We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy "Hipster" Hotel”
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #221 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trendy "Hipster" Hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I would go back to this hotel. The room was clean and the decor was uber trendy; hipster like, but it makes for a fun stay. In reality, the decor makes this place stand out. The room was your typical NYC size: small but cozy. The vintage bath+ shower was a nice touch.

Downstairs, there are lots of tables in the lounge where you can plop down and work if you need. There are even servers that take orders for food and coffee.

As for the food, the hotel has a great coffee shop as well as a restaurant that serves an amazing brunch menu. In the evenings, like a lot of hotels in NYC now, the lounge turns into an event space and club, so make sure you book a room on a high floor.

Room Tip: Pick a room high above the lounge. Otherwise, if you're there for the weekend, you'll hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandEyePhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    618
    190
    81
    41
See reviews for
189
539
206
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My stay at ACE was perfect (in almost every way). The hotel is my new favorite. My 23 yr old daughter and boyfriend visited and loved it as well.
The hotel is clean, comfortable, accommodating and super fun! Great food. Love the well thought out décor.
(My only complaint is the TV randomly freezing and shutting down, constantly.)
Thank you ACE!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms avoid lobby noise.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AMR420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear AMR420.
Many thanks for your feedback! Please accept our sincere apologies as we upgraded our tv system earlier this month. We think our guests will like the improvements we made. We truly appreciate your understanding.
With over 400 hotels in New York - we are humbled with the fact we are considered your favorite. It feels really good.
We hope to see you soon!
xoxo
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Sent my adult daughter to NYC for a weekend trip to see friends and booked this hotel. She called me raving about how wonderful it is. Eclectic, cool, steampunk, trendy and a great stay. We will definitely be back so that I can check it out next time.

Room Tip: the Mini room was perfect for 2 people and the atmosphere was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAtravellerlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear GAtravellerlive,
We are happy you found us and that your daughter enjoyed her stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we will look forward to a visit from you. Please feel free to reach out if you need any assistance! nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com
Warm regards,
The Ace New York Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Trendy hotel with is hipster personality but still comfortable and well priced. The lobby is great for just hanging out or people watching. It is not a quiet scene, so be aware that is not a place to go get work done. The room a fun a unique, the lowest price room are really small and bare bones but if you spend a little more the room are really big by NYC standards. The overall lighting in the hotel and rooms is dim to dark. Very comfortable beds, restaurant is really tasty, British themed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Love this chain. Like the London one too. The Ace is expensive - there's no getting round that BUT everywhere to stay in New York is expensive and at least at The Ace you get pretty good service, fun staff, a cool hang out and fun decor and...a genuinely big room (we booked a medium room on the 12th floor... believe me it was large). Our room had a full size leather sofa, a full sized smeg fridge, a large bed, a long built in desk with chair, free wi-fi (as it should be), some great task lamps, a guitar and a record turntable... and loads of space to move around/walk around in. Plenty of sockets to plug chargers in to. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was excellent. How many hotels do you get to stay in with the most staggering view right out of your bedroom window of a famous landmark? Empire Sate building lit up in red, white and blue at night was a bonus. You need to check on room views...I am sure some will be much more limited. The staff were helpful and friendly...sure they all look very hip and cool but they definitely aren't cool in their nature and attention; we found them all to be very friendly and good fun. Smile and treat people how you expect to be treated in return... instead of simply treating them like 'a service industry' (they are people!). My husband has started staying here regularly on business trips he loves it so much. The helpful stuff: a full size ironing board and a good iron in the room, (great for my husband on business trips, great for me after unpacking my screwed up clothes), a good quality hairdryer not one of those stupid wall mounted feeble ones, a good sized room safe that easily took our ipads, cameras etc, good quality bathrobes, towels, shampoos, conditioner, body wash etc. They need to stop using the trendy black soap though as it's pretty useless and sliver thin and leaves a black mess all over the sink - but that's not a big deal. The air conditioning unit is easy to use and a blessing in high temperatures. The bar is great, we didn't eat in The Breslin but know loads of New York friends who absolutely love it and I think it's the Chef from The Spotted Pig and that place was amazing. The room was well cleaned, bed made up every single day without fail. My only genuine complaint is this: so many non-guests come in to hang out in the lobby area (because it is cool and great fun) that it's really hard as a paying guest to find somewhere to sit, which at this price I don't think is acceptable. It's also pretty unsociable to walk in to such a creative hotel to be immediately greeted by a sea of people just plugged in to lap tops, wearing headphones, staring at screens, lit by the ghostly glows of a ton of Apple Macs. Don't hipsters have anything better to do? They sit for hours (I swear they don't blink) and rarely buy drinks. Ace Hotel you need to sort this out because when a guest paying this much has to fight to get a seat in the lobby amongst a load of folks not even spending money - then it's something that needs rectifying. Remove that long central high desk with the stools and open it up with more sofas. If people are genuinely here for work they won't be doing it in a crowded lobby with music playing...if they are not guests then they can work at their office. The MIchelberger Hotel in Berlin does it right. It's fine for people to have business meetings but that's not what this is - it looks more like students and interns just hanging out for hours on end plugged in using the free wi-fi. Go to Starbucks! Hotels like this are where like minded creative paying guests make new connections in the common areas of the building but in The Ace in NYC it's a bit impossible when all the space is taken up by freeloaders! Other than that - if it's in your budget range or if it's a special treat - go for it...I doubt you will be disappointed. A great location in one of the greatest cities on earth with fun decor.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a good view and take earplugs, you're in New York...what do you expect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback Leza H. !
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you and your husband again.
Please allow any of our staff members to assist you with finding a seat in the lobby. Our Ace Guests have reserved seating and we would be happy to help you. Our apologies if this was not communicated at check in.
All the best,
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very much enjoyed this hotel in mid town. It has a super cool vibe but the staff are still grounded which is not always the case. The rooms are simple but have a certain understated elegance but great mini bar.

I normally try out smaller places in new york but this was a success. For business you are also in the middle of everywhere.

On a seperate note one of the main enjoyments is the bar/lounge area where clearly there is a local crowd making it feel very safe comfortable and relaxing and getting the inside tips on where to go .

I certainly would recommend this hotel if your budget allows it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willem333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Willem333,
We were so happy to read you enjoyed your experience at Ace New York! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about it and we certainly appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again!
xoxo,
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Already reviewed on Yelp but I feel like this hotel needs all the praise it can get! Plus I highly rely on reviews so I'm hoping this will help.

Absolutely amazing!!! Location was prime, close to everything you want. We got a two bed queen room with sofa bed. I have stayed at a Manhattan hotel before that was seriously tiny, so when I went here I was expecting the same thing, WRONG the room was huge. The beds were super comfy and they supplied plenty of towels along with completely stocking the room with anything you can think of. They had everything from candy to booze and aspirin to Q-tips.

The hotels décor was very hipster esque with the record player in the room along with a guitar for you pleasure. The bathroom was a good size that was supplied with great shampoo, conditioner and body wash.

Staff was also friendly and helpful! Amazing place that I hope to stay in again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephheras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We love and appreciate the kind words you posted, stephheras. Thank you for taking the time to give us 2 places to read your glorious feedback. All of us will look forward to seeing you again and again!
xoxo
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#47 of 466 in New York City
819 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#83 of 466 in New York City
1,644 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 466 in New York City
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paul Hotel
#300 of 466 in New York City
644 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#148 of 466 in New York City
2,579 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 466 in New York City
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#154 Family Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing