We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hotel Dripping With NYC Coolness”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #218 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Hotel Dripping With NYC Coolness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

The Ace Hotel is a hidden gem situated in a no-man's land in the shadow of the Empire State building. You walk past ethnic restaurants, import-export offices, Indian perfume shops and cheap jewelry stores and suddenly find yourself at the doors of this well preserved building.

Your eyes take just a moment to adjust to the dimly lit lobby. You are hit with trendy indie/jazzy/hip-hop music coming through an excellent sound system. The decor is tastefully eclectic, with lots of comfortable nooks and corners for chilling out with drinks or coffee. Hipsters, staff and young artists and professionals engage in conversation... and everybody looks cool in their own way. As soon as my wife and I walked into the lobby of the Ace, we knew it was a special place.

As we waited at the bar for our room to be readied, Sean the bartender gave us invaluable "insider" information about places to eat and hang out in around Manhattan and Brooklyn. All the staff we met were true individuals, helpful and accessible.

The Breslin restaurant at the hotel serves the best chips and Scotch eggs IN THE WORLD. If you like meat, especially pork in all its glory, you will not be disappointed by the Breslin. Excellently handled by its British chef.

There is a Stumpdown coffee shop where you are served unashamedly good, strong, aromatic coffee by aloof tattooed baristas who know their coffee well. A great place for your first caffeine injection of the day.

The room we stayed in was a "budget" room with a double bed, mini-fridge and en-suite bath. It was perfect for two people. Great view of the Empire State and 29th street from our window. The room was decorated and fitted with the basics but in such a way that was refreshingly clever, minimalist, stylish and utterly practical. A well thought-out concept which we truly appreciated.

We whole-heartedly recommend the Ace to those who enjoy hip, artsy, NYC chic. Not really a place for families with kids.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superluminous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    608
    184
    79
    40
See reviews for
187
534
205
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

We only booked this hotel because of an excellent online promotion. We weren't completely sure what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly from the moment we walked through the door.

The lobby was buzzing with lots of people, it was like walking into a bar lounge. Well there is a bar in the back. A little too noisy and busy for our tastes, so we didn't really hang out there. Seems like lots of locals hang out here.

We did book a small queen room and expected a small room, but our room was larger than expected. Even had a desk and chair. The styling was nicely done, but it may not be for everyone. This was totally our style and we loved it. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The only complaint about the room was the small window that faced inside, but I guess this is NYC and that is to be expected.

The gym is also funky and has lots of equipment. There is free internet which I clocked at 6mb up and down. We never had any issues with the AC and it even got up to 90F in the city while we were there. The TV is IP based, but we noticed some issues with the picture quality and the remote really sucks. The only other thing missing were printers for guests to use for printing out boarding passes, etc.

We loved the location and the style. Next time we are in NYC we'll be first looking for deals at the Ace Hotel. We may even try one of their other locations soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daymeeyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

a new, clean and cool hotel in a convenient location.
rooms are basic; having said that there was no desk or chair in the room, the washing sink was outside the bathroom and there was a disgusting smell of some weird food along the corridors all the time.
there is a coffee shop in the hotel and the guys working in that coffee shop are somewhat snobbish and like ignoring the customers to the extent possible.
if you can get a good deal stay at this hotel. otherwise noone would pay 239 bucks for a bunk bed !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fashionbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRozenveld, General Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Hi Friend,

Thanks for posting your review- I'm very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

It sounds like you were in one of our smaller Bunk Bed rooms which might not have the space to accommodate a desk. Our hotel has an array of rooms, because it's a restored 105 year old landmark building. Most of our rooms actually do have the space for a table or desk, so I apologize that yours didn't.

I'll also address your concerns with the team at Stumptown Coffee Shop. They're normally known for providing genuine North-West friendly service.

I hope you'll give us another chance to win you over, and if you have any questions, feel free to contact us.

Sincerely,

Jan @ ACE NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

From check in through check out we were really happy with our stay. Monica at the front desk did an excellent job of check in, giving us direction and answering all of our questions and needs. Steve took care of luggage, front door, taxis, etc... expediently and with a smile throughout our visit. The neighborhood was centrally located and an easy walk to the places that we wanted to go both north and south and there were always taxis available. The beds were extremely comfortable, loved the shower and really loved the surprises that the funky decor allowed. Great coffee and pastries at the coffee shop in the lobby, the room service was delicious and delivered by a most professional and friendly young lady and Sub No. 7, a new sub shop had really interesting and good sub combos. The lobby was always full and busy and noisy, but interesting, and we were challenged at all times of day to find a seat.The only complaint was a problem with tv stations working off and on for no reason. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travel42581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

We've been staying here for 10 nights, a long time for NYC and we also got married whilst staying at this hotel… not only did they not do anything at all, there have been continuous faults;
air-con didn't work
cold water in room didn't work
very noisy neighbour (they mustn't own whole building as there are a number of perminant apartments in building)
promises on booking within room not kept
problem with with tv

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

This is an alternative hotel. If your on hols with no kids book it. If you've kids and/or are on business then don't.

I like the hotel personally but the place would give you reasons nog to like it if you looked for them. The rooms are small but very cleverly laid out.

Lobby is full of apple mac surfers by day and cocktail drinkers by night.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevindublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

this is the first time i have ever felt an urge to review a hotel that i've stayed at.
usually, i travel, stay at the hotel, finish whatever business i have in the city and go back home.

there are many things that ace hotel has done that are good - the unique collaborations, the high value of design (both in their interior and branding), the merchandise, the partnerships, etc. all these, i'm sure you as a reader, would have already known.

but.. (i'm sure you knew this was coming.), i am very disappointed with ace hotel,
and let me illustrate a few reasons.

1) there are many defects and shortcomings in the rooms - the AC, the positioning of the power points, the extremely tiny bathroom, the drinks in the minibar was never replenished during my 7 day stay, the television remote control, the exorbitant room service, the clumsy shower installation... blah blah blah (you get the drift).

aside from that, yes - the interior designers Roman & Williams did a wonderful task in the selection of products and furnitures to be used in the room. the rooms is pretty, cool and very 'hipster' - or whatever term is used to the disillusioned group - who by the way, are not guests of the hotel - that spend hours sitting at the hotel lobby 'typing' on their macbooks... (which leads me to the 2nd point)

2) why the hell are there 2 guys standing in the front of the hotel "ushering" people in and out of the hotel?? i was asked on multiple occasion what the purpose of my visit, and when i replied i am a guest in the hotel - i was asked (in a bouncer-ish manner) to produce some form of proof, in this case, the hotel key card.

i can tell that they are placed there to 'manage' the amount of people who enter the lobby of the hotel - which houses a very popular cafe, restaurant and extremely overpopulated lobby sofas - by (once again) non-guests of the hotels - but seriously?

this is a hotel, not a club.

3) there are many more micro reasons why i didn't enjoy my stay... but i'm getting tired just writing so much.

my point is simple. if i pay to stay at a hotel, there are several basic needs that should be fulfilled. unfortunately, it seems that Ace Hotel (NY) would much prefer to be known as the new hotel place in the city - which we all know dies when the next hot trendy spot comes along.

my advise would be to stay at a more reliable hotel and just visit Ace Hotel, grab a coffee, occupy the lobby, eat at the restaurant, shop at opening ceremony, but forget about being a guest... it's pointless.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank iamahuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRozenveld, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Dear Friend,

I am glad to read the nice things you mentioned in your review, and really concerned about the reasons we disappointed you during your stay.
We aim to appeal to a broad spectrum of travelers, so we have some very luxurious large rooms and some small more affordable ones. Since the building is a Landmark built in 1904 it comes with some quirks. We love the history of the building and try to celebrate the imperfections. That said, your AC, the positioning of power strips, and the TV remote are things we can control and I sincerely apologize that they were not functioning properly. I am really embarrassed that your drinks weren’t replenished in 7 days, these issues definitely need to be addressed and improved.

In our lobby, we want to create a sense of community where anyone can come and feel welcome, and where travelers who are staying with us can interact with locals. The bar has become very popular (delicious cocktails) so in the evenings it can be quite crowded. We have the responsibility of ensuring everyone’s safety, which is why we need to have staff at the door during busy evenings. The door staff should not have spoken to you like bouncers, but as hosts, and this is something we have addressed.

I am sorry that we disappointed you during your trip. We are taking your concerns very seriously, and will review them with our staff.

We hope to have another chance to impress you.

sincerely,

the ACE NYC team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing