We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Friendly Home in Harlem”
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #3 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we discovered the home is exactly as portrayed on their website. Vasili greeted us warmly and gave a tour of the facilities, then showed us to our gorgeous accommodations. Our room was delightfully furnished with period furniture that was also very comfortable. The room was spacious with bay windows and a fireplace with the original glass tile mantel. The bath contained a deep soaking tub and large shower. All the amenities were provided. In the common kitchen, coffee, several teas, and delicious banana bread and brownies were available. It was easy to get to the subway system as the home is situated in between the 116th and 125th stops. We were able to walk to the Appolo Theater and the Cotton Club. Dimitri and Vasili provided lots of information on transportation, restaurants, and nightlife in the area. We ended our stay with a wonderful visit with Dimitri and Vasili and got to know more about them and the history of the home. We felt as if we had been long time friends. We will certainly stay in contact with them and return to visit, as well as tell others what a wonderful place this is to stay in New York City.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

A brilliant and intriguing place to stay in NY. Harlem has its own attractions,eating places like Cafe des Ambassades for breakfast and the Red Rooster bar for late nights. Access to Central Manhattan is fairly straightforward but the comfort and stylish accommodation offered by Dimitri and Vasili is quite an attraction in itself.A perfect choice for a stay in upper Manhattan.

Room Tip: A brilliant and intriguing place to stay in NY. Harlem has its own attractions,eating places like Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

One of the most pleasant of the many pleasant things about Mount Morris House is the quiet, which is unexpected in Manhattan and welcome after a long day. This Victorian mansion, furnished in an eclectic assortment of antiques and artwork, feels like a fancy dress shoe that used to be tight but elegant and has finally gotten comfortable. The rooms are gigantic by Manhattan standards and each shows the personalities and quirky taste of the owners, who are gracious and welcoming without hovering. There are plenty of good eateries and clubs right in the neighborhood, and it's an easy subway ride to anywhere else you want to go.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ddoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent a week at Mount Morris house at the end of October. The house surpassed our expectations in every way; we stayed in the Terracotta Suite which was clean and beautifully appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and my husband, who has arthritis, slept better there than he does at home. We enjoyed the homemade cakes, especially the spice cake. So nice to have different homemade cakes every day! There was a short walk to the subway stops, but Dimitri suggested we might prefer the bus, which stops 2 minutes walk away from the house. We loved taking the bus, as you could travel along Fifth Avenue and had a great view of Central Park. At night-time we travelled back by Subway and didn't encounter any problems at all; the walk from the 116th took about ten minutes.
We are hoping to return to New York in the next year or two and would definitely consider staying in Mount Morris house again. Thank you Dimitri and Vasili for helping to make our first visit to New York so special!

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms but the standard of everything we saw was so high I'm sure the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A lovely brownstone house in a park square,with easy access to all areas by public transport. Quiet and comfortable after the bustle of downtown Manhattan , with local restaurants and music. Great hospitality without intrusion. All arrangements impeccable. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This beautifully restored brownstone in the historic Mount Morris neighbourhood of Harlem is a very comfortable haven after a busy day absorbing the best that NYC has to offer. It is very clean and the rooms generous, well appointed and comfortable. There is a communal kitchen equipped with fridge, microwave and coffee machine, electric kettle, filtered water, and plenty of glasses and tableware, tea, coffee and milk provided. The location is very convenient to subway stations with express service stopping at key stations thru to Brooklyn, and bus route down the length of Fifth Avenue which stops close by the House. Hosts Dimitri and Vasili are welcoming, helpful and friendly. We would recommend this accommodation to anyone planning a holiday in NYC.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Arrived here on 13th oct for 1week, from the moment we arrived we were treated like family which really allowed us to relax and have a fantastic break. The 2 owners Vasile and Dimitri were vey helpful and gave us some great tips of where to eat and how to get around. The room was spotlessly clean and housekeeper came in every day tidying around. We were on the first floor at the back which had a side view of Marcus Garvey park. The area was very quiet at night compared to downtown so a peaceful sleep was greatly appreciated. Tea,coffee and cake was always available no matter what time of day or night you wanted ( nice when you arrive home late and tired). Bowl of sweets were also available near front door if you desired. Room felt very secure and safe so we didn't worry about leaving any items sitting about when we were out. Although this area is in Harlem we didn't find any issues and ate and drunk in some of the establishments close . In all we had a great time and being in this establishment gave us the chance to enjoy New York and still see places we wouldn't have planned to visit. We would recommend this House to anyone and we will definitely be returning.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank desbireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 78 in New York City
619 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 78 in New York City
375 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#30 of 78 in New York City
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027-6316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £90 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing