We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a place like NYC - charming with absolutely sincere and helpful staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
Ranked #12 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I like everything there is about this place. Intimate, charming, quaint, great beds (feels like waterbed even!), spacious, every room is a statement piece, unique and definitely one of the kind in a place like NYC where everything else seemed commercialized and impersonal. Its location is also a plus - away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy Time Square but not too far away if you want to soak yourself in the ambient of it - probably just 10mins cab ride away with good traffic.
They are also very generous with their offerings...and it's almost help-yourself-with-everything-they-can-offer-at-the-bar. you just have to give reasonable amount of tip and you can get all the privacy you want. The staffs are never intrusive and give you good private space but definitely extend their helping hand anytime you need one. We have been serviced by Thomas (whom i really loved his style and dressing!) and Paola...
One thing i have to say about Paola was - she actually took the initiative to find me a website that sells value-for-money baby strollers cuz i was on the lookout to buy one. So she actually looked for one and slip a note under my room door. I was pleasantly surprised and didn't have a chance to thank her personally.
Breakfast was simple but generous and strangely my husband and I never got tired of their breakfast! You know it's prepared from the heart!
Definitely the place to stay in if you are spending your holiday in NYC. No regrets.

Room Tip: We had the Victorian room which wasn't our first choice but nonetheless it was spacious and char...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corgiful_Jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

We always prefer to find small intimate B&B's. Finding one in NY was quite hard, but this place is an absolute gem. It's has its own unique style, the very opposite of the bland impersonal chain hotels. Welcoming, relaxed yet well run, clean and very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was the Bamboo Room (all rooms have their own theme and are individually decorated) which was larger than we had expected, a bit dark but very comfortable. It was great to be able to make teas,coffee etc whenever we woke up (we were still adjusting to the time difference) and whenever we got in. Breakfasts were simple but generous, with cereal, fruit, breads, cake and an egg dish or pancakes always available. Being able to use passes to museums and galleries was very kind and a great bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I liked all of it; friendly staff, quaint rooms, great beds and nice breakfast. A tad noisy facing the street, but would come back. Thank you. I reserved my room well in advance and stayed three nights as I was at a conference uptown. Perfect for subway, Greenwich and local haunts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We spent a week at the Inn on 23rd and loved every second. The location's a bit weird - sort of in the middle of a bunch of more happening areas - but with 2-3 subway stations close by you can get about very easily. And, really, it's a slice of Manhattan that felt pretty down to earth.

Our room was huge in comparison to other hotels of similar price (we compared with other travelling acquaintances when we met up) even of it was slightly run down but the bed was excellent and the street noise level was manageable even in this front room. The only faults were a very noisy aircon (which we only used sparingly) and a far too smelly deodouriser used by the chambermaids. But, really, these are minor faults when taking the whole experience into account.

The staff were uniformly excellent - Thomas, Paulo and the others were affable, insightful, helpful, gracious and charming. Annette - the owner - knows NY like the back of her hand. The shared library / dining area is a great place to relax and escape the manic streets for a while. And the cat made us feel at home as well.

I will heartily recommend this accomodation to all my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. I agree with others that Thomas runs the Inn with graciousness and warmth. The library is lovely and breakfast was just right. Our room was homey and clean. My only complaint would be price, but this is New York and hotel prices are ridiculous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

As you sit in the woodpaneled breakfast room/library and look out the window, the first thing that comes to mind is - "is this really New York City?" This is a little slice of English charm placed in the streets of New York. We had the room on the same floor as the entry, but were set back so that there was no noise. The room was large, with a sitting area, alcove with a desk, and a king bed. I don't think there are many apartments this big in NY! The breakfasts are good, but don't get there too late or some of the offerings might be gone. I ended up using my own hot spot as getting the internet was a little confusing, but that worked fine. The Inn is not cheap, but then again, nothing good in NY is. They also have a self-service honor bar which is unusual for NY. But it is a nice touch here. Don't bring a car (we did) as parking on the street is non-existant and parking garages charge you the price of a dinner. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmdesertdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

What a wonderful experience we had at the Inn on 23rd! From the moment we arrived in the library and met Thomas and another staff member, both of whom greeted us warmly, we knew we had found a home away from home. The library is a charming room, beautifully decorated, filled with books, magazines, newspapers, a wall of windows overlooking the street ... and our breakfasts and wine and cheese and snacks there were delicious. We also had a great dinner one night in the restaurant downstairs, "The Guilty Goose" - excellent food; and they were very happy to customize one of our meals. Our room was lovely, clean, and comfortable and it was amazingly quiet -- no street noise! What a peaceful place to return to after a busy time in the city ... can't wait to stay there again ...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#165 of 468 in New York City
1,903 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 468 in New York City
877 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,128 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#90 of 468 in New York City
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Address: 131 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2431
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £185 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea is a unique bed and breakfast in one of the most dynamic and convenience neighborhoods in New York City. Walk to restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and sightseeing such as the Flatiron Building, the Empire State Building and The High Line. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing