We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We celebrated our 44th wedding anniversary in NYC and decided to stay at The Strand Hotel. We were Not disappointed in anything at all! The lobby and rooms were lovely. Great staff - friendly, professional, helpful, and a delight to deal with. We had dinner and breakfast there and the food was positively Yummy! It was in a great location, we were able to walk or subway wherever we wanted to go. They even helped with suggestions of what to do during our stay which worked out perfectly. Highest recommendation from someone who is very particular with where we stay and has high expectations. The Strand met them all !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _R_S_S_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Happy belated 44th Wedding Anniversary! We are delighted that the Strand could play a small part on this perfect occasion. We are so very pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations, and sincerely appreciate your wonderful high praises.

Thank you for your recommending the Strand to family and friends and hope to have you return soon.

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    744
    163
    42
    29
See reviews for
477
976
88
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We decided to go to New York to celebrate my birthday & what a great choice we made with The Strand Hotel. The staff in particular really do make this Hotel...from Willy on the door who was a great bloke for organisation,advice on getting around & a general informal chat,to Jacob at the concierge desk giving us detailed advice on getting around such a fab city....we even got the subway easily ( which we never even planned on doing!) to Lindsay the Hostess at the Rooftop bar....all extremely professional but approachable & friendly . The best Hotel we've stayed in by far...spotlessly clean, well organised & a brilliant location....you really couldn't ask for much more. We absolutely loved our stay and we will definitely be returning &,would advise anyone who was thinking about booking it...go for it!...you really can't get much better than this...the room we had was on the 18th Floor was spacious with great views & tastefully designed with a 30's feel to it & great attention to detail. We can't comment on the gym as we didn't use (or had any intention on using it!)...far too much to do in New York in such a small amount of time (4 nights)

Room Tip: Higher floors give great views
See more room tips
Green Features: Some great practices on recycling in such a huge city
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sdr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I can’t thank you enough for your generous comments, particularly those about our exceptional ladies and gentlemen whose genuine care and attention made you feel welcome. When you come again, as I hope you will, consider calling us direct to make certain you get the best available rates.

Have a wonderful summer.

Kind regards,
John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the Strand after some deliberation whether to stay cheap in Brooklyn or spend a little extra to stay in downtown Manhattan. Decided on downtown Manhattan we were delighted to have chosen for the Strand. In an overall nice experience with very prompt service we enjoyed every bit of our stay. What for us lacked a little was the pro-active service in replacing tissues, only giving us one washcloth multiple times and fixing a clogged toilet permanently only on the 4th complaint.
However, this was made up by the clean, nice rooms in a quiet atmosphere in the center of Manhattan.

ps. for breakfast head over to 5th avenue, get some food at Penera Bread and enjoy your breakfast in Bryant Park

Room Tip: Get a floor higher than 10th, or all you see is the building across the street.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great active promotion of reusing towels and bed sheets
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed staying in the heart of Manhattan. Thanks for mentioning that you were close to everything, yet your room was still quiet and comfortable. I hope to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,
John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed for five nights in May. The hotel location is great and we had easy walking access to most of the city. Rooms are small but I expect that in places such as NYC. Housekeeping are friendly and evening staff always happy to get the door and greet people.
The slight drawbacks are - difficult to get a cab, in the evening staff would say that happy to get one in the morning but twice in the mornings staff said just to wait for available cab (too busy to assist) so waited by sidewalk for considerable time, 2nd morning we had early tour to statue booked so after a wait we walked to Madison Square Gardens and plenty of cabs available there. Our lack of faith in getting a cab in the area led me to make my own town car booking for our trip to the airport.
Two small elevators which are normally no issue but on one night they had the rooftop bar booked out to an external function and it did take a considerable time to wait for an available elevator.
Overall the hotel was OK but I know for the money or a little more you can do considerably better for value and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at The Strand. We take your comments seriously and appreciate your candor.

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Don't get me wrong re the title above , all the other hotels have been fab , but we loved it at The Strand ,and we would definately go back there.
The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us when we asked for anything.

On our arrival , the lady on the front desk (Oetreya I think her name is) remembered that we were there to celebrate our anniversary, and apologised that they were unable to accommodate our request for a front room with a view of the ESB, but was able to give us a room on a higher floor at the back, we asked if we were able to change rooms and she checked and we were able to move to the front after the first 2 out of the 6 nights that we were there, which was fine by us.

We moved rooms after the first two nights and the room was slightly bigger with an amazing view of the ESB - when I opened the curtains in the morning and looked out of the window last thing at night I felt quite emotional !.

The location is ideal, and we ate at the Bistro in the hotel one evening and the food was lovely.
The cherry on the top of our stay at the Strand was the rooftop bar - we loved it here and called in for at least one drink and that amazing view a few times during our stay.

Loved it here and am missing it already ! .

Room Tip: A higher floor room at the front will give you a view of the ESB .
See more room tips
Green Features: As long as we have clean sheets on arrival at our hotel , that's fine and the housekeeping staff did leave a card asking customers to request if they needed a change of bedding which I feel is sufficient practice . The same with the towels , to leave in the shower tray if new/clean required.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shalovesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We miss you already, too! It is always nice to hear from guests like you who have enjoyed our “home away from home” atmosphere. Thank you for mentioning the programs we have in place to be gentle with the environment. I wish you a very relaxing summer, and hope to see you again. You can always call us directly for the best available rates.

Kind regards,
John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Wow--- found everything we needed after years of visiting NYC annually!
1/ Location! & minutes to Macy's Flagship store, Times Square, 5th Ave.....and Keen's Steak House!!!!!!!
2/ Rocking rooftop patio with dj!!!!!! Very rare find!
3/ Bigger rooms - Thank God!
4/ Great service by all! Heads up to the Greeks and Jacob very cool concierge!
5/ Clean & funky.
6/ Book directly with Magellan Hotels/Canadian company. Kept giving us price adjustments.
We will be back!!!!!! Great

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pantelitsa0468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Your great enthusiastic review made us feel both humble and proud. So glad everything from the rooftop DJs to the nearby shopping made your visit a success. We look forward to welcoming you back, when we’ll try to top it.

Kind regards,
John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

From start to finish a superb experience. Upon arrival we were greeted with a friendly welcoming smile, this belonged to Peter a wonderful and helpful concierge. We were given our room which wasn't the biggest nor had it the best view however, who sits in their hotel room when in such a fabulous city. The room had everything we needed, tastefully decorated and clean. Loved the turn down service with the chocolates which happened every evening ! The location of the hotel is great to get to all attractions and Central Park if you don't mind walking. We, I have to say took advantage of the happy hour also of the complementary drinks for hotel guests ! This was a good time for a chin wag with customers and staff , Oscar was another member off staff who was welcoming,friendly and chatty. The rooftop bar has amazing views of The Empire State Building. We have travelled all over the USA and stayed in some very nice hotels but overall The Strand hotel was one of the best. Well done to all who work there and made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxfrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to write about your stay, and for your generous remarks about our services and location. It is gratifying to know that The Strand compares very favorably with places you’ve visited nationwide. Your praise means a lot to our whole team.

Have a wonderful summer.

Kind regards,
John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Marriott, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing