We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ironically Hipster, Hipster Hotel”
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #206 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel was almost too hip. The lobby has an awesome Gotham sort of feel to it. My room came with an acoustic guitar, record player (with records) and a fridge that looked like it came straight out of the 50s. The bed was also very comfortable. I would certainly recommend friends to stay here out of convenience (lower midtown), but it somewhat feels like you end up paying for the "cool" instead of things that materially add quality to the stay. Some of the fixtures seemed a bit cheap, for instance, and the bathroom was only somewhat well appointed for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerTripReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and 3 girlfriends booked this hotel for a 3 night trip to NYC. Four girls in one room in NYC is always a bit of a worry space wise, especially when this was a shopping trip. First impressions of the hotel was it was a bit dark and it was difficult to tell who were guests and who were hotel staff but that all added to the whole ambience as you'll soon discover when looking around the hotel. There's a small reception area to the left as you enter the hotel and there's a grand lobby with plenty of working space and bar where most folks are on their laptops. There's a coffee shop and restaurant off the main lobby area. The location of the hotel is ideal, 29th street in between Broadway and 5th Ave, with a subway station literally around the corner, the Empire State Building and all the 34th Street shopping delights only 5 streets away. Oxford Café is fantastic for breakfast, it's on 35th street and 5th ave. I'd also recommend Heartland Brewery right beside the Empire State Building for lunch or dinner.
I loved their quirky little comments on the bathroom walls and the hangers and their main wall art in the rooms. It's the only hotel I've ever stayed at in NYC where you don't hear sirens and horns all night long. We stayed in a double room, room 901 (9th floor) right opposite the lift and still heard nothing. It had 2 double beds, a well stocked Smeg fridge and plenty of storage space for clothes and shopping bags.
Photos on the hotel website do not do it justice. Best hotel shower I've ever had too!
I just loved absolutely everything about this hotel. Everything about this hotel is ACE, location, rooms and staff - keep up the good work guys. I'll defo be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Angela1011 and Friends,
Thank you for choosing Ace as the home base for your NYC Shopping Expedition! We are happy to read your accommodations were roomy enough for 4 shoppers and that you had the best hotel shower ever! We look forward to seeing you again and can't wait to have you back!
The Ace NY Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

One of the hippest, most laid back hotel I've been to. 5 blocks from Penn Station, it's really easy to find and get to from Penn. Great coffee shop on main level, and I mean Great. Really good restaurant in the hotel, The Breslin. I think the front desk is a little understaffed, but the service is great. I've stayed there 3x so far and not a problem so far.

Rooms are big, due to high ceilings. Don't pay any attention to the SQ FT listed on websites. You won't feel cramped here. Bathrooms are ultra cool. Beds are surprisingly comfortable.

I've stayed in both the medium and large rooms there. Both are great. Not much of a difference if you ask me. Oh yeah, the wifi works great at this hotel for business travelers who absolutely need it.

Lobby turns into a swanky lounge at night. Bar is cool also.

Room Tip: Get the medium room... best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAELEEAHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Did not stay at the Ace Hotel but several locals that we were meeting with suggested we touch base in the lobby. Very cozy furniture, all types of coffee, pastries, etc. Plenty of power outlets for laptops. Not used to meeting in such an open spot but enjoyed our meeting and the atmosphere of the Ace.

Room Tip: Very unique spot but grey place to meet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfb281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I'm not a fan of hip hotels in the main, so I was really rather nervous when I discovered my company had booked me into this hotel. It has mixed reviews on TripAdvisor, and they focus on the "hip-ness", which people seem to either love or hate, and given previous experiences with such hotels in NYC especially, I wasn't optimistic.

But the ACE Hotel and its staff proved me wrong. The lobby is full of people staring at each other or sat at long tables tapping blogs into Macs, but the staff did give me a warm welcome, and my room, despite being small was really cleverly put together and functioned perfectly.

Although I was only on the 3rd floor I was relieved and delighted to find that I couldn't hear the thumping music in the lobby bar. I could hear some street noise - but that's pretty universal in New York. However, I was woken at 3am every night by what seemed to be the unloading of massive amounts of steels from trucks, which I assumed to be related to the building work next door. In truth I can't blame the hotel for that.

All in all I had a great stay, and I'll be coming back, which says a lot for the ACE, because I'm a fussy guy. Thank you Ace Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I have just come back from a short trip to NYC and decided to stay at Ace after reading the reviews.
It is the coolest hotel I've ever stayed at! Everything has been thought through carefully and I loved the experience. The hotel is just 2 minutes from the iconic Flatiron building and within walking distance of lots of other sights.
The room & bathroom were great. Breakfast was a little expensive but very good. The staff at reception were really friendly & helpful. Free wifi. Amazing coffee shop downstairs. I could go on!
The only negative was the noise on one of the nights. There was a party in one of the rooms on my floor which went on all night. The hotel staff clearly knew about it as room service kept bringing more alcohol and security were called up by other guests, and yet they allowed it to go on. That was a little annoying where I was jetlagged & in serious need of sleep! But the other two nights were quiet so it must have been a one-off.
Quite simply, if you're going to NYC & need somewhere amazing to stay, this is the place!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank CSbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

If there's one word to describe the Ace Hotel it's "cool". The vibe is great, the staff is great and so accommodating, so nice. I was blown away! The hotel is located close to subway stations and it's walking distance to pretty much anywhere in manhattan. We stayed in a room that looked out to the Empire State Building and it was just gorgeous! Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kalina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thanks for the love Kalina N-
We look forward to a seeing you again and again and again...
xoxo
The Staff of Ace NY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#58 of 469 in New York City
838 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 469 in New York City
586 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#47 of 469 in New York City
3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#107 of 469 in New York City
1,926 reviews
MADE Hotel
#257 of 469 in New York City
62 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#174 of 469 in New York City
3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#150 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £146 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing