We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
36 Hudson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
170
251
120
25
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
251
120
25
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjavits centerpenn stationmidtown westlincoln tunnelnew yorktimes squarerooms are smallminute walkstay there againmadison square gardenbed was comfortableplace to sleeparound the cornerclean hotelconvenient locationnycseabus
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I brought my mother (84) and my 2 daughters for a weekend in NYC to see the Xmas decorations, a broadway show, and enjoy some nice meals together over the weekend of 12/6-8. The GEM worked out perfectly. The rooms were well appointed, comfortable, clean, and quiet. The staff were helpful. In particular, I'd like to call out Gladys who couldn't have been nicer to my mother. She helped her find her cellphone. I appreciated the coffee maker in the room and agree with another reviewer that conditioner would be useful. We went to the Skylight Diner a few blocks away for breakfast one of the mornings and it worked out well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rvillefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Rvillefoodie,
Thank you for choosing The Gem Hotel Midtown for your most recent stay. I am so pleased that your stay was enjoyable. I will definitely review with Gladys your feedback about your stay, she will be pleased to hear she made it a good one. This time of the year is always nice in the city for shopping and taking in some of the holiday festivities the city has to offer. We are located close to almost everything that you may need to do while visiting the city. Once again thanks for your time and writing us a review we appreciate it and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Happy Holidays and Happy New Year.

Sincerely
James L
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Me and my Wife decided to have a night out on the town so we decided to choose your hotel .The hotel staff there was friendly when we checked in we asked for second floor room and they gave us that.The room we had gave us a nice king size bed which was very comfortable. The pillows could have been a little harder but i still was able to get a good night sleep. We felt that the staff was very professional and also were helpful so i definately appreciate that.When we were checking out the staff asked us how our stay was and we said that it was great. Another thing i liked was that there wasnt any loud noise outside to wake me up all in all it was a good stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Craig L,
We are pleased you enjoy your stay with us at The Gem Hotel Midtown. We appreciate your business and are glad you found us. We do our best to provide each of our guest the best customer service possible and I’m glad that my team was on their A game with you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Happy Holidays and thank you once again.

Sincerely
James L
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

On our arrival on Dec 4th we were told that despite our booking, the hotel was full and we were the 7th booking that had had this happen. The gentleman behind the desk was fabulous and dealt with problem excellently. We had been rebooked by him elsewhere though the hotel was in Chinatown and it certainly was not a handy location but at least we had a bed for the night. He spent ages finding us a taxi and gave a $10 to help pay for transfer though taxi cost double this due to terrible traffic. Despite this issue I would certainly attempt to stay here again as customer service was so good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Travellingmum0,
We are so sorry to hear that we couldn’t accommodate you during your recent trip to NYC. Due to some uncontrollable events we had to relocate you to another hotel. I am glad my staff was able to get you situated at another hotel within the city. Please be sure to contact me directly the next time you decide to visit us so I may take care of your reservation personally. Once again please accept my apologies in regards to this. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We visited the Gem hotel during the thanksgiving holiday. The staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel is in a good location, although a few blocks from the main attractions, but it is very convenient if you are arriving via the Weehawken ferry. The rooms are small (this is New York) but very clean and comfortable. The elevator is quite noisy, although it does not get used much during the night. Overall, for a hotel in Manhattan, it is very good value for money. I would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lift are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianDerby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear BrianDerby_UK,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about The Gem Hotel Midtown. We are pleased to hear you found the accommodations to your expectations. Yes we are located near the Weehawken Ferry, but did you know that we are also just a handful of blocks away from Port Authority and Penn Station? We are also walking distance from Madison Square Garden and from Times Square. The next time you’re here with us be sure to get directions to any of these places. Thanks once again for your review, we appreciate it and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warmest regards
James L
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Gem Hotel for a long weekend in November. This was my boyfriends first trip to New York, and my first time staying in Manhattan. The staff was great, very friendly. We got to the hotel early and they happily took our bags and let us go tour the city, they did the same on the day of our departure since we were taking a late flight.

The location isn't superb, but it wasn't a hindrance by any means. We liked to walk, and were about a 15 minute walk from Penn Station, were you can get anywhere. Walking our first day we happened upon Time Square, a fun surprise.

The room was very small, though I think that is the norm in New York, and frankly I'm not going to go to NYC to stay in the hotel room! Bed was very comfy, pillows were a little too soft, though there were enough of them that you could adjust. It was also VERY clean. None of those gross diseased comforter covers. The TV was nice and modern if you care about those things. The toiletries provided were nicer than most, though they did not have conditioner? Any female knows that a "conditioning shampoo" does not substitute conditioner.

Tip: The Cafe Grind just down the street across from the gas station has fantastic coffee and food, though the service leaves something to be desired (their coffee makes up for it).

Room Tip: Overall it was a great stay, as long as your not planning on spending all your time in the hotel, a small room at The Gem Midtown West is perfect for your trip. Oh and bring your own conditioner.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apaul476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Apual476,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at The Gem Hotel Midtown. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay, and you were able to walk around our great city. We are also walking distance from Port Authority Bus Station if you choose to take a bus into the city. Next time your with us be sure to stop by a new gourmet grocery store that just open up around the block from us. They make fresh coffee and have bagels and other foods to eat for breakfast. Their doughnuts are huge! Be sure to mention your previous stay when you call back in to reserve a room with us so we may offer you a returning guest discount. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews