We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #3 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This is a really unusual and beautiful place to stay - we found it a good base for our 4 day visit to NYC and not too far out when we'd been to Brooklyn or downtown. We always found taxis on the street and could have taken the bus or express subway easily. The limo at 5am on our last day was early and reliable, and well organised by the host, Pete, who was up at 5 to see us off.

We were on the top floor - the 1,500 sq ft apartment - as a family of 4. The single bathroom can cause queues and, as we knew, there is no privacy - though there are some beautiful antique screens. The a/c kept up, when left on 24/24. The beds are super comfortable and the linen is wonderful. There are plenty of towels and the daily cleaner did a great job. It was very very quiet - compared with mid/down town this could be a real plus. The area felt perfectly safe, we walked round the corner to the local restaurants at night. The loft can be used as self catering as the kitchen is modern - but the washer/dryer were not connected and we had to fix the DVD/TV to make them play...

Be aware that there's no elevator and this is on the 4th floor - two strong teenagers required to get the luggage up all those floors! and Pete (the host's brother) did help.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing compared with other visitors' reports, possibly because the owner was out of town. There are no phones in the room and the wireless does not reach the top floor, so we had to traipse downstairs to use wireless access. The best way to reach the host/owner was to ring the front door bell! The phone number given with the strict instructions to call ahead of time was not monitored/answered - we left several messages, then gave up and drove straight there; luckily Pete was there to let us in, but we had had some worrying moments.

Be aware that the owners demand cash up front - no credit cards - which meant we had to take Travellers Cheques (remember those?) - other B&Bs we visited on this trip took a deposit but then took a CC at the end of the visit.

Overall, it's a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK-family-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2010

This beautiful old restored mansion is a great place to stay in NYC. Our room (with sitting room, huge dressing area, and gorgeous onyx-tiled shower) was a bargain for Manhattan. It is a short 20 minute subway ride to the downtown area, and away from the hustle and bustle and noise. It is only a 10 minute walk to the northern end of Central Park.
The bed was comfortable and a separate bed was provided for the third person in our party. The breakfasts were very delicious and filling and different every day of our stay. The hosts were extremely friendly and had daily suggestions for nearby fun (and free) activities.
We stayed out quite late every night and felt safe walking from the subway to the B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erichL7530PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We were realy looking forward to come back to the B&B after a busy day in NYC.
Better choice than staying in a downtown hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We had the pleasure of spending three nights at Mount Morris House in June 2010 when we were visiting our daughter in New York City. This is a wonderful place to stay in New York. Conveniently located on Mount Morris Park, with 5th Avenue bus service literally right outside the front door, the location is central to all of The City.

But what really sets Mount Morris House apart are the beautifully restored rooms, tastefully decorated with a wonderfully eclectic art collection, in this restored 19th century townhouse. Our host, Vasili, greeted us on our arrival, and arranged every morning for a delicious breakfast (served in the townhouse dining room) including delicious freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, quiche, a variety of pastries, and, of course, freshly brewed coffee. Bath linens were changed regularly, and since the utilities in the townhouse had been completely updated during renovation, our accommodations could not have been better. If you're looking to experience living as it must have been in an upper class, 19th century residence, Mount Morris House eases you into that world with class and elegance. There are only four rooms, but that only seems to personalize our last visit to New York all the more. Reasonably priced, this quiet, little hotel is a gem of a place to stay in New York.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We arrived early morning and although we were not able to access our room, we were welcomed in to enjoy breakfast! We came back to the B & B early afternoon and were really pleased with our room, it was a really good size and filled with lovely furniture, very in keeping with the age of this lovely brownstone house. The location is brilliant, there are plenty of eateries nearby and it's a short walk to the Subway. We bought a 48 hour pass for one of the sightseeing buses and were able to get on at 125th street, so used this as another way to access NYC as well as using the subway. Breakfast here was yummy and it was great to be able to help yourselves to tea/coffee all day. This place is a great find and a far better alternative to staying in one of the impersonal hotels in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samiloupepperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

I traveled with my 2 sisters to New York to meet up with another sister who recently moved to Harlem after 15 years in NYC. We insisted on staying within a few blocks of her new place since we like to be together first and last moment of the day. We were in for a big surprise visiting Harlem for the first time. First, the Mount Morris House is a gem! It's clean, quiet, traditionally furnished and beautifully restored to it's sensational 19th century decor. The owner provided all the essentials for breakfast, and a small, modern kitchen is open 24 hours for snacks, even refrigeration for your personal selections. The rooms are large, high-ceilings,plenty of extra bedding and rollaways, aerobeds in the hall closet, comfortably sleeping 4. The bathroom was clean and newly refurbished, with a big window, ac in the room too. We walked all about the Harlem district to eat, shop, to see the stunning architecture. The local neighborhood, which is a huge mix of African, Jamaican, Carribean, and American Black community is an experience like none I've seen traveling to other parts of the world. We were welcomed everywhere we went and felt that we were in one of New York's special neighborhoods. The subway is close, the north end of 5th ave is close for busses and taxis, although Harlem is crawling with private car service that offer reasonable, competitive prices to taxis. We'll stay again, and recommend that you can't go wrong with this special B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jstrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. If we ever get to travel to NY again, we will certainly stay here! Beautiful well kept home and owner really friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillerOhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#141 of 470 in New York City
2,448 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#62 of 470 in New York City
3,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,388 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 78 in New York City
616 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#30 of 78 in New York City
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £93 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing