We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An elegant and peaceful retreat just a bus/subway ride to all the atractions.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #6 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“An elegant and peaceful retreat just a bus/subway ride to all the atractions.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

I recently stayed for 10 nightsat this beautiful house in Harlem just above Central Park. It is a gracious and charming peaceful retreat at the end of each frenetic day exploring New York City. The hosts are endlessly helpful and the rooms spacious, spotless and include the use of a beautiful drawing room and dining room. A galley kitchen is there to help yourself to a drink/snack at your leisure. The surrounding area is of great interest and provides a fascinating insight into some of the history of this wonderful city. I will definately stay here on my next visit to New York City.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelisawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
93
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bermdua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

My husband and I travelled to NY for the first time and ended up staying at this amazing guest house. The rooms are beautiful - almost like you have just stepped into the victorian era - and they are also very large. Breakfast was great and very filing! And finally... the location could not have been better - close to subways and buses as well as the heart of Harlem. Did I forget to mention the very knowledgable and most gracious host? This was truly a home away from home and we will certainly make this our "spot" the next time we are in the city.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ang1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, Hertfordshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

The house is beautiful, our room was delightful, the breakfast was plentiful, the host was charming and our fellow travellers were a joy. The City surpassed all expectations. Our memories of this holiday will be of awe inspiring sights, fabulous food (and pretty good beer too), friendly New Yorkers and the enjoyment of sitting around a sumptuous breakfast table in the most elegant of dining rooms, sharing tales with fellow travellers in surroundings so convivial that it was hard to believe you were not spending time with old friends. If we are fortunate enough to visit this vibrant and welcoming City again, an absolutely essential part of the trip will be to stay once again within the friendly walls of Mount Morris House.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccr_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

My husband and I spent eight nights at Mount Morris House. We had a beautiful and spacious room with a view of the park, with nice morning sun. Our host Vasilis was friendly and helpful and we felt more like visitors than tourists. We liked the area and didn't feel afraid or threatened in any way, but sometimes it was tiring to travel up from downtown, especially if you just wanted a short rest in between sight seeing. However, it was also nice to "come home" to Mount Morris House, away from the bustling activity downtown...

It's a great place to stay, much nicer than any hotel I've ever stayed at!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANHStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed at Mt Morris B&B 7 nights and we can confirm what others already wrote at Tripadvisor. This B&B is a very good choise, via bus or subway you are quiet fast in the centre of Manhattan, but also on other places. - We had the luck to stay in the loft ... fabulous, you feel easily like home. - As we ourself found this B&B via Tripadvisor we want to give back what we experienced.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HEJ1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

My husband and I stayed for four nights in December 2009 in Mount Morris House and loved every minute of it. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and served in the beautifully decorated dining room. The neighborhood was perfectly safe so do not let the Harlem location scare you. Vasili was the perfect host and offered advice and tips when needed. We will definately stay in Mount Morris House when we return to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MetteOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

I was inspired to stay at the Mount Morris based on the excellent reviews on this site and the delightful photos of its period furniture. I am happy to report that my stay was everything I hoped for and more.

The cute brownstone front gives way to large elegant rooms filled to the rafters with beautiful artworks, books and antiques. The entire place feels like a doorway to a past epoch with period interiors and an elegant calm that was just perfect to come home to at night.

The owner is delightful and his food (and morning coffee!) just excellent. Everything you need as a traveller is included; fresh food, nearby transport, comfortable beds, a huge bath to relax in, fast internet and a delightful neighbourhood with convenient shops, eateries and a park across the rad. To top this off my room was about 3 times what I would have expected including a sitting area, desk, dressing room and large private bathroom. At the same price or less than stock standard chain hotels this was a pure delight.

I cannot recommend Mount Morris enough and will be happily returning any time I return to New York.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank illdrinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#3 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#11 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Property: Mount Morris House
Address: 12 Mount Morris Park W, New York City, NY 10027-6316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing