We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and adequate for the budget traveler”
Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #359 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient location and adequate for the budget traveler”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Room was small, with two double beds, desk, and wardrobe (not much more room to move), but everything was clean, comfortable, and efficient, with a coffee maker, safe, and bathrobes in the wardrobe. I didn't like that the towels were in a rack above the shower, but my husband thought that was nit-picking for a hotel that was so convenient to Times Square and major lines for our trip. Good location for what we did - Central Park to Battery Park, so a decent range. Lobby is tiny with no amenities, so understand that this is not a luxury experience. Easy to drive to hotel - we purchased a package with free parking across the street, which worked out well for us. We'd stay again if we didn't find a hotel for. Better price.

Room Tip: When looking for a hotel, we searched for parking included, and the package only came up on one site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conni_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    237
    115
    24
    45
See reviews for
115
146
49
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Wish the room had a working A/C heat unit. this was terrible, and I could not get a good night's sleep here. Also, the location was so far west, and we had to cross a busy road to get to Broadway area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tinabean25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

As a former native of New York City, it is always a challenge to find a good hotel when I come back to visit, one that is affordable, clean, well maintained and in a convenient location. I finally found a hotel that not only meets these criteria but far surpasses them. And as an added bonus the staff is friendly and helpful. The Hudson Yards Gem Hotel will be my first choice on all future trips.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

the bad experince ever, with un professional attitude from the manager of Hotel Mr.Lawrence Hou. I Disquailfied this Hotel from getting a Hotel name in a great City (NYC), in term of services, reception staff and calculating the invoices
they charged me extra night unfairly

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sultan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Sultan O,
Our apologizes that you felt the hotel did not live up to your expectations.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very clean room. Very comfortable bed with nice linens. Nice flat screen TV with many cable choices. Very clean bathroom. Room was small but functional. Not may other frills. No nonsense convenient accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel failed to reach the most basic standard expected of the hospitality industry - providing a clean bed. I would never stay here again even though it is a short walking distance to the Javits Center. Both of the beds in our room had someone's dark hairs between the sheets, meaning that housekeeping had remade the bed with the last guests dirty sheets - YUCK. I picked six long dark hairs out of the bedding - see picture. I'm blonde so they weren't mine. The duvet cover on one bed had some fresh clear-ish stains on them that looked to be made by someone's personal lubricants - I have no words for that.

The toilet had a slimy ring around it from not being cleaned in a long time - you can see in the picture where I tried to clean it a bit with kleenex - and the toilet ran noisily off and on all night long, waking me repeatedly. By 5 am, I finally had to put a pillow over my head to get any sleep.

I had seen a complaint posted about hairs in the beds at the Gem Hotel, but assumed it was one time thing. I was wrong. No one is keeping a close eye on keeping standards up - that ring around the toilet should have immediately raised a red flag. Instead, a great deal of emphasis is placed on silly things like folding bathrobes just so, arranging towels with washcloths folded into fans, and tucking sheets in tightly, but very little on whether any of those items are actually clean. The hotel's priorities are backwards. Cleanliness ought to come first.

I've stayed in quite a few hotels in New York. This one has relatively small rooms for the city. Its beds are comfortable, even though its sheets might not be clean. Its front desk staff is very nice. Its housekeeping is slovenly. My advice would be to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for clean sheets, ours were dirty, so was the toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear sunnyflies,
I cannot express to you again how deeply sorry we are for the poor experience you had during your stay. I know that during our call we spoke at length about the issues. And I can assure you that this incident shall not repeat itself for you or any future guest at the GEM.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Compared to other New York prices, this was a bargain - $279.00 including all taxes. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room as well as the friendliness of the staff and the overall comfort of the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello Sally G,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel during your visit to NYC, we are glad that we were able to meet your expectations. Your review and comments mean a great deal to all of us here. We all hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#377 of 466 in New York City
681 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#329 of 466 in New York City
69 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#412 of 466 in New York City
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 466 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#388 of 466 in New York City
6,321 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#349 of 466 in New York City
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Property: 36 Hudson Hotel
Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on 36th St. as the gateway to the vibrant and eclectic West Side, 36 Hudson Hotel is just steps away from a rich mosaic of culture, fine dining, shopping, and nightlife. Whether conducting business Midtown, exploring the rich urban cultural, taking in the exciting Chelsea art scene, or mining the boutiques in Soho for a hidden treasure, there's no better location to begin your journey. Midtown never fails to dazzle even the most seasoned tourist with its plethora of urban monuments - Rockefeller Center, Times Square and the Empire State Building to name a few. The sites to see go on and on and they're all so close to our Hudson Yards New York hotel. Bask in the wonder of it all. Catch a show. Experience world-class dining. Then retreat to your urban oasis - 36 Hudson Hotel New York where you'll getaway and rejuvenate in a chic, intimate setting perfect for couples. Enjoy stunning accommodations at our Manhattan boutique hotel, friendly service, and accessibility to all the top picks in dining, shopping, entertainment and more. Choose a vacation package from 36 Hudson Hotel when seeking Midtown Manhattan hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing