We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #3 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

From our first meeting with Vassili after we arrived at Mount Morris Guest House we really felt at home in this Brownstone in Harlem, New York. Staying there is the perfect antidote to the bustle of downtown Manhattan as it is in a fairly quiet residential street but with the hustle and bustle of Harlem just around the corner. It was an interesting area to stay in, with plenty of reasonably priced delis and cafés to choose from, plus music venues for an evening out.

It was really like staying with friends or family, the house was well decorated with much thought put into the décor, including high quality bed linen and beds. Help and advice was on hand if you needed it and the complimentary hot drinks, fresh fruit and biscuits were very welcome on our return from a packed day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Perfect for travelling with friends who need a single room, the terracotta suite was perfect for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jools0558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We all now what hotels are like; no matter how many stars you are just another face in the crowd. At Mount Morris House there is this personal touch, that make you feel special and at home. Courtesy, charm and convenience come to my mind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This was our first trip to New York (We are from England) and I don't think we could of chosen better. The location was excellent and the building an interesting typical Manhattan brown house which was spacious and impeccably decorated and furnished. Our suite and the whole building was spotless and within a short distance of subway trains and busses that made moving about to any destination in the city really easy and very reasonably priced. The breakfasts were simply supurb and the hosts attention to detail awesome. We spent ten days during December 2011 and I can personally recommend this establishment with absolute assurance that anyone staying there would be impressed. Thank you Vasili and Demitri you were in a large part responsible for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable. We hope to visit again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank alexander-v-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stayed with friends at Mt Morris House for 6 nights over Christmas. I think it is a wonderful choice. We had the entire topv floor loft area and it was very comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic and the hosts, Vasily and Diomitri were unobtrustive but friendly and helpful. They were particularly thoughtful as one of our group was celebrating a birthday and they arranged two bottles of champagne and a birthday cake to be provided free! The public transport options are excellent - bus outside the door to take you up 5th avenue and the subway only a 5-10 minute walk away.

The guesthouse is situated in Harlem - very safe with a nice park across the street. Free Wi-fi access and a very inexpensiive laundry only 5 mins away although the house does have washing machine and dryer. I would highly recommend this accommodation and will come again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I have stayed in several B&B’s over the last 7 years in Manhattan but I consider
Mt Morris House the best find and experience for too many reasons to list here.
If you appreciate turn of the19th-20th century brownstones, i.e.historical architecture, nationally preserved neighborhoods, quiet, feels-like-I live-here, then Mt Morris House is it.
I have stayed in inns in Chelsea, West Village,on the West Side, and in Brooklyn over the last 7 years during my visits to NYC.
Mt Morris House is a treasure and the best find of all. I need go no further in search.
I am grateful to Vasili and Dimitri for preserving it . They are very warm and helpful to their guests, most courteous, and genuinely sincere hosts.
Harlem is an amazing culturally vibrant niche with it’s own historical acclaim. Yet with a swift cab ride, subway or bus you are a short distance from Midtown, East or West side and Times Square.
Harlem with all it’s cultural offerings ( Hudson River parkway walk for long stretching walks in lieu of transit to Midtown in a woodsy setting) also has sweet bistros and cafes in the neighborhood within walking distance and the newly acclaimed Red Rooster restaurant. (The Apollo Theatre / amateur night mid week!) All not to be missed.
I echo all 5 star posts of satisfaction previously posted on Trip Advisor.
Less than 30 min drive from La Guardia Airport, one arrives at Mt Morris House feeling back home again, even if you are from California but need that NYC culture rush from time to time.
Of course, my husband and I have already booked to return this Spring 2012 !
Diana Hall
California

Room Tip: Stayed in Sage but all rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed 6 nights in August 2011. Could not fault the premises,breakfasts or the hospitality in any way. The bus to downtown stopped at the front door. There was also some excellent eateries one block away. We would highly recommend Mount Morris House to couples or families as the place to stay in New York [Manhattan]

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed in Jade room for 7 nights in November 2011. Mount Morris House is a beautifully restored brownstone house in a great place of Manhattan (Harlem, adjacent to Mount Morris park).

First location. Located in Harlem this place is not central. However, its connections to downtown NYC are great. There is a bus just outside the house that takes you all the way down the 5th avenue (only a short ride to museum mile). There are two nearby subway lines. Closer 2/3 (direct to TImes square and Brooklyn) and a few meters more to 4/5/6 (direct to Grand central and ferry in the south). Note that 2/3 and 4/5 subways are express lines, and they are really quick when going downtown (it takes only around 15-20 minutes to Times Square). The district itself feels safe, and we didn't have any problems. Also, the house is located only 11 blocks away from the Central Park. There are also some very nice (and also popular) restaurants around. Taxi from airport costs 45 USD + 7 USD tolls (6.5 + 0.5) + tip. One can also use a public transport, it takes around 1h40-1h50 with Skytrain + line A to 125th street (only 7,25 USD or 5 USD + weekly metro card).

As mentioned before, house is beautifully restored in victorian style. Rooms are huge - at least our Jade room was, also well decorated with some nice touches. Bathroom is also big, there is also a bathtub. I think the size both the room and bathroom are big for the NYC standard. Rooms are comfortable (enough place to put away your luggage), clean and very quiet during the night. Wireless internet access is free, there is also a large LCD TV with cable TV.

Brekafast is in a beautiful dining room downstairs, all the guests share the same table (where conversations become interesting). Breakfast is good, served every day at 8:30am (i would prefer it earlier - practical reason - interesting discussions around the breakfast table can get long, and times fly fast in NYC), there is lots of variety, fruits are a bonus.

Owners are friendly, knowledgable about New york and history and very helpful. Basically, their ability to renovate the house and their hospitality make this B&B stand out above other.

To sum it up. We had a great stay in this superb B&B and would be glad to return someday. Yes, price per night is high (also depends on a season), but much less than you would pay in a hotel with similar luxury - where room would almost certainly be smaller. Value is therefore good in otherwise very expensive city to stay.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank matevzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#140 of 470 in New York City
2,450 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#62 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 470 in New York City
7,393 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 78 in New York City
616 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#30 of 78 in New York City
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027-6316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £94 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing