We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further than Mount Morris House”
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #5 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Look no further than Mount Morris House”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Chosen for its trip advisor ratings, Mount Morris House lived up to the excellent reviews. We were in the Sage room on the first floor, beautifully appointed with large double bed and huge marble bathroom. This is one of the cooler, quieter rooms, so a super choice for the high season. The open library on the ground floor is a spectacular room which provided a delightful space one evening whilst sheltering from the storm. European visitors should understand that the Mount Morris is more 'serviced rooms' than bed and breakfast. Breakfast (and other meals) can be taken at one of the local coffee shops or cafés - although fresh coffee, a wide range of tea and biscuits are always available in the galley kitchen. Vasili was a charming and helpful host, discrete but available if needed. Harlem proved to be fascinating. We followed the house suggestions and visited 'Il Cafe Latte' for breakfast, with highlights at the 'Red Rooster' and 'Lenox Lounge'. Internet access was patchy away from the library, and during our stay access to the dining room (shown in the visitors' gallery) was not available for guests. But for anyone wanting a touch of luxury, style and comfort in a fascinating location with a great host, look no further than the Mount Morris House.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are cooler and quieter. Email Vasili to get advice on your choice. Note: Mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephenjtwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
93
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at Mount Morris House for 13 nights (our entire stay in New York). The furnishings, beds, cleanliness and our host were great. For the first week we were in a lovely room on the first floor, complete with marble floored bathroom. It was very spacious and beautifully set up. In our second week we were moved up to The Loft, a climb up 3 flights of stairs. This room was huge, and has a well equipped kitchen. However it was a little hotter and noisier. It would be great for a family. The coffee and biscotti in the kitchen were lovely. The subway was a short walk away and the bus nearly outside the door. It was fascinating to stay in Harlem and soak up a bit of the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbourneJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodacre, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I couldn't believe my eyes when we arrived at the Mount Morris House. This exquisite brownstone is beautifully decorated, clean and artful. We felt taken care of. The host was unobtrusive but extremely helpful. The loft is an extraordinary space for New York, huge, beautiful with lovely art and a spacious feel. We got to know the neighborhood which is quite nice with a great coffee shop around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacka315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We enjoyed very much staying in Mount Morris House. It was a very comfortable, quiet, and peaceful place to return after our exhausting explorations of the City. Combined with the great hospitality of the hosts and the high quality and spaciousness of our suite, we felt that we got a great value for our money too. If you are a history fan and want to know more on New York history and architecture, don't hesitate to ask the host. He is a history professor and a fountain of information on old and new New York!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed at Mount Morris for 9 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the property and its location. Met on arrival by very pleasant host Vasili and shown to a capacious street-facing bedroom with a large dressing room and excellent bathroom. The lovely brownstone building is in a quiet location but is just around the corner from the heart of Harlem with its vibrant shopping centre, including some interesting cafes and restaurants. The subway was a short walk from the house and we enjoyed travelling into the city everyday but were always pleased to return to our pleasant retreat at night. Would definitely recommend this property as a great alternative to the 'impersonal' hotel-type accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Mount Morris House is one of the few hotels where the real-life appearance of the rooms surpasses the website photos. My room, "Sage", was huge, charmingly decorated, and very comfortable. The bathroom has a huge bathtub and a separate large shower unit. The front lounge is breathtaking, with vintage lamps and shelves full of books.
Location is very convenient--lots of good restaurants nearby, walk to Central Park, just a few stops on the subway from all the attractions. And Harlem itself is amazing.
But what made my stay the most memorable was the kindness of Vasili, the owner, who found a room for me when I arrived 1 day earlier than my reservation--I had forgotten that I was going back over the International Date Line. Not many hoteliers would have gone to such lengths to help a guest rectify her own mistake.
Don't have my photos on this computer, but will be adding some of my own. Can't say enough good things about Mount Morris House.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDiazepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Mount Morris House B&B quiet immaculately clean and private. Not a bad word to say and will definitely be returning when back in New York. Location was convenient and host very pleasant gentleman. We loved staying in the loft!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HighStandards2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4,846 reviews
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#236 of 467 in New York City
705 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
3,510 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#3 of 77 in New York City
611 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#21 of 77 in New York City
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Property: Mount Morris House
Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027-6316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing