We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, clean, friendly boutique hotel”
Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #360 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Virginia
1 review
“Quiet, clean, friendly boutique hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Easy 10-15 minutes walking from Penn Station/Amtrak and to Broadway Theaters and Times Square, as well as to Chelsea movie theaters and restaurants. Very clean and quiet; in a residential neighborhood. Friendly, accommodating staff.

Room Tip: For NYC, I always ask for a quiet inside room, as I prefer quiet to any street noise, no matter how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcookva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear pcookva,

Thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel during your trip to NYC. We hope that you experienced everything New York City has to offer. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    234
    112
    24
    45
See reviews for
114
141
48
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

While it may seem like the hotel is off the beaten path, it really isn't. The hotel is situated less than half a mile from Penn Station which makes it an easy walk to trains and the subway system. Times Square and the theater district are also in easy walking distance. The king size bed fills most of the room, but what are you really doing at the hotel besides sleeping? We lucked out with a room on the first floor that actually had a little terrace where we could sit outside which was nice. Bathroom and fixtures were all new. DirectTV and free internet were very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all hours of the day. They let us leave our luggage at the hotel after we checked out so that we could spend our last day in the city unencumbered by suitcases.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jeffrey H,
Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to write this review. We strive to make every guest experience a special one. And I am happy that we, were able to make that lasting impression upon you. We all would like to thank you as well for having chosen the GEM, we are small and off the beated path. But this allows us all to provide that 100% focus to each individual guest.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The name states it all...The Gem! Perfect location for Javits Center events.The staff and management is considerate to every detail. The rooms are small but lovely. My stay was excellent! Will book again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Danielle L,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel during your trip to NYC. Our staff strives to be that GEM, the needle in the hay stack. We all are just estactic that we were able to be that needle for you when traveling back to NYC. We are making some small additions and hope that on your return trip you get to see what we have done. Thank you again! See you soon..
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff was very engaging and helpful. From the front desk to the cleaning staff, everyone was willing to assist. There was a problem with sump pumps in the basement, but was taken care of quickly and efficiently.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mark H,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, we are excited that you had a fantastic stay while in NYC. I hope that you were not effected with the mechanical issue we experienced, if so please accept my deepest apology. Your review and comments mean a great deal to all of us and we continue to strive to be better. We hope that you next return is a better or greater then your first.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hotel staff and service was great. The location was okay but rooms are extremely small. I think, that's standard for New York. The location is right on 36th and 10th which close to a subway station. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mansi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mansi P,
Thank you for having stayed at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard during your visit to New York City. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience and that the hotel meet all of your needs.The GEM hope to see you soon again.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location was perfect for attending conventions at the Javits Center. I could see it from the entrance way. GEM was near many great food options.
The front desk staff always attentive and helpful.
Rooms were clean and appropriately sized to what I'd expect in NYC.
I was on a lower floor (4th) I did hear trucks and garbage traffic early in the morning. A higher room might not have that issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Marisa H,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Hudson Yards we hope that you had a successful convention. Our location to the Javits is ideal. We are sorry to hear that you were able to hear the street traffic. Please let us know on your return trip, we can definitely place you in a room on a higher floor for you. Thank you, hope to see you soon again.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff were all so friendly and accommodating. The bathroom supplies were quite limited like the lotion, body wash, shampoo. I think the housekeeping should inspect the supplies daily and replenish them if needed.

Room Tip: Nice experience for us who don't travel that often. The staff were all nice, friendly and accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#366 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#406 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#367 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#386 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,972 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#437 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Property: 36 Hudson Hotel
Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
#208 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#232 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 Hudson Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan and perfect boutique hotel for business travellers and tourists. Many of New York's most popular attractions are within walking distance and you will explore memorable experiences in Time Square, Empire State Building, The Rockefeller Center, MOMA and Central Park etc. 36 Hudson Hotel is an perfect travel destination to make your journey enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing