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I have been in this hotel during a short trip in New York. Nice, clean, efficient and in a very good position. Unfortunately nothing really special to report and to move the feedback to 5 full balls. Would a small gym or spa make it better? I would like to come back...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5x15x5-ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Guest

Your kind review is appreciated! Thank you so much for thinking to write about us after nearly a year since you visited the Strand. We were sorry to see that you did not have the opportunity of enjoying our wonderful full service fitness center and hope that we can officially earn that 5 full ball rating from you next time you are with us.

We hope to have you back with us soon! Please feel free to contact me directly for the best available rates.

Warm regards,

John N Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just got back from New York yesterday on our first trip there. The hotel was excellent, with very helpful staff. We usually go to Florida and we were warned we wouldnt get the same level of care but I was very impressed at how friendly all the staff were. The location was perfect, round the corner from the Empire State Building and Time Square. The roof top bar was also nice if not a little pricey, although all alcohol is expensive in New York. Only criticism was the rooms are quite small although this seems standard as space is at a premium. Would definately stay here again & recommend to friends.
Claire & David Findlay, Montrose, Scotland.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of building & higher up will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that we could be part of your experience in the greatest city in the world! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our readers and for pointing out some of the characteristics of our wonderful hotel. Glad to see that our central location, breathtaking views of the Empire State Building from our roof top bar and the warmth your were provided by each and every team memebr. We hope your travels bring you back soon.

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

the hotel is very nice and people who work in it are very pleasant.
the staff was all the time asking to us if we need something. really it was a very nice experience
i will never forget the expirence

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria amparo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your recent visit. We are so glad that you were able to experience the dedicated attentive team of the Strand and hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#155 of 466 in New York City
978 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 466 in New York City
746 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#98 of 466 in New York City
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#64 of 466 in New York City
641 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#248 of 466 in New York City
613 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6201 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing