We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #321 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was our first time at this hotel, but we have stayed in the chelsea area every time we come to NYC. You can't beat the location or the price. You are a block away from the subway and a few blocks away from Time Square. The rooms are small, but as other people have mentioned you are not in NYC to hang in your room! Our room was clean and quiet. Beds were comfy and the bathroom for NYC standards was a step up from some of the other chain hotels in the area. The staff could not have been nicer. Breakfast is not included, but there is a coffee maker in your room and there is free coffee in the restaurant with to go cups. Plenty of places a block away for food. I used the small gym every morning and it was clean. My only complaint was that the TVs didn't work on the equipment and I even told someone. No big deal. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

bikingmom, we appreciate your 4 star review, your love of Chelsea, and the fact that you chose to stay with us! Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff, gym and beds. We can't wait to welcome you back to the Big Apple!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

The room was very small we stayed in a king suite . We often stay in Double tree time square the price is not much more the rooms are very spacious and the room comes with refrigerator large bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Christy M., thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to NYC, and for being loyal to DoubleTree. We're sorry to hear that our suites were not all that you hoped. We do have them scheduled for renovations and upgrades this Summer. We hope you will try out Penthouse rooms with private balconies on your next visit. These include a refrigerator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The location is great. The room/bathroom was very small but adequate. The business center is also very good and is opened all day. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I love that we were greeted with a warm cookie :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriniGirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

TriniGirl01, thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in New York City, and for your 5 star review! We hope the warm cookie, and service helped to combat the winter cold, and are very happy to know that you had a good visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights and booked through a third party. The location is good but the room was the smallest we have stayed in during our visits to NY. The bathroom also was tiny and there is no vanity space at all! The heater was so noisy that we had to turn it off and froze at night time. There are no additional quilts or blankets available in the room. The internet also is terrible. It cuts out and you cannot work due to the poor connection.
We found the staff pleasant but would be unlikely to recommend this hotel due to the room and bath size & internet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizbomben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Lizbomben, we apologize for the issues you had with heating and internet on your recent stay, and that the room size was not as you expected. We use your comments to make sure our future guests do not have the same issues, and will certainly address the heating and internet service. We hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for one night for a romantic getaway. The hotel is on the very fringe of Chelsea but we found it's location very convenient to explore the up and coming neighborhood of NoMad. The room was comfortable and clean. Best part was warm cookies on check-in on a cold and wintery NYC day. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The elevators were a bit slow.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teradactyltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you, teradactyltravels, for an entertaining screenname, and 4 star review of our hotel. We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your romantic, if freezing, getaway, and to know that you enjoyed the warm cookie on check-in, convenient location, clean rooms, and friendly, helpful staff. We hope to see you on your next special occasion in NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I don't have much nice to say about my stay here. The rooms were incredibly tiny we hardly had room to put out suitcases down. The bathroom was small but decent. The staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful with the exception of the maids. I made a complaint about the lifts ( we waited 15-20 minutes a day for a lift) and they were extremely rude and not understanding. I did not enjoy my stay here at all and would not recommend it to anyone. The positive was its cheap and in a good location.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashleighjhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

On behalf of our entire staff, please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectations for the size of room, or the service you received. We pride ourselves on the service we provide, and while you had a positive experience with our Housekeeping Staff, we take very seriously that fact that you found other staff members unhelpful. Please contact me at the hotel if there is anything we can do to make it right and make up for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

There was a lot of negative reviews on here prior to my trip - complaints re: small room size or cleanliness which I found all to be unsubstantiated.
I was in NYC to explore hence I didn't spend 24/24 in my room so yeah it wasn't huge but I'm only sleeping in the Super Comfy bed so I really didn't care, plus its NYC... size = money.
Daily maid service and very clean and comfy room (to those people who take photos of dust behind the tv unit.... why?) - I never had any problems.
Staff - arrived a tad early from a 6am cross country flight and lovely lady at front desk was super accommodating and let us in early so couldn't be happier.
Location was on a side street, train station down the road, 5 minutes to Penn station and madison square garden, and great bagel shops. I even walked from the hotel to the brooklyn bridge and it took 1 and a bit hours but it was a nice walk.
Def visit again - great for those wanting to see the city.
P.S take the subway from the airport to the hotel its super quick and cheap, taxi's and shuttles take way too long.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the view of the empire state building - most definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redribbons112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We are exceptionally happy to hear, redribbons112, that after such a long journey, you found our beds super comfy, the room clean, and that you enjoyed the view of the Empire State Building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#199 of 469 in New York City
2,076 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#154 of 469 in New York City
1,933 reviews
Chelsea
Hotel Hayden
Hotel Hayden
#306 of 469 in New York City
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#182 of 469 in New York City
3,492 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#112 of 469 in New York City
890 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#49 of 469 in New York City
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £101 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing