We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget NY hotels, stay here!”
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #3 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Mount Morris House is a wonderful place to stay if you want somewhere to relax and feel at home at the end of a long day on the tourist trail. If you want character and history, rather than a soulless tower-block hotel, then this is the perfect place. Dimitri is a wonderful host - charming and always helpful - as well as very entertaining! We were three women friends on a weekend trip to celebrate a significant birthday for one of us. We stayed in the Terracotta Suite (overlooking the park) which was spacious with plenty of storage, a good-sized shower and very comfortable beds. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and there is a daily maid service. The rooms are eclectically furnished and have interesting pictures and pieces (some antique) in them collected over the years by the owners. Although they don't do breakfast any more, tea, coffee, water and cake are freely available in the kitchen, as is access to a refrigerator. It is quiet at night here, although there is a bit of traffic noise in the early mornings. As this is an historic brownstone house, be aware that there are quite a number of steps up to the front door which could be challenging for those with less mobility. If we come back to New York, we'll definitely be staying here again! Transport links (bus and subway) are nearby and pretty efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter and room at the front, overlooking the park, are sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B in May 2013. We chose this B&B for the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and they turned out to be really true! It was really wonderful! The house is beautifully decorated with lovely well-chosen furniture, beautiful wooden stairs, a nice kitchen, free WIFI etc.
We stayed at the Jade-suite, which was large and perfectly clean, the bed was really comfortable and ensured a good night's rest. It is a very quiet place to stay, so no annoying noise! It is easily accessible and you are in downtown Manhattan in about 15 minutes.
Owner Dimitri is a very nice gentleman, adding a personal touch to his lovely house, you really feel at home here, we can honestly recommend this to anyone who is planning a trip to NY!
Dimitri, thank you!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floortjedegroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

A brief walk from the 2 & 3 Metro Lines (@125th St), and a longer walk from the 4,5,6 Lines (also @ 125th St), it faces east towards Marcus Gravey Park in Harlem. That open space is great for those who like to wake up to natural light in the mornings.

Dimitri, the owner, is super friendly and helpful in helping you get setup and for your departure.
My trip was very last minute, and even mediocre hotels in Manhattan are crazy expensive, so I decided to look for alternatives.

It was just me for 3 nights, but Dimitri didn't put me in a smaller room, as he had a larger one available.

The walk from the Metro stops can be a bit unnerving, especially if you're travelling late at night, but that can be said for any big city.

Rain poured on one of the days I was in the city, but there were umbrellas handy just for that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shwamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I can't say enough good things about Mount Morris House - but let me try. Two friends and I met in New York April 26-May 5 for our semi-annual girls' week. Mount Morris House is a beutiful brownstone in a gorgeous area. We had the Terracotta Suite, which looked across the street at Marcus Garvey Park. The woodwork and finishes throughout the house are just spectacular; the chandeliers are extraordinary, and it is magnificently furnished and decorated perfectly for this historic home. Demitri is an excellent host and made us feel right at home. The room was lovely in every way, and we had so much space with the dressing room and large bathroom with rainfall showerhead..

The neighborhood has everything you would want - a wonderful coffee shop for my caramel latte's just two blocks away. There is a lot of great shopping just three blocks away on 125th Street, as well as a post office for shipping home dirty clothes when your purchases don't fit in your suitcase. There are some wine shops close by, but my favorite was on W 116th, where we found the best wine ever! Lots of nice shops throughout the neighborhood. And not to mention the wonderful selection of restaurants, even Sylvia's, which had food that exceeded expectations.

Within a few blocks you will find very easy access to subway lines on both the westside and eastside; on the express lines, you are just a few stops to the Upper West or Upper East sides, or to midtown, and an easy ride to Battery Park or Brooklyn. An easy trip up to the NY Botanical Gardens in the Bronx! Very convenient to bus routes as well as subways - the #1 runs right in front of the house, and the #7 stops just three blocks away, if you prefer the bus to subways.

Great proximity to many parks - What a great location! . As I mentioned, Marcus Garvey Park across the street was new for me, and I loved it. I also walked from the hotel to High Bridge Park, Morningside Park, Central Park, and Riverside Park. Such a quiet and perfect location in every way - . But me, I liked the walking. The last day, I walked from the hotel to Penn Station to catch the train to JFK - it might be a bit far for some, but it was a perfect day for walking, and took less than two hours. Of course, you can always get a cab, that's just not the way I travel.

I highly recommend Mount Morris House - but I am hoping that there will be a room available for our next trip in September! Enjoy!! Chissis from San Diego

Room Tip: We stayed in the Terracotta Suite on the 2nd floor, but I don't think there's a bad room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chissis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

If you are looking for a different perspective of NYC this Inn is the perfect choice. Stepping into the house takes guests back to the late 1800s when it was built. The owner, Dimitri is charming, helpful and happy to share his knowledge of the history his home and neighborhood. We stayed in the Sage room which is massive by NYC standards. Highly recommend this room. Parking is on the street and free. Every couple of days, cars need to be moved across the street to allow for street cleaning, but this wasn't a problem at all. The inn is just over a 5 minute walk to several subway lines that take you through mid-town, all the way to Brooklyn and beyond. Restaurants and bars are 5-10 minutes away and Central Park is a 10-15 minute walk. We walked everywhere at all times of the day and into early morning hours and felt safe thanks to Harlem residents who were always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We began looking for somewhere to stay in NYC, but the hotels were all really expensive, so we decided to look slightly further afield and looked at Apartments etc, and we came across Mount Morris House! It looked amazing and when we read the reviews on Trip Advisor we were in no doubt that this was the place for us. We booked and were definitely not disappointed at all. The house was restored to a really high standard and it was like stepping back in time, the Landlord definitely has an eye for detail and design. We stayed in The Sage Room and it was huge!! The bed was really comfortable and the Drench Shower was fantastic! We were amazed at how quiet the room was, as there is no significant traffic that goes past the house, so we could have the windows open and still sleep peacefully. There was reliable Wifi which is always a bonus and meant that we could easily keep in touch with our family at home. If there were a negative, the view wasn't great, but really it didn't matter at all. The Landlord was incredibly helpful and friendly and helped us organise our car to the Airport at the end of our stay along with other things. There isn't any breakfast these days, but there are always fresh cakes and cookies available and a kitchen to make teas and coffees. We loved being out in Harlem as we got to see a very different side to NY, we felt safe and there were some great shops and restaurants nearby. We thoroughly recommend Mount Morris House, it is a gem within the metropolis of the fantastic New York City.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia_Mc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The rooms are spacious and inviting. Great old Brownstone We felt totally safe In South Harlem . This was our second stay and will stay again. Weekends fill up fast. Very reasonable. Their delicious breakfast has been discontinued - sad.

Room Tip: We just stayed in the Sage room, the original Master bedroom and liked it very much. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 469 in New York City
2,444 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#62 of 469 in New York City
3,729 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 79 in New York City
616 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#28 of 79 in New York City
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £94 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing