We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet up with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
Ranked #11 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights having met up with friends from other parts of the world. The library was a great place to meet up after a long days sight seeing. The staff were friendly and courteous and not over bearing. There is quick and easy access to 3 subway lines although walking to some of the major sights was easy. Plenty of local stores to buy any essentials needed. Lots of places to eat really close by.
I was a little concerned by the blocking of the emergency access stairs by laundry. One of our friends did not like using the elevator and when the guilty goose is closed this is the only exit.
Housekeeping was excellent as was our room decor. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saund_cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

The Inn on 23rd is a small hotel located in Chelsea a block or less from three subway lines, grocery options such as Trader Joe's and Garden of Eden, wine stores, bakeries, vintage and discount clothing stores, etc. Rooms are thematically unique. We stayed in a large 1940's styled room with Haywood-Wakefield furnishings, round mirrored vanity, old Zenith radio, etc. with 3 tall southern exposure windows. The Inn offers a substantial breakfast in the library, a very pleasant gathering place with long library table and chairs, salon settee and chairs, piano, and a banquette with cafe tables beside a wall of windows on the second floor. They also offer complimentary wine and cheese hours on Friday and Saturday evenings in the same space. Staff are knowledgeable and helpful. Dorothy is the resident tabby cat often resting on one end of the settee who arches her back to reward those who pet her but who is otherwise unobtrusive. The only negative was that in our room, the windows needed to be cleaned and two out of three blinds and two out of three pull down shades needed to be fixed. But we would return to the same room if given the chance and have already recommended the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorisRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innon23rd, Owner at The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose to stay with us and had the opportunity to enjoy the Inn's amenities (including Dorothy). We also greatly appreciate your honest assessment of the windows, blinds, and shades in your room, since we are always looking for ways to our improve our business and serve our guests. We hope to see you again soon. Until then, Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Well just to add to the excellent reviews... here is another one.
Great location, subway at either end of the street to go almost anywhere in New York. Walking distance to Macy's and 34th st area. Room was spacious for New York, bathroom was great and really clean. It is like a home the library area is fabulous and the available tea coffee welcome at any time. Breakfast was adequate to start your day but heaps of close dining options.

The Guilty Goose next door offers are great range of local US Beers, well worth the sampling and the food was good. Once you work out the TV it is ok but again, nothing special. Would stay again without a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back appear the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianandFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innon23rd, Owner at The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you were able to enjoy some USA beers in the Guilty Goose. Also, we greatly appreciate your feedback with regards to your television, it is one of the details we are working to improve to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We thought the room was very spacious and comfortable and somewhere to relax as well as sleep. The library was another place to sit and relax in a homely atmosphere and a nice place to have breakfast. The furnishings were a bit too tizzy for our taste but the spaciousness of the room made up for this. The breakfast wasn't outstanding but adequate. The bathroom was bright, clean and a good size. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our only criticisms are we could only get one channel on the TV and the room, being at the front of the building, was very noisy so ask for a back room or take earplugs! It's in a good location close to the Flatiron, good shops and parks.

Room Tip: Front rooms are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BukiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innon23rd, Owner at The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad that we could contribute to a memorable NYC trip for you. Also, thank you for your honest constructive criticism. We are constantly making improvements to our decor, amenities, and breakfast offerings in order to better serve our guests. Your suggestions will aid us in this and are therefore greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is my third time staying at the Inn on 23rd Street. It is in a very convenient location to easily walk to the subway or attractions and restaurants nearby. I love being so close to the Flat Iron Building and Madison Square Park. The inn is very clean, quiet and the breakfast is delicious. It is a very relaxing place to stay after a busy day sightseeing around Manhattan. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests at breakfast time and on wine and cheese nights. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magiccode12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Everything was good. Room spacious and pretty, was clean and quiet. Bathroom was also very clean. Staff very friendly and helpfully. location is perfect. Just maybe one minus is no fridge in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikhail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I loved my stay at The Inn on 23rd. I was in The Grille room which was very pink. It has a huge skylight, so it has lots of light and is very quiet. The bathroom was the cleanest hotel bathroom I have ever visited. It wasn't just sanitary, every fixture gleamed. My sister had a huge 1940's style room which overlooked 23rd street and was also very cool. We had a very nice lunch at the Guilty Goose, and the 20% guest discount made that really affordable. The breakfast was lovely and the windows were open to a beautiful spring day. The (wireless) internet worked well. I only really interacted with one staff member but she was very nice and gave us a tour of the facility and pointed out the printer, honor bar, etc. She let us into our room before 1:00 pm, a courtesy unknown to most properties. The location is so easy and convenient, there are subway stations at each end of the street.

Room Tip: There are only 12 rooms. The top floor and the rooms facing the front would have the most light, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#165 of 469 in New York City
1,914 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 469 in New York City
898 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#57 of 469 in New York City
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#98 of 469 in New York City
1,852 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 469 in New York City
11,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Address: 131 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2431
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £111 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea is a unique bed and breakfast in one of the most dynamic and convenience neighborhoods in New York City. Walk to restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and sightseeing such as the Flatiron Building, the Empire State Building and The High Line. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing