We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead Cockroaches on the bed”
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #212 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dead Cockroaches on the bed”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I've never heard or seeing of in the hotel can found of dead cockroaches on the bed and not just only one. usually die cockroaches need how many days to take the body of cockroaches to dry flat out You can imagine how many days they didn't clear the room .
When you call the front desk , Response was good no problems he say we will help you replace a clean room. what he meant was the first room was not clean?
Hotel staff thinks is just cockroaches have nothing to complain about.
What do you think ?

Room Tip: I've never heard or seeing of in the hotel can found of dead cockroaches on the bed and not just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yilinhsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear yilinhsu,
We’re so sorry for the experience that you had here at Ace. As we spoke about in person this is not at all typical or something that we view as acceptable. All of our rooms are cleaned and inspected daily and we work with licensed exterminators weekly as a proactive approach toward avoiding any issues. As travelers ourselves we do not think that this is okay and our procedures were developed to reflect the expectations of our own staff. Pest control is of the utmost importance to ensure the comfort of all Ace New York guests. We’re sorry that all of our efforts to make you comfortable and compensate for this instance were met with the disappointment expressed here.

Warm regards,
Sean Walsh, Lisa Conza and The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    622
    191
    81
    41
See reviews for
191
542
206
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A friend from New York had suggested to book here as it was well suited to my tastes and character. As soon as I stepped out of the NYC taxi where a casual yet chic doorman assisted with our luggage I already knew that this hotel was going to be right up my alley. The dark and cozy lobby area despite the sunny NYC day lent itself to a mystique atmosphere. The staff at reception were extremely helpful and had great personas. Our room, small yet cozy was just what one needs when visiting NYC a bed to 'potentially' sleep in. Each detail of the room was brilliantly thought out and designed. Loved it all! I even ate at the John Dory oyster bar twice, sipped on cocktails at the lobby lounge and had brunch at the Breslin. Can't say enough about this place. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We hope this finds you well, CRL00.
You have a great friend and please tell them how much we appreciate their recommendation! On behalf of the entire Ace New York team we wanted to thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay. Please let us know if we can assist you in the future, it would be lovely to have you back. We can be reached at NYC.MGRS@acehotel.com.
xoxo,
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4nights in the small room.

R & N subway line the 28th Station is very close.
hotel is stylish.
Room feels dark at first but get used. cozy!
Recommended for people who like vintage furniture.

I ordered room service a "Lamb Burger" of the Breslin restaurant, it was very delicious!

I'll be back ACE!o(^_^)o
already next booked!

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LALOVE1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We look forward to having you back LALOVE1977 and thank you for your feedback. If we can be of any assistance please feel free to reach out to us prior to your arrival! Simply drop a line to nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com. The lamb burger is still on the menu and just as delicious!
xoxo
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed for seven nights in a medium room and we had a king size bed. This place focuses on what really matters, and setting up a very particular athmosphere. Both are brilliantly achieved. From the cosmetics to bedding, including bathrobes, towels, bed sheets, fridge, carpet, air con, phonic isolation, clothes hangers, lightning, no choice has been made randomly. It's was all about good taste, state of the art design and quality products. I had brought my own shower gel, shampoo and conditionner and ended up using only hotel products. There are customer dedicated notes everywhere (walls, elevators, tiles...) which are all either funny, inspirational or super usefull. Attached restaurant is wonderful and surprising to say the least. Lobby and bar are just spectacular. All the persons who work there were nice, skilled, and helpful. WiFi was good, everywhere, all the time. Not even speaking about location. That place will just make you feel good. I'll definitely book again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank b1nnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your amazing feedback b1nnie. There is so much to love about your comments! Most importantly, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and plan to return. It is the greatest compliment we could receive and we hope you will reach out to us when planning your return. Please drop us a line at nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com. We look forward to assisting you.
All the best,
The Staff of Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Imagine you went to college in East Berlin but the college was formerly an office building from the 1940s. Congratulations! You've just arrived at your room at the ACE NYC. Everything here in the room to me screams cheap and a lame take off of "industrial". I swear I've garbage picked better furniture than what they have in there. Small. Oak. Junk.
When I come home from walking all over Manhattan you know what sounds great? A huge soft bed with a comforter. Not some stupid plaid camping blanket and a bunk bed in a metal frame and carpet that smells like cat pee. Also, how about designing a bathroom where I can actually put things on a counter that I need? Its like a balancing act between the little space above the pedestal sink and the desk where you'll inevitably throw everything you need. Stay here with your girlfriend and you could very well end your relationship over that bathroom. This is the kind of inconvenience I put up with when I lived in New York - its not what I want when I return and pay over $350 for a room. Everyone kept telling me how cool the lobby is and I must admit it does have a vibe but its also loud as all hell and when its not, it turns into Hipster Public Library with everyone staring into their laptops.
After a while it all just started to feel like one of those themed places that converted like a prison or a washing machine plant into a hotel. "Hey its not convenient because thats how it was back then. Get it?!"
The food choices are good with an oyster bar and the Breslin which is impressive and Michelin starred. The coffeeshop to me was rubbish however. Worst mocha I've ever sipped and they had a chocolate chip cookie that literally tasted like it was dropped on the beach - it was grainy and salty. Come on guys, I can make chocolate chip cookies when I'm drunk and they're amazing. HOW can you screw this up?

Some have complained about the staff but I found them all to be pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retrorich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Retrorich,
We’re sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our design team did not make choices to upset anyone, the rooms were designed to create a unique experience. Our bunk bed rooms accommodate travelers who don’t have a large budget but need two beds. With several different room categories a room with more space is an easy fix and we are wondering if this need was brought to our attention. If another room was available we happily would have shown you other options. We are a pet friendly hotel. The housekeeping department is alerted to all 4 legged guests and additional time is added to servicing that room. At present our housekeeping staff has been notified to check for this issue in all of our bunk rooms. Based on your TripAdvisor profile we were unable to determine who you are or what specific room you refer to. We are pleased you found the staff pleasant and helpful, should you wish to speak of any of us we would love to hear from you.

Sean Walsh & Lisa Conza (sean.walsh@acehotel.com, lisa.conza@acehotel.com, 212-679-2222)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Loved my room. Great amenities. Great businesses attached to the hotel- Le Labo, Stumptown, Opening Ceremony, the other stores...

Cute restaurants, busy lobby, small but good gym...

They have event spaces there too.

Very cute.

The room had good AC too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Ashley R.
We are happy to read you enjoyed your Ace New York Experience! Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Cheers,
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is very hip without being pretentious--the rooms are clean and smartly decorated, the staff pleasant & helpful...there's a party every evening in the lobby but that didn't seem to interrupt any other activities...

Room Tip: King Size beds have more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi marjesam!
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We loved every bit of your feedback and are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to let us know when you wish to return! We can be reached at nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com.
xoxo,
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#49 of 466 in New York City
825 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 466 in New York City
461 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#100 of 466 in New York City
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#141 of 466 in New York City
2,683 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#308 of 466 in New York City
665 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 466 in New York City
3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing