We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
36 Hudson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
170
251
120
25
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
251
120
25
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjavits centerpenn stationmidtown westlincoln tunnelnew yorktimes squarerooms are smallminute walkstay there againmadison square gardenbed was comfortableplace to sleeparound the cornerclean hotelconvenient locationnycseabus
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great hotel - great experience. Room was good size. Big flat screen. Centrally located-easy to get to most locations without an expensive taxi bill. . Price was very affordable One of the best hotel values in NYC. Would highly recommend The GEM.



  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Ok, so I get that this is NY. And that the party never stops. But having a courtyard bar pumping house music at concert volume until 2am??!! It's like trying to sleep at a JayZ concert. Not a hotel. A disco with some rooms upstairs. Small, poorly appointed rooms. Service was spotty (morning coffee took 10 mins behind 1 dude in line and cost $6!). Won't ever ever visit again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jrc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Jrc111,
i am sorry to hear that your stay the GEM Hotel did not meet your expectations and the noise kept you awake. I do believe your review was intended for one of our other GEM Hotels in the city and not the midtown west/hudson yard location. Our location you will find is located in a commercial/residential location with no outdoor bars.
Please feel free to contact me at midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com, I like to assist you to remedy your stay experience.

Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is small and for the most part has what you need for a reasonable hotel stay in NYC. It's between 9th and 10th ave on 36th and it's tucked in between a bunch of buildings.

The rooms are small and feel a touch cramped with 2 beds, but being in NYC I can understand that. It's only a few block to 8th ave and is in a fairly quiet part of town with a quick walk or cab ride to where ever you need to go. Their are a number of places to eat toward 8th ave and a great little coffee shop around the corner call The Cafe Grind.

I would certainly consider staying here again. The beds are comfortable, the water is Hot and if you get a higher floor you can see some of the city. I don't believe their much else in the way of amenities as they don't have the room for it being such a small place.

Room Tip: 10th floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Jordan G,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Gem Hotel Hudson Yards. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m also glad to see you were able to walk around our neighborhood and see the nice restaurants and bars and cafes we have around us. I see you walked to 8th ave to find places to eat but did you know there are a lot of restaurants right on 9th ave, a block closer? Next time your with us be sure to ask anyone of our front desk agents and they can point you in the right direction. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely
James L
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had an event at the Javits center and the location was awesome. Service was great and friendly. Rooms small, but cozy and comfy! Would defiantly stay here again. Also the parking was was supper easy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelsgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Jewelsgem,
Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel The Gem Hotel Hudson Yards. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to provide each and every guest with the best customer service possible. I see you used the parking lot that is just across the street from us and yes it is easy to get in and out of the city from there. Stop in some time in the near future when you’re not here for business so you can really enjoy the city.

Sincerely
James L
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Nice, clean and in a good location near Penn Station. Very kind and helpful people.
It is ideal to move along Manhattan, the other boroughs and the JFK airport because Penn Station is at 8 minutes.
Of course we will come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eperera86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Eperera86,
Thank you for staying with us at The Gem Hotel Hudson Yards. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m also glad that you found Penn station to be so close to us, but did you know that we are just a few blocks away from the NYC train system, or just blocks away from Port Authority? Next time be sure to stop by our front desk so we can show you other places of interest to go to. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely
James L
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews