We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and comfortable, great place!”
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #212 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stylish and comfortable, great place!”
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed for a week and booked a 'Small King' room (with a promo code). The hotel was creative and quirky with an old skool flavour with great attention to detail right down to the clothes hangers.

The room was a good size with a huge bed! The room consisted of a Smeg fridge which was very well stocked up, TV, Radio with ipod connector, kettle, mugs (but no tea bags or coffee so you may want to bring your own), hairdryer, bathrobes, aircon. The bathroom had lovely large bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. Maids came everyday to change towels etc. There was imacs and ice machines on alternative floors.

The lobby was buzzing with a good atmosphere, great coffee shop too! Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlbell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    622
    191
    81
    41
See reviews for
191
542
206
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I took my 12 year old son to NYC for the first time. When the cab dropped us off at the Ace and he saw the lobby and room he said, I want to live in New York!". I spend a couple of weeks a year in New York and have never felt more at home than at the Ace. Stylish and clean. The people that work their are very cool, and nice. And the kind of people that hang out and stay their are diverse and low key.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We stayed at The Ace Hotel in May 2010 for 5 nights and LOVED it! We had our two kids with us (5 and 4) and were very pleased with the size of the room (a medium double double), how quiet it was (our room was facing the air shaft), the fantastic internet facilities (Free WiFi) and how friendly and helpful the staff was. Staff were always ready to open doors for us as we pushed strollers through, or hail a cab for us. The cleaners did an impeccable job everyday.

Being designers, the room and hotels quirky and funky aesthetics were perfectly suited to us. Beautiful artwork and intricate designs and decorations in every little nook and cranny. The bar was always buzzing after sundown and the Stumptown Coffee shop (connected to the lobby) was a very convenient stop for a quick yummy breakfast. Also located off the lobby is The Bresin- a restaurant fashioned like a English gastro-pub - wonderful food there too.

Located in Midtown (the Flatiron District), we found subways close by and Times Square to be a short 10minute stroll away. Madison Square Park is also nearby and lots of fun fun for the kids.

The room had an iron, kettle, hair dryer, fridge, TV and guitar! Small bathroom but excellent water pressure and ample toiletries (Shampoo, Conditioner and Body Wash) supplied.

The only thing we missed was a small stash of tea or coffee. The kettle and mugs were provided but a teabag or two or a voucher for the coffee store downstairs would have been brilliant. There are lots of stores near by that will help you stock up though.

I'd love to visit The Ace again- we booked it based on the reviews from this site and were so happy with our choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NishaAgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Best prices I have seen in quite a while for a clean and comfortable hotel in NYC. Decor is black and white, sort of post-modern neoindustrial. Not in the middle of anything in particular, but everything in Manhattan is convenient. Annoyances include window shades that don't cut out much light (bring your sleeping mask to sleep in), only one real sitting chair in a good sized room (maybe they don't expect couples to be sitting around the room?), free wi-fi that only worked intermittently, and a hot water pot and cups but no coffee. No fatal flaws, and I would return at the right price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UCLASteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I love the Ace Hotel. A lot. It reeks of modern sophistication and cool.

Stayed for a week, they upgraded our room upon arrival, even though we booked through a discount site. The room was much more spacious than I anticipated, we were on the 12th floor facing Broadway. Room was fully stocked with high end toilettries, super comfy Wings + Horn robes (which can be purchased at the front desk) and also included a full size SMEG fridge. The bed was very comfortable, the linens soft and the overall design of the room very cool. Interior design of entire hotel done by Roman + Williams. The bathroom was small, which is to be expected in NY. Shower stall with complimentary Rudy's products was great. Flat screen TV has about 30 channels and in room movie rentals.

The hotel staff were friendly and nice, always willing to help. The lobby basically turns into a bar at night, and serves as an overflow for restaurant The Breslin. The lobby is busy and can be noisy but it doesn't carry into the upper floors. Stumptown coffee is incredible, their lattes are delicious. And the fact that Opening Ceremony and Project No. 8 up the hipster factor.

The surrounding neighbourhood is still up and coming, Broadway is a bit less desirable but you can take 5th Avenue North/South to get to where you are going. Subway stops are conveniently located at 28th and Broadway running up and downtown. Super close walk to tourist attractions like Times Square and The Empire State Building (if that's your thing). Close to Washington Square Park (Shake Shack!) and decent shopping in Soho/Noho).

Overall, it was the best hotel experience we have ever had. Will definitely stay at the Ace in NYC again and if given the chance, will stay at their other locations.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoegazer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Super style-y. Really nice staff. Nice comfy room. Big bathroom by nyc standards. Great room service breakfast. Awesomely comfortable bed. Didn't want to get out of it.

The Breslin restaurant and the bar in the lobby were packed and loud and pricey, but we parked ourselves on a sofa and enjoyed some tasty beers and people-watching.

It's definitely a happening place. Q-Tip was spinning in the basement on our first night there. The carefully curated shop downstairs had a great selection of interesting stuff, from Japanese pencils to german toy blocks to a selection of candies from around the world. Pricey, of course, but well-chosen.

Location is pretty good. Easy to get around.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaigeAllOvertheMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

A new vintage hotel full of trendy youth from around the world. Good place to stay with friends. The lobby turn out to be a local popular bar with extraordinary people. The bar next door serves good food.
Despite the fact that the room was small and has no view, there were lots of cool spoof things like magnits for a maid, refrigerator was hidden into a black case that is basically useing for tthe ech equipment etc.
Good location - Manhattan- very close to Broadway, Macy's, 5th ave.
Not much expensive.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesnushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#49 of 466 in New York City
825 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 466 in New York City
461 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#100 of 466 in New York City
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#141 of 466 in New York City
2,683 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#308 of 466 in New York City
665 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 466 in New York City
3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing