We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, clean and next to penn station”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #350 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean and next to penn station”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I look for a lot and I found this hotel. It is near Penn station (just at 5-10 minutes walking) and the hotel is very clean and the service very good and nice. In addition to it, it was the cheapesr hotel I found. Thus, I recommend it without any doubt if you look for an hotel next to Penn Station.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jose_Malaga_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    234
    111
    23
    45
See reviews for
114
141
48
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Great location, close to everything. Hotel is clean and staff is very friendly. Rooms are exceptionally small and our room was just a little beat up - but again, was very clean. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrfh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our room was very small and the air-conditioner was noisy. The phone kept ringing during all night long until we unplugged it. Weird sounds coming from the walls. Staff was friendly. Not a convenient area for us, but maybe for others. Interesting furnishings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Quick 24 hour visit to the city for a Yankee game. This hotel is close to the Empire State Bdlg and about 10 minute walk from NY Penn Station, which was very convenient. We parked out in New Jersey and took commuter train into NY Penn. The staff was minimal, but helpful. Precious was working the front desk upon our arrival and was very knowledgeable with hints and tips for subway connects and eat places. Christina was also great. The room was small for two adults and two kids, but nice and clean and workable. They are set up to keep your luggage in the event you are checked out and still planning to hit the sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were in town for a family graduation. We were greeted by Precious, her friendliness did not go unnoticed. She processed our check in quickly and sent us on our way! Thank you Precious! The room was small but what else can you expect from a Nyc boutique hotel? Very clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay here on my next trip into the city!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Marie2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed at the Gem Midtown for a conference. Staff was helpful and friendly. Location is odd, but convenient. Located on the other side of the Lincoln Tunnel from Penn Station, it is an easy walk, but the last block or so is pretty remote. Rooms are clean and simple. No real amenities other than free wifi. Elevator was a bit noisy, but I pack earplugs whenever I am staying in NYC, so no issue there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We visited NYC for two days of Broadway shows therefore needing a one night stay in a no frills hotel. GEM fit the bill. The room was small but adequate and clean, very clean. The staff were polite and helpful. The location at 36th and 10th Ave was a little bit out of the way but the price offset this and walking in NYC is always delightful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingman1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#362 of 467 in New York City
667 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#382 of 467 in New York City
21 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#383 of 467 in New York City
5,838 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
771 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#435 of 467 in New York City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Property: 36 Hudson Hotel
Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
#208 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#232 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 Hudson Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan and perfect boutique hotel for business travellers and tourists. Many of New York's most popular attractions are within walking distance and you will explore memorable experiences in Time Square, Empire State Building, The Rockefeller Center, MOMA and Central Park etc. 36 Hudson Hotel is an perfect travel destination to make your journey enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing