We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ace Hotel New York
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$208
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$515
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$310
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (1,827)
Filter reviews
1,827 results
Traveller rating
851
647
199
87
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
851
647
199
87
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstumptown coffeesmeg fridgebreslin restaurantmedium roommini roomjohn doryoyster baropening ceremonyhipster hotelphoto boothlobby barnew yorkcool hoteltoo cool for schoolflatiron districtthe empire state buildingcool vibe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 1,827 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place has a fantastic location in New York. Close enough to walk to central park (it's a long walk) or Greenwich village (that's a long walk too).

The hotel is funky, its definitely boutique style, but much bigger than you'd think.

As soon as you enter the hotel you'll notice how dark it seem, dark and quite loud. This adds to the 'coolness'. Unfortunately most of the people sitting in the entrance lobby near the bar aren't actually staying in the hotel, they are simply drinking coffee and using the free wifi. This gets quite annoying when you actually want to sit there as a guest. In our three nights we couldn't find a free seat.

The rooms are nice, funky and compact, but don't feel small. Our room had a fantastic view of the empire state building so we can't really complain! The rooms are clean.

Beware of even looking at the minibar, its EXPENSIVE. Yes, I know its a hotel minibar, but $8 for a chocolate bar is bordering on day-light-robbery.

Overall this is a great little (but quite big) hotel which is a good location for your people to stay.

While I felt decidedly 'uncool' compared to the rest of the people there, it's still worth staying if you want an afforsable, clean hotel in New York City. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Get one a bit higher up. Ask for a room with a view of the Empire State Building.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaccdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hi jaccdd,
Thank you for your feedback and we are so happy to read that you would return. It is the greatest compliment we could receive.
We understand your frustration and sincerely apologize for not letting you know about the reserved area in the lobby for hotel guests. We are happy to assist hotel guests with getting a seat in the lobby and it is unfortunate this information was not relayed to you.
Please let us know when you wish to return by emailing nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com. We would love the opportunity to assist.
All the best,
The Staff of Ace Hotel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had dinner and drinks at the hotel restaurant, Breslin. The food was fantastic and service was superb. Cocktails were divine. It was my friend's birthday and our beautiful server Erin took extra good care of us. So glad we ended up here!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamaga108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stopped by the Lobby Bar at the Ace Hotel in early August for a few drinks after work and was very impressed. This place has a cool decor, nice drinks and interesting people. Next visit I plan on eating at the Breslin Bar which is onsite and looks like it is right up any meat lovers alley. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maple_leaf_expats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hi maple_leaf_expats,
We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to having you back!
All the best,
The Staff of Ace New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel has to be the best and most unique hotel I have ever stayed in. The location was perfect for my wife and I. The staff were amazing and were very helpful. They went out of their way to find us taxi's whenever asked. The lobby had a great feel to it and made you feel like you were a part of something special. If you are able to stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trimer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi trimer10,
It is an honor and delight to be called the best and most unique hotel experience you have had. Thank you for posting your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!
xoxo,
The Staff of Ace New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our stay at the Ace Hotel came after a mediocre stay at another famous hotel in NYC, and we were much more pleased with this experience. While it did take an extra few hours for them to have our room ready for us (we arrived early - around noon, and asked to be put on the list for early check-in requests - left for a few hours, came back around 2:30, and checked every half hour until 4:30), we WERE upgraded to a suite, and the people at the desk were all very apologetic and friendly about our extended wait in the lobby due to the wood floor in our room still drying from being cleaned.

The suite was large, had a great bathroom that was pretty big by New York standards (including clawfoot tub), had a Smeg fridge that was fully stocked with yummy drinks and snacks that were atypical to your regular hotel fare, and it just felt like you were staying in the coolest studio apartment like in those tv shows were pretty young 20-somethings live and party, but that they could never actually afford in real life.

Sure, it's not a super quiet stay, but honestly, where would that even be if you want to stay in midtown NYC? The lobby is really fun, Stumptown coffee is right downstairs (and it's delicious), as well as the hippest of the hip stores, Opening Ceremony, so really, what else could you ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gooniesgoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews