We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super style-y. Really nice staff. Nice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #219 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super style-y. Really nice staff. Nice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

Super style-y. Really nice staff. Nice comfy room. Big bathroom by nyc standards. Great room service breakfast. Awesomely comfortable bed. Didn't want to get out of it.

The Breslin restaurant and the bar in the lobby were packed and loud and pricey, but we parked ourselves on a sofa and enjoyed some tasty beers and people-watching.

It's definitely a happening place. Q-Tip was spinning in the basement on our first night there. The carefully curated shop downstairs had a great selection of interesting stuff, from Japanese pencils to german toy blocks to a selection of candies from around the world. Pricey, of course, but well-chosen.

Location is pretty good. Easy to get around.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaigeAllOvertheMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    608
    184
    79
    40
See reviews for
187
534
205
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

A new vintage hotel full of trendy youth from around the world. Good place to stay with friends. The lobby turn out to be a local popular bar with extraordinary people. The bar next door serves good food.
Despite the fact that the room was small and has no view, there were lots of cool spoof things like magnits for a maid, refrigerator was hidden into a black case that is basically useing for tthe ech equipment etc.
Good location - Manhattan- very close to Broadway, Macy's, 5th ave.
Not much expensive.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesnushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stayed here for a week during April, 2010. We got a special discount rate; with that and its location we decided to take the chance. The location is not in a tourist area, being in the wholesale/flower district, but we felt safe there.

We were concerned it would be more hostel than hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a point of view, and carries that out in the lobby, check-in, rooms, even the public restrooms. One might describe it as “hip” but this 50-year old couple didn’t feel out of place.

The lobby does get quite loud in the evenings, and the restaurant (The Breslin) was too expensive for our wallets. It gets a bit of a “nightclub” feel, with beautiful 20/30-somethings inhabiting the lobby to standing room only. The noise stays out of the rooms, however. We got such a good rate we saw past it.

The rooms are small (typical of New York), but interestingly appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The TV system was slow to respond to the remote’s commands, an annoyance. The bathroom was nice. A long desk attached to the wall was the only major furniture. One could call the look post-industrial.

Once we got used to the vibe of the place we felt at home. It is one short block away from a subway station, though food is only obtained by walking one long block east or west. It was very convenient to hop on the subway to get where we were going or make a subway connection.

If we every come back to New York we will seriously consider the Ace, and recommend it. Older travelers should consider the vibrant youthful feel the hotel gives though; it might not be for everyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mondokj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

This hotel is great and I would definitely consider it for another NYC visit, the room we had was small yet modern, fridge was full of goodies, turn dow service on time everyday!
The location is also great, close to subway and local restaurants + shopping.

The ONLY thing I could think of that I didn't like (and it's not the hotel's fault) is that 29th street could be noisy at ANY time of night.....I happened to treat the noise as "typical NYC sounds" and did not have any problems sleeping.

The bed and shower were out of this world, stumptown coffee downstairs, great bar, this place is worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominicanDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

I am a very Picky Traveller and I absolutely loved this hotel. The lobby is beyond cool and every Staff Member I encountered was great. Many of Them even remembered Our names-They were like friends. The bed was off the hook comfortable and the room was beautiful, very clean and perfectly maintained. I am very noise sensitive and the room was absolutely quiet. It was hot in New York and the A/C worked great. The shower and bath products were awesome-like being at a spa. We were in a Small King and it was very spacious. Do Yourself a favor-STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 13 May 2010
Wow- the headline alone- is SO sweet!

thank you so much for your review, and we hope to see you back soon.

xoxo,

all your friends at ACE NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

From the moment, my friends and I turned up we thought the Ace was great, really friendly ( if a little disorganised on reception) staff who quite happily upgraded us to a larger room on a higher floor (10th) just because I said it was my first time in New York and asked what they could do for us.
Room was large and airy with a great view of ESU, corridor was very noisy one night, but I was too drunk to really mind. Room had it's own Smeg fridge and record player which was funky. Nice and central as well. If you get the chance I would recommend any visitors to NY get the N train out to Coney Island (40mins) and go to the side show and Shoot the freak, as these were brilliant, plus have a go on the iconic Ferris Wheel.
One previous reviewer mentioned the only thing missing was a printer to print out boarding passes, well if you ask nicely the reception staff let you jump behind their desk and check-in and print from there (plus confuse other guests with your broad scouse accent if you like). Overall had a great time in NY and Ace was a good base to stay in at a reasonable cost on the Travelzoo deal. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee87London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, 13 May 2010
Hi Friend!
Thanks for the compliments. We are really happy that you stayed with us on your first-time NYC visit, and that you had a good trip.
I hope you'll come back to stay with us every time!

Sincerely,

Your friends @ ACE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

We were first time in New York and stayed here. Staff was very friendly and helpful, hotel was cool, its easy to walk, take taxi or use subway from or to there. We love the place. If all the shops and stores near the hotel would be like the two which are in the hotel, I would give 5 to the location instead of 4.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samfellowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing