We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Executive Hotel LeSoleil(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (2,386)
    Filter reviews
    2,386 results
    Traveller rating
    1,328
    791
    183
    52
    32
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,328
    791
    183
    52
    32
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsstrand hotelview of the empire state buildingrooftop barnew yorktimes squarebryant parkpenn stationherald squarenyc hotelyogurtcoffee makerrooms are smallby nyc standardshigh floorthe theater districtlocation was perfectfew blocks
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,094 - 1,099 of 2,386 reviews
    Reviewed 12 March 2014

    We spent 5 nights here. The location is perfect to the trains and all the main sites with out being right in the crowds. The roof top bar is awesome with an amazing view, although the drinks are well overpriced even for non alcoholic. But it is definitely worth a look, even in winter it felt cosy and had a great atmosphere.
    The staff were amazing and on our second night upgraded us to a room with a view of the Empire State.
    Breakfast was good, but there are many places around to try.
    The only fault I would have is the restaurant for dinner. The service was terrible. We were sat in a corner and forgotten about. We waited 45 minutes for a beer and then our meals came out separately,15 minutes apart. BUT the food was delicious.
    We would definitely stay here again....

    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Tasha-lee88
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for your valuable feedback! The hotel is nestled in the middle of the west 37th street off 5th avenue without feeling the crowds or noise of a busy location, glad you appreciated our great location. I was very pleased that you were able to enjoy the awesome views from our roof top lounge and the great service you received. As for drink prices, I am so sorry if you felt that we were on the pricier side as we are certainly in line if not less expensive than most roof top lounges. I was very disappointed that you encountered such delays with our restaurant service and can assure you that this will be addressed to prevent a reoccurrence.

    I hope you will contact me directly in the future as we very much want every aspect of your stay to be perfect!

    Sincerely,

    John Loizos

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 March 2014

    Loved our choice for a first time visit to New York in picking The Strand! The hotel is within a great proximity of so much (by foot) and if you so choose to cab or limo-it, you aren't going to break the bank. The Staff and management here goes beyond friendly and helpful. Vibrant lounge and rooftop bar. Classy and sleek décor. Rooms with a spectacular view of the Empire State Building. This was our first trip to NYC and I'm really happy that we chose the hotel, I will definitely stay again. Recommend you check it out. Any questions, the Reservations Dept is super patient and answered all of my questions not only about the hotel but offered me other information about our first time visit to the city (as did the staff once we arrived--we were so impressed with their personalized attention you won't find in a large chain) Go!!

    Room Tip: Request the Room with the Empire State Bldg View for sure
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank LaDonna H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for selecting the Strand for your first NYC visit! We are so happy that our reservations team was able to provide you with the knowledge and comfort upon making your reservation. We understand how exciting a first trip to our great city can be and the difficult choice of finding a great hotel can be unnerving. Thank you for giving insight to our Trip advisor readers who may be hoping to take the same journey, your feedback and 5 star review is greatly appreciated.

    Kind regards,

    John Loizos

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 March 2014

    My first stay at this hotel was two years ago, and it's pleasing to see that very little has changed since the last stay, and if any changes have happened, they have simply served to improve the hotel.

    The front desk and door staff are all genuinely friendly and approachable, and on check-in there is plenty of opportunity to ask any questions. The desk staff are genuinely happy to help and answer any queries at any time, so don't feel shy if there's anything on your mind bothering you that you need to raise. Door staff are always courteous on your entry and exit to the hotel, so do acknowledge them if you can – because they'll help you out when it comes to hailing a yellow cab when it's the middle of rush hour and you just so happen to need one so you can get to the airport! (Don't forget to tip the guy when he helps you out with getting the cab and then with your luggage.)

    The room and bathroom were very clean and not too overly decorated. Bed is very clean and quite comfortable and enough control on the room's AC if you need it. Enough storage if you need it, and also a safe. Ironing board and iron in the cupboard if you need it, along with a golf umbrella to borrow during your stay if the weather is bad.

    Handy buttons by your room door change two indicator lights on your room number to alert staff to two things: 1) "Privacy" will show up a red light, and that is your equivalent to the "Do Not Disturb" tag you would hang on the door handle. This is well-respected – only time I have had a knock on the door when this has been switched on is when I've been expecting room service. 2) "Make-Up Room" shows up a green light, and that's a green light for housekeeping. Make sure to put this on if/when leaving the room after housekeeping has done their rounds.

    Room Service comes fairly quickly and they offer the same items on the menu that are also sold down in The Strand Bistro. Staff on the phone very courteous, as is the delivery. The food is consistently good, having also had part of the menu for dinner whilst seated at the bistro downstairs, so you needn't worry about quality. A simple menu, and fairly priced for hotel fare.

    Breakfast offerings are charged to the room and is more than what you get and most hotels – none of the hovering around a buffet business. The breakfast menu is very good, with bottomless coffee (if you drink it) and a glass of orange juice when you sit down. Attentive waiting staff and the food quality is very good again.

    What was also very pleasing to see is that after 2 years, some of the faces I remember from my last stay, so I am hoping that the staff are well looked after and appreciated enough that they feel they would like to stay and continue working at The Strand. The staff are friendly and warm without being too overbearing or "fake", and all are genuinely approachable. It gets a bit much when you're in the lift with a member of staff and they say, "Have a nice day/night," when you step out, but I appreciate that is probably part of their training and the hotel's standards of service, and I'm sure some other guests might expect that sort of approach.

    Room Tip: If you want views, rooms either face out to W37th Street (and the Empire State if you are high enough up) or face out to buildings behind (MetLife building, &c.). Staying on the 16th floor (room 1609 is an example) will have you level with an office block window, so just be aware. Floors 17 to 19 fairly good for if you want something to look at out of the window, as well as being high up enough away from the street noise and low enough to not be disturbed by the rooftop bar.
    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank version3point1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

    Dear Guest,

    Wow, we are all speechless by your superb review. We are particularly happy that you found our services as good if not better since your previous stay two years ago. We hope that you will not wait so long to visit us again and encourage you to call me directly as I would be honored to personally welcome you back.

    Thank once again for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with our Trip Advisor readers, your thorough feedback is forever grateful!

    Warm regards,
    John Loizos

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

    We read about the rooftop bar in the guide book we had and We were so pleased we went. It is a gorgeous little hide out with an amazing view. Staff were very friendly. Cosy, clean bar! It's a must to go to! We could of stayed all night but after two bottles of red wine we decided to go! Fab bar!

    Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Rachlou1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you so much for visiting the Top of the Strand and for your excellent review. I’m so pleased that you were able to find us in your guide book, and that our staff, fabulous bar and cozy ambiance help create your memorable visit.

    I hope you will visit with us again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on your next planned visit. I look forward to welcoming you both back.

    Kind regards,
    John Loizos

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 March 2014

    My husband and I were interested in staying at a location that was convenient to Madison Square Garden. The Strand was a good choice. When we arrived they offered to valet our car but we opted to park on the street The lobby was nicely decorated and they had a restaurant with live entertainment next to the lobby. The rooftop lounge had a nice view and pleasant staff. The room was small which is typical for New York but it was nicely furnished and the bathroom was modern. The Strand is located on a block in the garment district that is not heavily populated at night but it is within walking distance to many tourist attractions.

    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank zebaet
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

    Dear Guest,

    I was very pleased that our close proximity to Madison Square Garden made your commute easy and hope you were able to take advantage of all of the attractions of our great neighborhood. Thank you for pointing out the live music in our Bistro and the nice view you enjoyed from our unique year round roof top lounge overlooking the Empire State Building.

    The staff will be delighted that you enjoyed our services and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

    Sincerely,

    John Loizos

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews