We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #353 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Folks, if you want to stay comfortably in NYC for a reasonable price, this is your hotel. It is only about a 15 minute walk to Intrepid, Circle Line Cruises (full island tour HIGHLY recommended), and Javits Center; also walking distance to Empire State Bldg, Times Square, Madison Sq Garden and Penn Station. Room was small but not too small for me, my wife, and two teenage daughters for 3 full days. Staff was friendly and helpful. They will store your luggage for you for no additional charge on day of checkout so you can still explore the city, coming back late in the day to retrieve it all. The only drawback would be that Midtown West is not necessarily the cleanest part of town but that's not the hotel's fault. Single, female travelers may want to exercise caution but at no time did we feel fearful, just attentive. This is a good place to stay in NYC! Thanks.

Room Tip: View from front side of building - not great. Suggest rooms with west side view of Hudson if availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    232
    111
    23
    45
See reviews for
113
141
48
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The GEM in the theatre district is a nice small hotel. Located close to Penn Station. Times Square is at walkable distance.
The rooms are small, but clean. The beds are a bit small as well (I'm 1.91m), but good quality. Bathroom is fine.
Location is quiet! The service of the people at the reception is really good! Nice people, good service and explanation where to go. My compliments!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul0366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Hong
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

It is a bit far away from the Penn Station. However, when you observed that people in the city usually walk for several streets and avenue, it is not a distance location. Staffs of the hotel had no idea of the bus route other than taking a taxi cap.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kin Ming L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Kin Ming L,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard. We are delighted that you found everything you need during your stay. The hotel is well located and ideal for those who want a place close to it all but not in the middle of everything. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room was small but that is typical of New York City.
There was no long mirror in the room. It was very clean. The bed was comfortable and staff was very courteous. Ashish and Stacy were great!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Glenn M,
Thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard during your most recent visit to NYC. Ashish has been with the hotel since its opening and Stacy just recently joined our GEM team. Each of them exemplifies the level of service and commitment we have for all GEM guest. Most of all we like to thank you for taking time from your busy day to post your review and comments of your recent stay. We hope to see you in the future and please mention LGEMR.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel has an alright location, west midtown on manhatten. 15 min to walk to times square. the hotel was ok, but the service was awful. when we arrived in the afternoon, we immediately let the reception know that our toilet was not working; it seemed to be blocked. They told us we would have to wait until the next day to have it fixed, as the staff had no idea how to fix this. We asked to get another room, but this was apparently not possible. we were told to use the toilet in the basement until ours was fixed. though we fully understand that things like this can happen, the staff really should have handled this in another way. it would not have been difficult to call a plumber in the afternoon on a weekday in new york...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Erika T,
I wanted to express my deepest apology to you for the poor experience you recieve during your stay at the GEM Hotel. I hope that you allow me the opportunity to make this stay up to you in the future. Please feel free to contact me at midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com or 212 967 7206.
May sincere and deepest apology again.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I had to lug my luggage in the rain to move from GEM to Quality Inn because they didn't fix the clogged toilet and internet connection problem in my room properly. While the move was a welcomed solution, I wish that the staff in both hotels had communicated better about my situation because I am now charged twice for the same night (by both hotels) for something that is not my fault

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Azie200786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Azie200786,
We like to extend our deepest sincerely apology to you. The issues that you experienced in no way should have happen and we are extremely embrassed by this. I hope that you allow me to make this up to you in the future, please contact me directly at midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com. The billing issue you also experienced has been taken care for you. I hope that you give us another opportunity.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting accommodations in Midtown. The staff were friendly and helpful - from dinner recommendations to help with transport to the airport - and they had a sense of humor, which I appreciate. It was a nice room - spacious and reasonably priced for NYC, and very clean. Easy walk to the High Line park and Times Square, and pretty quiet. I will stay with Gem from now on - no complaints, and lots of positives for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Kathleen M,
We are thrilled that you had a fantastic stay while visiting NYC. All of us at the GEM strive to provide a unique experience for all of our GEM guest and glad that we made a welcoming experience for you. Most of all we like to thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard, we hope to see you again in the future and please mention LGEMR when making that return trip. Thank you again!
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown West
Quality Inn Midtown West
#360 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#394 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#383 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel East Houston
Hotel East Houston
#341 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Property: 36 Hudson Hotel
Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#200 Business Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 Hudson Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan and perfect boutique hotel for business travellers and tourists. Many of New York's most popular attractions are within walking distance and you will explore memorable experiences in Time Square, Empire State Building, The Rockefeller Center, MOMA and Central Park etc. 36 Hudson Hotel is an perfect travel destination to make your journey enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing