We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #5 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Worthy of its wonderful reviews.
Highly recommended, relaxing, wonderful staff and best nights sleep ever!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
93
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Our 3-day stay at the Mount Morris House was the crowning act in a holiday that had to then consisted of the maiden voyage of Cunard's Queen Elizabeth, in company with the Queen Victoria, from Southampton, England to New York. From the outset Vasilis proved a most welcoming and gracious host, as did his partner Dimitri, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our room overlooked the park on the first floor and was exquisitely perfect, from its beautiful, original wood panelling, its marble tiled bathroom, its 2 sofas and many comfortable chairs, lovely carpets and other antiques to its double bed, in its own luxuriously draped-off annex and with an almost indescribably comfortable mattress which somehow managed to combine the right degree of softness with suitable support. However, this was no museum as the room came equiped with WiFi broadband internet access plus state of the art HD flatscreen televsion and multi-channel cable.

Downstairs was equally delightful with a large lounge (where we forget to sign the visitors' book!) and separate dining room, both full of beautifully crafted antique furniture and other decorative items. Breafast was taken en famile around a large mahogany dining table and, unsurprisingly, was to the same high standard: lovely selections of fresh fruit, freshly made beverages and juices, and a daily treat - one day a lovely omelette and grilled bacon, another day smoked salmon and cream cheese with toasted bagels.

And, as others have noted, although situated off 120th Street in Harlem, these days this is a charming, entirely safe and friendly neighbourhood, overlooking Mount Morris Park itself yet surprisingly easy for both bus (immediately outside!) and subway (5 minutes walk away).

In finishing this review we might add that we travelled with 32 friends onboard the Queen Elizabeth, many of whom were also staying in town for a few days - but downtown in a variety of pupportedly 4 and even 5 star hotels. Mount Morris House beat all on size of room, value, comfort and welcome!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricklt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I cannot really add anything more to what everyone else has said already, so will simply say a huge thank you to Vasili for being such a gracious, helpful, lovely host, for whom nothing was too much trouble, thank you for making our first trip to the USA for our 30th wedding anniversary a very special time for us. Everything was perfect. Why would anyone want to stay in a small box in an impersonal hotel when an easy 15 mins subway ride from Times Square and you could be made to feel like one of the family in Vasili and Dimitri's wonderfully elegant home. We will return to NYC one day and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Thank you both.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiketoTravel115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

This was my family's first "Destination Christmas" and I picked the perfect place for it at Mount Morris House, managed by two of the best hosts you will ever find: Vasili and Dimitri, who have created a heavenly spot of Greek hospitality north of Central Park. Situated in a lovely, quiet neighborhood, overlooking the historic Mount Morris Park and just a block off of Lennox Avenue, Mount Morris House is a great place to feel truly "at home" in Manhattan. With the charm of the gorgeously restored (and suitably updated) brownstone in an area of Manhattan that has so many interesting spots to discover and yet feels so removed from the manic pace of the rest of the city, Mount Morris House is a perfect base for an itinerary that includes the major museums, Theater, Lincoln Center and all the great shopping that NYC has to offer. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished with antiques and art that reflects the discerning taste of owners Dimitri and Vasili. The beds are comfortable and the fine linens divine, with the modern comforts of DVD players, flat screen TVs and free wifi. There is a well stocked Butler's pantry for the guests to use right off of the dining room where delicious breakfasts were served and offered the opportunity to meet the other house guests (quite a nice international group). One of the best parts of the house is the large comfortable parlor that doubles as a reading room, and for the occasion was decorated with a gorgeous Christmas tree, hung with lovingly collected ornaments. One of my fondest memories is spreading out around the softly lit Christmas tree with my daughter, wrapping presents for my grandchildren's Christmas morning festivities. What other place and hosts would make you feel so at home?

Transportation is easy from Mount Morris House: the bus that stops directly in front of the house takes you right down 5th Avenue and navigating the subway from Lennox Avenue is a breeze. Vasili will fill you in on the best restaurants within walking distance and is always ready with advice and answers to your questions. The neighborhood is great and here I must emphasize how safe and secure it is. We didn't have a single unpleasant experience; the neighborhood restauranteurs and shopkeepers were friendly and spoke warmly of "the Greeks" at Mount Morris House. We sampled three of Vasili's restaurant suggestions and they were each spot on. We enjoyed the simple soul food (and MASSIVE portions) of Amy Ruths; the comprehensive menu of Italian cuisine at Gran Piatto d'Oro; but most of all, the Mediterranean warmth, good food and hospitality of Sette Pani (which we liked so much we visited twice). Our last afternoon in NYC was when the big blizzard hit and after spending the morning at the Met, Sette Pani was the perfect place to drop in for a bowl of rustic corn chowder and juicy burgers before returning to the warmth and welcoming ambiance of Mount Morris House.

I can't recommend Mount Morris House enough for the discerning traveler who wants an alternative to the impersonal and pricey hotels around mid-town and Times Square. I have found my "home away from home" in NYC at Mount Morris House and look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisakclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We felt at home in the cosy Mount Morris House in Harlem. The rooms are beautiful and huge, breakfast is delicious (nothing more to say) and Vasili is so welcoming that you just don't want to leave again. We had a perfect stay there and we would recommend everybody to go there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorrisa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vendee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We arrived early at Mount Morris in our hire car, and from that moment Vasilis made our first visit to New York a wonderful experience. We parked close by, checked in, our luggage was taken in hand and he explained the best route to drop off the car. When we returned late at night after our first exploration of the city, we found a spacious, elegantly furnished and quiet room. We slept soundly and went down to breakfast -which varied every day, and was always plentiful, including fresh fruit and Greek savouries and pastries. Vasilis was on hand with information and advice, and at the end of our stay organised a private hire car for our trip to the airport.
While Mount Morris is a little distant from central New York, the transport links are quick and easy, and it was a pleasure to return to this tranquil, leafy neighbourhood to wind down at the end of a hectic day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2010

My friend and I received a truly warm welcome, gracious hospitality throughout out 3 day stay,personal interest from Vasili, the owner, in our comfort and our overall sense of feeling at home, in a magnificent home in the historic district of East HArlem - no safety/security issues in the neighborhood - I want the world to know we enjoyed a marvelous time, will be back, have alerted my friends to it, and remember the delicious breakfasts of fresh-baked Greek pastries, fruits, yogurt, to say nothing of salmon one morning! Enjoyed morning chats with other guests from Australia to Germany. Best price value fo New York City.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,978 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 75 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#3 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Property: Mount Morris House
Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027-6316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing