We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Biggest bed we have ever seen!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #5 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
1 review
“Biggest bed we have ever seen!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

On first imprssions as you arrive and walk up the steps to the large front door you think that you may have made a mistake ... then the door opens into a fantastic Visctorian house with a lounge bigger than our whole house, Vasilis gave us the dime tour and also a list of various places in the area for eating then took us up to our room. The first thing that you see is a bed big enough for 5 people!!
It would have been a marvellous place to stay if it was not in Harlem - which may have improved it's image from the 1907's 80's and 90's and have some great places to eat - but it did not feel safe enough to return to any later than 8pm. There were a couple of ladies staying on there own who would have liked to see New York at night but did not feel safe returning back late at night and neither did we. The bus stop outside the front door was really useful though and we did have a fantastic 5 days break in New York.

Our only surprise was that in all the reviews we read we saw that there was a fantastic banquet for breakfast ... all I will say is (because we really liked the place and Vasilis) go and stay at the B&B we stayed at in San Francisco if you really want a good breakfast!

10/10 for the room, 6/10 for breakfast and 5/10 for location. 8/10 for New York being a great palce to visit!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UngNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
93
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wonder Lake, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

The Mount Morris B&B is located in historical Harlem, but only a few minutes from the center of the city via subway. Our stay at this beautiful brownstone home was made memorable by the warmth of the welcome extended to us by our host, Vasilis Kodak. The room was incredibly spacious, the home steeped in history. The breakfasts each morning were superbly prepared and presented around a large dining room table. This B&B is just a few blocks away from Central Park and St. John the Divine Cathedral. This was our first time in NYC, and the people we met were friendly beyond belief. Host at Mount Morris B&B, Vasilis Kodak, made us feel like we were his only and very special guests. My wife and I can recommend Mount Morris B&B without any caveats whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReaperWonderLake_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

By luck upgraded to the honeymoon suite so a large set of rooms. What others say about the house, breakfasts etc is accurate. The house is pleasant to the eye, clean and comfortable. Hosts are unassuming and leave you alone unless you ask for help, which they then provide and is exactly what you want.
The Harlem location made us a little uncomfortable but no one caused us problems. Bus stop is 30 feet from the front door. Subway is 10 minutes easy walk either way. Other guests pointed us to the 125th St subway, the 116th feels safer and you walk by some local eateries which provided us with good reasonably priced food.
Nice touches like umbrellas to borrow. Arranged a better taxi for us. Rooms have cool things like old working wooden shutters and sash windows.
I don't think too many people would leave compaining about their stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VLBNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester (UK)
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

It was a joy for us to stay in this beautiful, comfortable and welcoming guesthouse. We are a family from UK (Cheshire) who wanted somewhere spacious, where we would be able to relax, to cook the occasional meal, to re-charge our batteries after a day of sight-seeing in the city. This was the perfect place! We stayed 9 nights in the loft apartment which we found to be spacious and comfortable with excellent kitchen, dining and lounge areas. As well as being clean and well serviced it was (like the entire house !) decorated with interesting paintings, fascinating artifacts and an excellent stock of books.

Breakfast each morning was taken downstairs with the other guests; hot and cold food, a variety of teas, plenty of coffee, fresh fruit and yogurt, and a great selection of music.

Our hosts, Vasili and Dimitri, took a real interest in our well being, on one occasion providing a lift downtown which became an improptu guided tour of the city! They were knowledgable, warm and friendly and we felt that they would provide us with any support we needed during our stay.

It was very easy to travel to downtown (or uptown) Manhatten from here as there was a bus stop literally on the doorstep, and the nearest subway was 10 minutes walk. However we also loved the local area - it was vibrant, lively and it felt like we were part of the local community. Local people were helpful and often would stop us just to ask if we were enjoying our stay. The local supermarket (10 minutes and next to the subway) was a great place to shop - full of life but also very well stocked - we found some excellent local beers from the Harlem brewing company.

we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicLover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

My mother, sister, and I stayed at Mount Morris House, and we loved every minute of it. We were well taken care of and well fed every morning. Breakfast was wonderful and full of choices for every appetite and taste. It was so nice to meet other guests and hear of their New York adventures and home countries. I can't say enough about how nice the house and the furnishings were while we were there. Thank you Vasilis for everything. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

This was our first time in NY and Vasilis and Dimitris could not have made our stay more pleasant for us. They are fountains of knowledge and advice about NY. The house is easy to find and all major subways are in walking distance. The 5th Ave bus stops right in front of the house. The townhouse itself is adorable and very well restored with attention to historical details. Everything just showed that special touch: for example the heirloom crochet curtains on the windows of our suite (which was kept meticulously clean). Breakfast was served in abundance and to our total delight included organic and whole grain products and the Greek yogurt! Having access to a kitchen at night for making a bedtime tea was wonderful.
We can only recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guggenheim50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

I usually go to NYC twice of year and used to stay in different hotels close to Timeaquare or South Central Park. During my last stay I felt in love with Harlem and the old brown stones houses so I decided to stay close to this area during my next stay. And this is whgat I did week end Aug 15th when I found the Mount Morris House.
It is categegorized as a B&B but it is even more! This is a unique and charm full brown house on a quiet street across a park and 5min walk from subway (15min direct to Timesquare). It is as well 5 min walk from heart of Harlem (Apollo Theater). The house is so unique with lots of antique and history. All rooms well equiped. Kitchen, dining room and salon are so nice and you feel home and even better !
The parking in the street is free of charge Saturday through Monday included which is a real asset. This is definitively a place you should try !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZazafromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#4 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#9 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Property: Mount Morris House
Address: 12 Mount Morris Park W, New York City, NY 10027-6316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing