We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient, friendly, fairly good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #163 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“convenient, friendly, fairly good location”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff was friendly and efficient, Valet was curbside to take our car. At check out it only took 10 minutes to get the car. Rooms were very nice. Smallish shower but more than adequate.
Breakfast was very good. Convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Arriving in New York City by car can present challenges, and we take special pains to make parking convenient for our guests. Many thanks for sharing your experience with others, and when you return, which I hope you will, please be sure to book directly with our staff for the guaranteed best rate.

Warm regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    757
    173
    46
    30
See reviews for
487
991
88
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I had an amaizing stay..the staff are friendly an profesional...so kind and always ready to an extra miles as need it...location perfect...highly recommend everything about it...make me feel like home..i love all about he Strand...my family in NYC...thank you all for make everyday a good and productive one...

Room Tip: Empire State view
See more room tips
Green Features: Staff always help me, are friendly...realible, self confident, excellent customer service with that extra miles that i customer like me really appreciate a lot...
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnes231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that everything about your stay was just perfect, and that we helped make your visit to New York productive as well as pleasant. Please do make The Strand your New York home-away-from-home so that we can pamper you some more. Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review; it means the world to us.

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palisades Park, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

ok. Location is great. Other than that I really can't believe this one is 4 star hotel I'm not buying it. First of all I stayed in superior king and room was really small the bed is right next to door.
You have to ask for coffee maker and ice since they're not in the room. Roof top bar is not that fancy as photo and it's also small. Sight seeing of empire state bldg is spectacular and atmosphere is cozy though.
I booked this hotel through olotels.com for $255 without breakfast and when I checked price through hotel website and it was $240 with breakfast all in.
Staffs are kind and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your observation about the benefits of booking directly with us to receive our guaranteed best rate. We will always offer a better rate then what you may find on a third party site. I’m glad that you found the location convenient and the staff gracious.

I was sorry to read that your room was less spacious than expected, but please contact me directly when you return and it will be our pleasure to discuss our other room categories that I believe will meet your size expectations.

Sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I had an amazing stay at the Strand Hotel. Everyone who works there is very friendly and efficient. The room was beautiful, the rooftop bar had an amazing view and dinner was absolutely delicious at the restaurant. I would stay there again for sure! Highly recommend everything about it.

Room Tip: Every room seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderfully positive comments about your stay. Everyone on our team is focused on making the guest experience awesome, and nothing makes us happier than hearing that we did our job to perfection. Your recommendation is very much appreciated, and I look forward to welcoming you personally on your next visit.

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario, canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

stayed at The Strand April 18-20, arrived very early 9:00am, room was ready and we were instantly upgraded! we didn't have a view but that was ok since we don't spend alot of time in our room. The front desk staff were amazing, helpful and friendly, location was perfect. If you want a good breakfast that is reasonable go for a walk to the Evergreen family diner, good food!!! my husband and I loved our stay in NYC, this was our second visit and we will be back!

Room Tip: we stayed at the back, not a great view but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetalexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to the Strand for your second visit. We are so delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations. The staff will be happy with you “awesome” tittle and appreciate taking the time to acknowledge the small touches like early check in, we truly do our best!

I hope to personally welcoming you in the near future. Please feel free to contact me for the best available rate.

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel itself was very nice, clean and modern, the reception staff and doorman were very helpful and pleasant and our room was nice and always clean. The location of the hotel was also very good.
We did however have some issues. On our first morning going to breakfast which was included we were sat down at a table and then just left for some time without knowing what to do... We managed to speak to someone who eventually came over and gave us a menu, I then had to enquire as to whether it was the whole menu or a portion of it that was included and therefore free. It was apparent that only one option was part of the included section and had I not enquired about this we would never had known and then been charged. The service was slow and not great, we had left plenty of time for breakfast as we had a tour booked that morning and were continuously watching the time. When finished we got up to leave and were called back as I apparently had to sign the check which said $0. That's fine but if someone had taken the time to explain how things worked that would have been great. Not the service I would expect and as a result of this we had breakfast out for the rest of our stay.
The second issue we had was the rooftop bar, although very modern and great views it was expensive $9 for a beer but hey I expected that. My problem was the staff. (Mamelie58 on 21st November also mentions this to which the manager said this would be looked into)
I go up to pay for the one beer I had to which the lady then says its $10 (the menu says $9) I give her the $10 to which she then says "Are you not gonna leave a tip?" Excuse me? How rude, insulting and embarrassing. I could not believe what she had said. Your actually asking me for a tip when you have only brought over one already expensive beer? How dare you ask me for a tip! That is at my discretion! I wish I had of spoken to someone at the time but when its late at night I don't have time to. Customer service is something you should get right in the first place in my opinion and this issue has not been mentioned by just me!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked offices which wasn't great. You can ask for a room facing the Empire State b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomGB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest

I hope this finds you well! We take a lot of pride on the genuine service provided by our team, and so when reading about the concerns you encountered it is beyond unacceptable to me. I sincerely apologize for these shortcomings and wish this was brought to a manager’s attention before you had departed. I completely understand your frustration on simply taking the necessary time to better understand your Breakfast arrangements and will address this with our team moving forward. You also make reference to a past incident regarding a similar poor approach by one of our servers as it related to gratuity and can assure you that we took this very serious and in fact no longer have that employee working for us.

I hope I may be able to take a few minutes of your time to personally apologize and to further discuss your overall visit. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to have you back in the near future as this was clearly not indicative of our usual high standards. Thank you once again for taking the time and look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Strand is everything you would want for a trip to New York. Centrally located - 200 yards from Macy's and the Empire State building, smartly designed in an Art Deco style, not too big and with staff for which nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was very comfortable and the bed was great after a long day's sight seeing.

The stylish rooftop bar has an excellent iew, nice drinks and courteous staff. We couldn't have asked for more and look forward to returning on our next visit to NYC. I would recommend The Strand to others.

Ruth and Graeme Simons

Room Tip: Get a room at the front on an upper floor. The view of the Empire State Building is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Simons,

We will continue to work hard to earn your amazing tittle “Fabulous”, it is truly music to our ears! We sincerely thank you for your kind praises and as I read your name at the end of your review, I recall that you were here at the Strand celebrating your Wedding Anniversary, happy belated! On behalf of the Strand thank you for your strong recommendation and hope to have you back with us again soon.

Warm regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#152 of 467 in New York City
966 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
739 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 467 in New York City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#62 of 467 in New York City
614 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#211 of 467 in New York City
608 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6201 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing