We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great new hotel, bar scene and a deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #219 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great new hotel, bar scene and a deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

Changed hotels to the Ace after a terrible experience at the Jane. Got a great deal-- $99 on the room. I've stayed here before and it has everything you'd want in a NYC hotel room. It's big, comfy beds, nice bathrooms and a lively scene in the lobby. Honestly, for the money this is the best deal in NYC.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcindc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    608
    183
    79
    40
See reviews for
187
534
205
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

I knew going in there would be tradeoffs for the excellent deal we had. However, the noise off the street was unbelievable. Honking all night long! I was worried about the noise from the lounge area but it was nothing compared to the street noise. The rooms are as advertised, roomy, clean, adequately appointed. The doors are metal and provide no sound proofing so you hear all of the noise coming from outside of your door! It's a young crowd so the noise continues late into the morning hours. Almost forgot, they allow pets I guess because there was also barking included into the non-stop noise. The restaurant inside the hotel has good food but the service is less than desired. It's difficult to get anyone to help you! If you are looking for a cheap place to stay and don't like to sleep very much this is the place for you, or take your earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

We also stayed over the Valentine's Day weekend as the previous reviewer. The hotel lobby and the restaurant were rented out to a private event Saturday night. Since we didn't need to use the lobby, to us, its just a hip New York party.

This hotel was advertised as the hippest hotel in New York City. They are not kidding. It's hip not only because of the design and the atmosphere, but also the people in there (staff, cafe patrons, locals using their lobby as a hang out place, and some of the guests). You know it's a different place when the lobby is full of people in their 20's using MacBooks with a cup of coffee.

Pros:
Very friendly and helpful staff; it is actually like they are helping a friend as one of the earlier reviewer commented; the guy who carried out our luggage looked genuinely surprised when getting a small tip.
Great location next to two subway stations (28th/Broadway and 34th st);
Very clean; very comfortable beds and sheets; high quality towels (from the Turkish towel Company);
Great (but a little expensive) coffee shop; they made flowers on the cream;

Cons:
Lobby is too busy; don't expect to meet a friend in the lobby since you can't find a seat. I hope the hotel will allocate a few seats for their own guests.
Small rooms (didn't bother us but may be a problem for people with lots of luggage and staying a few more days.

Note:
It's one block away from the 28th/Broadway station but express trains will not stop there. If you're in a hurry, walk three blocks (they are small) to the 34th street station.

This is by far the hippest and one of the best hotels we've stayed. Much better than the Hyatt next to the Grand Station. We will definitely considering it for our next NYC trip and will recommend it to our friends.

PS, we got a very good deal on the room rate, especially for the Valentine's Day weekend. Not sure this deal will come along next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

I was very excited to stay at the Ace Hotel after reading numerous articles about the design of the space. I finally got to stay there this past weekend and was completely underwhelmed. The hotel staff didn't alert us that the lobby and hotel restaurant was closed for a private event on the date of our reservation so we didn't even get to experience that part of the hotel. The room was very minimal and included no design aspects shown on the hotel website. And when you were in bed, a bar that went from floor to ceiling supporting the desk blocked your view of the tv. In addition the bathroom door gave no privacy and was right next to the head of the bed. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean, but the room was extremely overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j7palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights and before we arrived we got a nice feeling from our communication with the staff. It was our anniversary and we just wanted to make it a special stay.

When we got there we were upgraded and then a bottle of champagne was sent to our room (upgrading really means just a bigger bed, not a bigger room, unless you get a corner room or a loft apartment). The rooms are boutique-y with a very comfortable bed. Free Wifi and a music system. Some of the rooms have a turntables with actual records.
The shower was amazing - and they have fantastic shampoo, conditioner and shower gel (that you can buy from reception). The hotel is based on a American apartment block but finished to a high standard.
The lobby is ALWAYS a hub of locals with their Macbooks who literally come in to use the wifi, have great coffee and be part of a fantastic atmosphere. If the locals come here - that's a good sign.
The location was also fantastic. There were 2 mornings I was walking back to the hotel with my Starbucks and I would see how close the Empire State Building and the Flat Iron building were to the hotel.
Any time I return to NYC I will book here.

If there was anything I had to be picky about it (and I mean REALLY picky) there are 3 points:
1. The rooms are fantastic but very small with not much storage (we were there for 5 nights)
2. The room doors are quite thin so any noise on the corridor could wake you up
3. There is a mini-bar, and snacks and a kettle but no free tea and coffee which we thought was a little odd when even a very basic Travel Lodge will have free tea and coffee.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onemanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

I recently organized a client event at the Ace Hotel, and had my team of 10 staying in the hotel for 4 nights, and then an event for 50 in the Liberty Hall.

Firstly, the hotel is cool. Everything they do is cool. Everything.

Secondly, and this is the best bit, I thought the staff would be painfully hip and aloof to a businessman like me. Well, they are very hip, but the service our team received was some of the best I have ever had in NYC (and I come here about 10 times a year and have stayed all over). Not only are they very helpful, they make it feel like it's a friend helping you out - there is never a hint that they might be after a tip, or that something might be a little trouble. In fact when I did tip them, especially the doormen, they actually looked surprised!

In addition, I was travelling with a 6 month old daughter, and they couldn't do enough to help out. The rooms didn't have a microwave, but they were more than happy to sterilize the bottles for us.

When we arrived on the Friday night, the lobby was JUMPING! It looked like a major event was happening. We asked the doorman what the event was, and he said, "It's just Friday night", The lobby is very much a hanging out place in the day, and happening place at night. It was busy all of the time.

We were on the 2nd floor at the front, and I was worried about the noise from the Lobby, but even our daughter didn't hear a thing. It is NYC so you can always here things going on outside. Actually, that's a point - the windows aren't great. Not the end of the world I suppose.

If you can I can strongly recommend room 214. Very spacious.

At the end of the day, if you like the corporate style of a Holiday Inn or a Mariott, then this isn't for you. It's very unique and very different. But if you like to feel you are in somewhere special and different, and yet you don't want to risk something unknown, then this is the place.

Easily the best hotel I've stayed in in NYC - and I've been in a lot.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeepinaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

We stayed at Ace for one night in January, and everything about the place was fantastic. Atmosphere is casual, but organized. Check in was smooth and the people working were upbeat and welcoming. Hotel lobby doubles as a bar/lounge that had a solid crowd as the night progressed. The rooms were also more than I expected. Decor in the room gave a modern, hipster vibe, which we loved. We stayed in a Small room with a king bed. The minibar and snacks were fully stocked, with a wide variety of snacks, liquors and juices. The bathroom was clean. Showers are on the smaller side, but the showerheads made up for the size. Great water pressure. Beds were the best part of the stay--SO COMFORTABLE! Also, we loved the environmentally-friendly aspects of the hotel, including the double flush toilets and the in-shower shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Hotel was in a great location if you want to be close to about everything. You're pretty much in between the east and west side, so walking is always an option. On the few occasions that we did hop in a cab, we were close enough that the fare never exceeded $8. Overall, this was a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttomczyszyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#163 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing