We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hilton Property I've Stayed At” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #313 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Minneapolis
1 review
“Worst Hilton Property I've Stayed At”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Nearly every employee I encountered displayed a lack of customer-oriented service. Slow, inattentive restaurant staff, lazy, flippant front desk team. Lobby was continually disheveled with boxes all around. Facility could easily use at least one more elevator...S-L-O-W service. If you need a Hilton property in this area, I'd strongly suggest opting for the ones on/around 26th. I won't be back at this property ever.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mathew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Mathew, Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with your keys and regarding your comfort and the hospitality you experienced. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    731
    354
    151
    87
See reviews for
472
460
176
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The property is very convenient to Midtown sites, but the staff is incredible, more like what you might find in a boutique hotel. I do stay there frequently, but that is because the staff was so accomodating early on; I don't even consider another address. The rooms are cozy, standard NYC-issue; the furnishings are nicer than some, but honestly the top reason for my continued visits is the quality of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank MoustacheRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
MoustacheRandy, thank you for staying with us regularly, and for making us your home away from home. For our staff, our regular guests become part of our "family" and we are glad that you feel that way too! We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Illinois
Level Contributor
553 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

In town for a show at Javitz. Location was great. Plenty to do close by, places to eat, MSG, etc.

But the hotel itself has very small rooms, slow elevators, and a bar/restaurant area that seems to be an afterthought.

The bed was too short for me and I am 5' 11". A result of the tiny room I suspect.

Everything was clean and functioned properly which salvaged the stay.

Desk staff was great and attentive.

Room Tip: Hope for a view, expect another building. Sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
David F, thank you for your review and your compliments on our desk staff! We are glad that our clean and functional rooms made the stay for you, and hope that you will consider staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I love staying in Hilton properties. This one is so very good! The staff makes the rrip wonderful. Parking (valet) is expensive @ $45, and this is ny, so I knew it would be. It is walking distance to the Highline, Chelsea Market, penn station, and Empire State building. Final night we ordered Chinese food delivered, and it was there super fast. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank favfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
favfox, thank you so much for staying with us and for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the location and our staff. We want you to return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great location, walking distance to metro, times square and many downtown new york areas. The hotel is convenient enough, and there are food, convenient stores nearby. The room is big enough in my opinion. Friendly staff, so so breakfast. My only complain is the hiccup over my laundry, didn't get it the same day back and just barely got it before I check out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muse m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
muse m, our friendly staff thanks you for staying with us and for your 4 star review. We're glad you found the location to be convenient, and we are sorry for the issue with our laundry service. We certainly hope to see you on your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while visiting friends in the city. In order to make this review easy, I'll list everything.
1. Amazing location
2. Room smelled moist
3. Room was small
4. Bathroom small
5. Bed confortable
6. Staff was nice
7. Restaurant was ok
8. It's NYC
9. I did not use the gym

Good room for the price.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank etgMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
etgMD, thank you for staying with us, and for your concise review. We hope that you stay with us again when you are next visiting your friends here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

What speaks for this hotel is, like many fellow reviewers pointed out already, its location on the northern end of Chelsea, close to Midtown, Subway nearby and attractions like the Highline Park in walking distance.
However, I would not recommend a stay longer than one night because the rooms are, even by NYC standards tiny. Meaning: really tiny. We had booked a room with two queen beds and I still wonder how they managed to squeeze in both beds in so little space. As a consequence we could hardly store our luggage and had to step over it all the time.
Another con: long waiting time for the elevator.
Although hotel staff were rather friendly, the restaurant should be avoided. At breakfast we first had to fight for a table and then we had to hunt the waitress for a lukewarm cup of coffee. Better go a Starbuck’s around the corner.

Room Tip: Not worth paying a premium for "Empire State Building" views on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenThereAlready_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are sorry to hear that you found our rooms with two beds to be smaller than you expected, and our breakfast area to be very busy. We hope that you will consider our hotel for a future stay in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#214 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,234 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#323 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing