We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #167 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The Strand Hotel was in a great location and we could easily walk to Times Square, go shopping on 5th Avenue, Empire State Building, Top of the Rock, etc. We only needed to use the subway to go to Ground Zero and to Central Park. The employees at the hotel were all very friendly, polite and provided an excellent service. Would stay again and highly recommend the hotel to others. Lots of bars to eat and drink in that were all in walking distance!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor if you want views of Empire State and other sights. We had an Executiv...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your generous comments about the caring, genuine service you enjoyed during your stay with us. I’m delighted that our central location was ideal for all your activities in New York, and our whole team looks forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes for a joyous holiday season and a very happy New Year.

Sincerely,

John Loizos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,330)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at The Strand, November 21st for 3 nights, it was our first visit to New York and we were so pleased that we chose The Strand, it was so handy for all major attractions and also Penn Station. We arrived at 12.00 lunchtime after a 7 hour flight, and even though we were early for check in, there was no problem and we did get an upgrade after requesting previously by email. Our room was on 11 floor and had a great view of The Empire State Building. We visited the rooftop bar on our first night, which is another asset the hotel has. Each night after a long day out and about we returned to our room to our beds being turned down for us and a couple of chocolates on the bed. Our flight on the last day wasn't till 10.00pm but we were able to leave our luggage there till later that day after checking out. People comment on the size of the room/bathroom being small, but after the rooms in the hotels in London we have stayed we didn't find them small. Overall we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BewickBlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

I am delighted that your experience at The Strand made your introduction to New York a so memorable. Thank you for noting the many elements that pleased you, from the spectacular views from our rooftop bar to our signature turn-down service at bedtime. As you pointed out, “small” is a relative term when applied to accommodations, and I’m glad that you found your room and bath at The Strand to be just right.

Our whole team is grateful for your recommendation, and we wish you a joyous holiday season and a very happy New Year.

Kind regards,

John Loizos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I haven't had much luck with moderately priced hotels in this part of Manhattan—in fact I've had some awful experiences—but I needed a last-minute reservation for a night close to both Penn Station and Grand Central and one of our guests had said they had enjoyed staying at the Strand in the past. So I decided to give it a try and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was small, even for Manhattan, but arranged well and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I'd come back and stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Nothing pleases us more than knowing that your experience at The Strand lived up to a previous guest’s enthusiastic recommendation. I thank you for commenting on our well-appointed rooms and close proximity to New York’s most convenient transportation hubs.

On behalf of our entire team, I wish you a very happy holiday season and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Loizos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I love NYC, but having been there three times in the last twelve months on a mixture of work and leisure, I'm a little beyond seeing the sights, and just want to soak in the vibe of the place, and taste, if but for a moment, what it is like to be a native New Yorker.

The Strand Hotel is the perfect backdrop for that kind of experience. It's well located in the upper 30s between 5th and 6th. No -- let me put it clearly -- it's pretty much in the middle of where you want to be. Close enough to everything, but not in the heart of any one thing.

The rooms are relatively small -- but this is NYC -- but the beds are comfortable, and it's relatively quiet for a Manhattan hotel. In fact, other than the Sofitel, which is about double the rate, this is my (new) favourite place in Manhattan. For a bunch of reasons -- it's small -- we were just at Hilton Midtown, which was a cruise ship of a hotel, and moving here just felt right. The character is modern, the staff welcoming without being cloying, and it feels like one of those charming small hotels, which it certainly is, but without the folkiness.

In the end, it's all about the bed and the bathroom, and in each case it doesn't disappoint. One small tip -- the bathroom door has frosted glass on it, so it's pretty acoustically transparent. So keep the obvious in mind, but other than that -- I'd stay here again. And again. And again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenM465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so grateful that you have stayed with us three times over the last twelve months and for giving us a wonderful five star review. We are ecstatic that we have become your favorite NYC hotel and for sharing your comparison to other neighboring hotels. The staff will be delighted with your praises and humbled that much more that you have written your review as a senior contributor.

Please do not hesitate to personally contact me or any member of our team when reserving a room in the future as we want to ensure many more memorable experiences at the Strand!

Wishing you a joyous Holiday Season!

John Loizos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have just returned from a great 6-night break in NYC, our first visit. The hotel is in a great location, I really couldn't have wished for anywhere better. Just in between 5th and 6th avenues, Empire State, Times Square all within easy walking distance. In addition the subway is only a couple of blocks away. Even better was Penn Station was less than 10 minutes walk which offers the LIRR and the AirTrain to JFK in about 30 mins total travel time for less than $15!

The reception desk and door staff were all very friendly every time we came and went as were the downstairs bar staff. We didn't have the need to use the concierge so can't comment on the service. We only ate once at the hotel which was room service on our final night and the food was delicious. We used the rooftop bar a couple of times, service was friendly although a little slow in our opinion.

The rooms itself was fairly small but I understand that's the norm for New York, there was a lovely comfortable king size bed and chair and foot rest but that's about it. The wardrobe was pretty small for both of our belongings for 6 nights although there was plenty of drawer space. They could do with a couple of hooks somewhere for coats.

The prices of the minibar are quite high if you choose to use any if these items. The room didn't have any tea or coffee making facilities which I was disappointed about.

The bathroom was average sized with a lovely looking shower, the only problem was the lack of water pressure! I personally also prefer a shower head you can take off the wall to use.

In summary I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to explore the amazing city of New York!

Room Tip: The views of the Empire State Building are fantastic if you don't mind paying a little extra.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your detailed six night stay at the Strand Hotel, NYC. We appreciate you mentioning our great location to key attractions and easy transportation that surrounds us. It’s great to read that you were pleased with the genuine service from our ladies and gentlemen and that you enjoyed our delicious Bistro food.

I see that you would have preferred a coffee set up in your room, and hope that on your next visit you will notify reception who will gladly arrange this for you. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and for your strong recommendation to our readers.

Kind regards,

John Loizos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We went there because we wanted to treat ourselves with a good and central location. The hotel staff was lovely, helpful and pretty nice. For the last night out we went to the rooftop bar and up there, though the perfect scenary (wonderful view on the Empire State), we found the rudest staff in NY. The woman (S.) circled many times the "20% gratuity part" on the bill. She said so because she heard that we were foreigners and I guess she assumed we would forget it. But I guess that is was tip is about: being satisfied with the service... You can force people to leave money just because you circle things. I found it so rude and insulting. She did not do that to other customers. Fortunately the hotel staff knows better how to be subtle and nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mamelie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

I am sincerely sorry for what you encountered with our server and can assure you that we are looking into this incident. This matter will be taken very serious and be rest assured that the appropriate action will be taken to prevent any such future reoccurrence. I would appreciate a moment of your time to further understand this in its entirety.

I again apologize and wish management was made aware of this before you had departed as it appears you had what was otherwise a nice experience.

we hope you will give us the opportunity to speak to you further about your visit.

Sincerely,

John Loizos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

My mum and I visited NYC for the first time (celebrating some big birthdays!) in November. We chose The Strand due to its location & good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed.
We arrived to a wonderful welcome from the reception staff. Check in was quick and easy and we were delighted to be given a room upgrade.
We were on the 17th floor with the Empire State Building right outside our window. Room was spotless, comfy beds, turn down service with chocolates every night, macaroons left for us. Just lovely!!
The roof too bar was amazing, again the staff were absolutely lovely. Fantastic cocktails, yes a bit pricey but what a view!!!
Breakfast was a complementary continental, again lovely.
We requested tea/coffee facilities in our room which was no problem.
We ate in the restaurant one evening, lovely decor, fantastic service, food was ok not amazing but nice.
The location of the hotel is perfect too.
Go on stay there, you really won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barrcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest

Happy belated Birthday! We are so glad that you and your mum enjoyed your visit and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope this will be one of many returns and appreciate your strong recommendation to our TripAdvisor readers.

Wishing you a happy New Year!

Kind regards,

John Loizos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#145 of 468 in New York City
989 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#106 of 468 in New York City
755 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#105 of 468 in New York City
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#238 of 468 in New York City
620 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#62 of 468 in New York City
674 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6201 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £145 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing