We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, zero ambiance or character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #316 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value, zero ambiance or character”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is on one of the least interesting streets in NYC, perched on the far north side of Chelsea--closer to herald Square than Chelsea proper. Room was small--but this is NYC. Price was rational, wifi good-- easy walking up or downtown. The hotel bar is nondescript, but staff friendly and helpful. I was there for business with a couple of play days thrown in and it was fine for my purposes. Key feature--good price and clean room. Doesn't really stand out for anything other than the value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    743
    360
    156
    87
See reviews for
481
467
179
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

From the reviews I was a little hesitant about staying here but really enjoyed it.

Good:
the location is close to the Penn station...short walk.
Short walk to Madison Square Garden
A couple of blocks from great food trucks and outdoor vendors
Rooms were nice and most staff very polite. They helped us with information
Water in the lobby
Staff gave us extra cookies :-)

Improvements
The rooms are small but it that can't be changed
There were food trays outside of the hotel not sure why
One staff member acted as if they couldn't be bothered and didn't answer questions
There wasn't a concierges while we were there.
the bell man took the trash out and placed it in the outside trashcan. trash fell on the ground and he didn't pick it up. the trash can was already over flowing.

The hotel is on a side street so it is not as noisy as those on a main road.

Overall, I liked the hotel and would stay again if I was in this area of the city. It is a 1/2 of block from a main road. You can take the NYC Airporter from the airport to the front door. I had to make one very easy change to a small van. It was less than a taxi and faster than super shuttle. < $20.

Room Tip: Higher is better but there was not much street noise on the 5th floor.(It faces a side street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights, and it was heavenly. The bed was so comfortable, I ended up buying one from their retail website. The room was impeccably clean, the location was just where I wanted to be - right in the middle of everything. And they gave us free cookies not just at check-in. Even had the room service, and the croissants were delicious. The maid left us new toiletries every day - even though we didn't use them, and we had a collection by the time we left. And the concierge was so helpful getting us a taxi on one of the busiest nights of the week.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Average in every way. Very slow/small elevators and during busy times of day, it will take you 10 minutes to get up to your room. Good location and close to Madison Square Garden if you're in town for a show.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is as expected. Rooms are very small. We paid for a room with an empire state view. Hilarious, should have said hotel with a tiny glimps of a corner of empire state building through building if you squint and twist your neck round. Location not as great as I thought and took us an age to find a dinner to get breakfast as nothing near this hotel. There are much better places to stay.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a view. There is no veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenDLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for one night during a date weekend. My fiance picked the restaurant and booked it for a secret night away, so I was not involved in the planning, as I usually am, and was not able to know all the secrets from researching things before we arrived, but everything went very smoothly.

There is parking across the street. We left our car there for the day and a half we were in town. We were early, and no rooms were available, but the hotel watched our bags while we started day. We were told they would call when a room was available, but never got the call - not that it mattered, we weren't returning 'til after the usual check-in time anyway - but it would have been nice had they followed through.

Got the usual cookies when checking in, and two bottles of water and some granola.

The room was nice and very small (typical for NYC) with a really nice view of the Empire State Building.

The water pressure in the shower was amazing!

The staff was incredibly helpful - we've been to NYC many times, but still need some help with the subway, and the front desk answered all our questions with smiles on their faces. Walk to the subway was short.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The location is great, within walking distance to subways and shopping. The hotel staff was quiet helpful and courteous. It was my birthday weekend and I was brought a lovely piece of cheesecake. The elevators are a tad slow, but one just has to be patient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 14_SCTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#218 of 467 in New York City
1,949 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#165 of 467 in New York City
3,269 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 467 in New York City
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#66 of 467 in New York City
1,334 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
701 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#123 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Family Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing