We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definetly not so luxury hotel in NYC as it seems:)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #149 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definetly not so luxury hotel in NYC as it seems:)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Let's do plus-minus review about The Strand Hotel New York.

+ staff. fast, attentive, friendly
+ btw 5th and 6th avenue
+ new, cosy, silent
+ privacy and cleen my room buttons
+ huge window
+ free wi-fi

- 2 elevators
- small room and small bathroom
- only shower cabin
- no sleepers in the room
- plastic hangers
- no mirror for shaving
- loud air-conditioner

I stayed in Bryant Park Hotel before and expected from The Strand the same level. Sorry but plastic hangers are not from 4 stars hotel. As well as 2 elevators in Hotel are not good if you have rooftop and I should wait more then 3-4 minutes to rise.

This is it from my side. Thank you and Take Care.
.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thorough review. Your feedback is very important to us, and will always try to use the information to improve our property. We appreciate listing the positives of your stay and certainly committed to addressing any improvements that apply to some of the observations you have made.

Sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    743
    163
    42
    29
See reviews for
476
976
88
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg,WV
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with another couple to visit the city for a birthday celebration. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a perfect view of the Empire State Building! The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and very quiet with the windows closed, nice shower, amenities and wonderful plush towels for a hotel. We called for ice several times during our stay and it always arrived within a few minutes. Our only problem was the stuffy and warm temp of the room. We were on the 18th floor, which may have contributed to it. Hector, from maintainence, did his best to resolve the issue but unsuccessfully. His boss was to address it the next day, but there was no follow up. The hotel did offer us another room on the 20th floor, but with no view and away from our friends(who had a similar issue as well). We declined and just slept with the windows open, a little noisy but MUCH cooler. They did comp us with breakfast and drinks. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and were appreciative of the service in general.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trvlcpl517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanking you for selecting the Strand for your birthday celebration! I was delighted that you enjoyed all of our services and that we were able to extend the extra bonus of an upgrade. I was though disappointed that you encountered some challenges with the A/C unit and have immediately looked into this issue since reading your review. Please do hesitate to call me as I will be able to elaborate more on this matter.

I hope to have you back with us soon, and welcome you to contact me directly for any of your future visits.

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at the Strand for 4 nights. I was originally supposed to go away for a romantic getaway with my husband but for various reasons our plans fell apart so I took along a friend for a traveling companion. The Strand is a beautiful hotel with incredible views of the Empire State building. The roof top bar is awesome. My room was spotless and the hotel staff were attentive, informative, and friendly. Many days I put on my walking shoes and ventured out into the city by myself with no set plans and found myself visiting many places of interest all within walking distance. One night towards the end of my stay I ordered room service before heading out to a Broadway show and was more than pleasantly surprised so the next night decided to dine at the Strand and had another wonderful meal.When checking out I vowed to return in September with my husband but since I had such an enjoyable New York trip my husband and I are planning to return in a couple of weeks for a long weekend and certainly will be staying at the Strand. Many Thank You's to the staff for a most enjoyable experience. Will be back soon! Waving from Connecticut!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Your recent review is beyond words, thank you for this amazing depiction of the Strand! The team will be ecstatic with all of your kind sentiments and hope this will be one of many returns.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for the best available rate.

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Perfect boutique hotel with great facilities and excellent location close to everything. The room is well appointed and the Fragonard toiletries added a touch of luxury. Great decor and ambiance overall and amazing views of the Empire State Building from our room's window on the the 18th floor.
The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable and the rooftop bar is a great place with wonderful atmosphere!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

How great to hear about the many elements that pleased you, from the luxurious French toiletries and glamorous décor to our great location, and the outstanding ladies and gentlemen who made you feel truly welcome.

Thank you for writing about your stay, and please come again.

Warm regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Qu'Appelle, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great hotel. We loved the location - close to the action, but just far enough away to give you a break from the crowds. Staff are wonderful - helpful with every request we had! We had a King room with a wonderful view of the Empire State building. The room was smaller than expected because it seems they only feature the "premier" room on the website photos, but it was perfectly fine. The bed was awesome- comfortable and wonderful bedding - which is something we were hoping for because when you get back to the room after a long day of walking around NYC you want a comfortable place to crash. We didn't get a chance to enjoy the roof top bar because it's small and we arrived late in the evening so there were no seats left. It looked like a wonderful place to hang out with great ambiance so if you stay here be sure to check it out and go early so you get a seat. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the Empire State Building view - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseekerfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Readers will appreciate knowing that you found our bedding awesome, and I thank you for mentioning it. After all, a perfect setting rest and relaxation is what you want after a long day of sightseeing or business. Many thanks for writing, and for your kind words about our superb staff. I will pass it along to them, and all of us at The Strand look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just returned from a weekend in NYC. Stayed at The Strand Hotel - excellent stay. Staff was beyond helpful and polite. Hotel has a Roof Top bar which is so cozy and the views are phenominal! Thank you to John Loizos and Matthew Salamone for making our first trip to NYC not only memorable but incredible!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcote624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest on your first visit to New York. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Hearing that your stay was a memorable one makes us really proud, and I thank you for writing. Matt and I are so pleased that we were able to play a part on this memorable visit and hope to personally welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great staff make great places you want to go back and this was our experience .
Nice ambiance
Very good restaurant
Limited bar Options even though no big deal
Definitively will stay again if we visit NYC

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Everyone loves to discover a hidden gem, a place that exceeds expectations and makes you want to return again and again. I am delighted that you feel this way about The Strand and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing your discovery with others. Your good opinion means a lot and I look forward to welcoming you in person next time.

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing