We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Comfortable UES Getaway”
Review of 1871 House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1871 House
Ranked #16 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay in the Madison Suite at 1871 House. It was such a treat to have what felt like our own little Upper East Side apartment. The decor and furnishings were quaint, the space was roomy, and the location was perfect, tucked away from the hustle/bustle but close to everything: several corner groceries, nice restaurants and wonderful shopping. I would definitely like to stay at 1871 House again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CES3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

So very sorry for the delay in my review but I am very happy to say our experience was the most amazing of all my trips to the NYC thus far. My husband and I celebrated lots of milestones! My 40th birthday, New Year's Eve and our 15th wedding anniversary! We were part of the lucky thousands that got snowed in on the day we were to leave and the staff here at the 1871 House treated us with sympathy and respect, which lead to them graciously letting us make a spur of the moment reservation as of THAT night plus additional! Upon our arrival on the first day, we were eager travelers and arrived sooner than the check-in time but they safely stowed our luggage which allowed us to spend a slow paced "getting to know the neighborhood" walk. We booked the Mission Suite (and anxiously awaited this experience for nearly a year...the staff is so gracious to answer the plethora of emails I sent with questions or concerns anytime one came to mind for me!) and it was exactly as the photos display, it was quiet (it's below street level) the temperature was stable - meaning we were neither too hot or too cold at any time. Our plumbing was top rate - hot water every shower, which I've read in previous reviews there were issues so I want to express that we had no trouble what-so-ever with being comfortable!

The neighborhood is wonderful and never did we feel unsafe, plus the food options are numerous! We enjoyed our two rooms so much that we actually got take out many of those nights and just stayed in to enjoy the house! It is so "home" and I will never stay anywhere else from here on out when I come to New York! I want to say we got the Front Library Suite when we had to book extra nights due to cancelled flights, I was so frantic about flights that I didn't even pay much attention to the name! it overlooks the street out front of the house and was very comfortable and roomy for the two of us! Lots of tv to watch when you're snowed in and tired from treking through snow all day...plus great food across the street, around the corner, all over the surrounding blocks, the choices are endless! I can't praise this wonderful place enough and again, I'm sorry for taking so long to review it! We will only stay at 1871 House from now on! Thank you to all the staff for every bit of your kindness shown to us!

Matthew and Laura Meacham - Arkansas

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IluvNY62, Manager at 1871 House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Laura,

We're overwhelmed by your gracious comments! Thank You! We're exceedingly happy that your trip was so memorable and we're glad that we could be a part of it. The staff appreciates your kind words and we feel honored that you consider 1871 House your "home" in the city.

We look forward to seeing you many more times in the future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the 1871 house on a cold, quiet Sunday evening in late March. After coming out of the cold into the warmly lit foyer, we climbed the stairs to the rear library. We had fun looking through books (a Beatles collection, and another on the photography of Annie Liebowitz). Much better than staying in a Holiday Inn watching basic cable. Room was beautifully decorated--a charming relic of old New York.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Loved the 1871 House! It's in a great location on a beautiful residential street with easy access to shops and good restaurants (try the French bistro down the street). The service was great and the room I stayed in was spacious yet cozy. Can't wait to go back in the spring!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRL359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were three mature women visiting New York for a holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 1871 House. It was safe, clean and comfortable and gave us exactly the accommodation we wanted. The stairs to our room were a little steep but we had been warned about this before booking and it only added to the character of the house. I also find the negative comments about the property very odd indeed. If you want a different and delightful experience from a standard hotel we would certainly recommend 1871 House to others and return ourselves.

Room Tip: 1871 House are very clear and honest about what the rooms provide and I think guests can use that in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 38Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I was delighted to discover the 1871 House on my last trip into NYC. Located on one of the most charming blocks on the upper east side, this beautiful property is convenient to everything the city has to offer. It is private and cozy enough to feel like a home away from home while having all the amenities of an upscale boutique hotel. The small suite I had was equipped with everything and beautifully appointed with the antiques and wonderful linens. Located between Park and Lexington, the atmosphere is serene and quiet while being just steps away from all Manhattan has to offer. I'm in the city at least once a month and now that I've found this gem, I look forward to returning again and again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvaRosePer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IluvNY62, Manager at 1871 House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

We appreciate the kind words! Thank you for staying with us and we're glad you found your accommodations beautiful and convenient. We try to make each room a special and memorable experience and the neighborhood truly is a one of a kind destination. We look forward to welcoming you many more times in the future.

Thanks and best regards,
David
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Very quiet, clean, great location and Lia and warren are extremely nice people. They made us feel at home. Our room was very spacious, can't wait to go back over the summer. I recommend it to anyone who wants to stay at a convenient and quiet location in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IluvNY62, Owner at 1871 House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for the review! We were glad to hear you enjoyed staying in a new neighborhood for your special occasion. We're glad you felt at home (we hear this frequently from other guests and we're pleased to hear you felt the same way) and we would love for you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#37 of 469 in New York City
1,596 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,592 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#410 of 469 in New York City
551 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#75 of 469 in New York City
1,895 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 469 in New York City
4,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1871 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1871 House

Address: 130 E 62nd St, between Park and Lexington, New York City, NY 10065
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £140 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven apartment-style suites in historic five-story English Rowhouse, circa-1871 within the Upper East Side Historic District & Lenox Hill neighborhood. The house offers rooms with lovely views of other historic homes, is flooded with sunlight, has an incredible garden, and grand-scale details. 1871 House is surrounded by the Upper East Side's finest restaurants, stylish cafes, galleries, Madison Avenue's chic boutiques as well as world-renowned museums such the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), the Met Breuer Museum, The Metropolitan Museum of Art and The Frick Collection. A 2-block walk (five minutes) to Central Park and Fifth Avenue and Central Location 1871 House is perfect for culture seeking visitors to the Big Apple. 1871 House is also ideally located near Midtown Manhattan at it is on the most southern end of the Upper East Side. Easy access to public transportation makes 1871 House also convenient to Wall Street and the Financial District too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1871 House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing