We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doubletree, Chelsea, August 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #314 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Doubletree, Chelsea, August 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. Very clean hotel and close enough to the Theatre District, Times Square. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely try to stay here on our next trip to Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    731
    354
    151
    87
See reviews for
472
460
176
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in a standard king suite. This Hotel was very nice. The room was spacious and had everything I needed. Reception were kind and let me check in early. I was on the 22nd floor which had amazing views of downtown New York. This hotel is in a great location from 5th av and Broadway. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccaj1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great location,parking across the street.Self parking NYC style(drive to parking and hand over your keys).The slowest elevators I have ever seen only 2 for the entire hotel including the cleaning staff,one of them constantly out of order.Overall a very nice hotel in a great location 5 minute walking distance to Empire State Building,$10 cab ride to Rockefeller Center.Nice rooms but "tiny" ,A/C somewhat noisy but it drowns out the noise of neighors + city noise

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The staff was extremely friendly and the location was very convenient to the subway system. The beds were also very comfortable. We appreciated the bar/restaurant that was attached to the hotel as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed for a few nights in June. A typical large Hilton. Decent sized room which was a disabled room which I got last minute as a good deal. Walk in shower instead of bath which was fine for me. Fairly quiet though my room was close to the laundry chute and you definitely don't want a room near the ice machine. Good location for Chelsea and nearby areas. Subway closeby. Friendly staff. Gym in basement. Good wifi.

Room Tip: Not a particularly busy street but go for a higher floor if possible. Only downside is the small nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRLondon1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

While we chose this hotel because it guaranteed two double beds, I was very disappointed by the elevator situation. There were a ton of guests and only two very slow elevators. At some times I waited over 25 minutes to get to the lobby. Of course I could have walked, but I was on the 22nd floor. I go to NYC frequently, mostly for work, and have NEVER seen a hotel have so few elevators for so many people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Friendly staff and great location! I can't stress enough how nice it is to be centrally located. We could take a break in our adventures to rest or change clothes before heading out again. Safe area with 2 Starbucks within short walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#160 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,237 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#323 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing