We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Event cancelled”

City Food Tours and Events
Book In Advance
More Info
US$61.50*
and up
New York City Cocktail Tour
Ranked #217 of 620 Tours in New York City
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The unique concept behind City Food Tours was developed in New York City when Joyce Weinberg, a seasoned food industry professional with more than 20 years of experience, wanted to share her passion for fine foods. From managing Fortune 500 confectionery businesses, to buying gourmet chocolates for Bloomingdales, she's done it all. Compared to other existing New York food tours that focus on more common foods, CFT introduces tour guests to a vast offering of high-quality, artisanal foods and encourage them to support local specialty stores, farmers, and sustainable agriculture. We help people realize that there's a lot more out there than the processed foods they encounter in mega-marts.
Massachusetts, USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Event cancelled”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I'm suprised this company contacted me and asked me to post a review, since they cancelled our tour the day before it was supposed to happen. It was very disappointing.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Sooz830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    30
    10
    6
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ever our picky eater loved it!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We did the East Village walking tour. Our guide was very accommodating for our younger son. We ate so many hidden treasures and learned interesting facts about the area. I would highly recommend their tours!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnneM1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Downtown New York Chocolate, Dessert & Wine Tour NOT a wine tour”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I went on this tour April 26th. The desserts and chocolate were delicious. Erik did a great job as the tour guide. However, we only had 2 very small tastings of wine. This should NOT be advertised as a wine tour! We were really disappointed with the mis-advertisement. With what we paid, we should have received at least a glass of the white and glass of the red wine to accompany the cheese at the end of the tour. If you are expecting more than a very small tasting of 2 wines, DO NOT book this tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityFoodTours, General Manager at City Food Tours and Events, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We’re sorry that you did not get enough wine! We buy enough wine for everyone to have at least 6 oz (a glass), and we ordered 2+ bottles for 9 people. We passed your feedback on to the guide, and he’ll make sure everyone gets enough in the future – we aim to please on all of our tours and are always happy to buy another bottle as needed. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome and Delicious”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Amanda was awesome! A very pleasant and well-planned tour! (I did appreciate that the sit-down places came all at the end just when we were getting tired, the "courses" were separated with historical sites so we could build up an appetite for the next round) the variety was awesome and Amanda was very knowledgeable about the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kathleencaliway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
2 reviews
“Walking Food Tour; Ethnic foods and history in NOLITO”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We did one of your private tours and it was great! Joyce Weinberg, the owner, set it up and she did a nice job finding a tour that would fit our time schedule and was what we wanted. And we hard to please!! More food than we could eat, cool small locally owned places that you would not even know is some cases were even there had our guide not pointed them out to us! We had Wendy as our guide and she was also great! Answered our questions, told us lots of cool things about the NOLITO area and surrounding areas and culture that none of us knew and two of us have to been to NYC many times. It was great to do something new and different. We felt safe, not rushed and everyone we met was friendly. 8 stops in all and each one very unique from the one(s) before. Thanks for making our trip so memorable! We will use them again!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Food Tours and Events also viewed

 

Been to City Food Tours and Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing