We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #156 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Nice hotel. Clean and friendly staff. Pricey hotel food...but it is NY. It definately was trendy...possibly a little too trendy for me.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,992 - 1,998 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

There are so many other options in the city that provide a much more satisfying stay that I will NOT be staying here again.

Location: Great

Room: (the good) Terrific floor to ceiling windows with great views. Comfy bed. (the Bad) Bathroom smelled of urine, Glass shower is completely open to the room (no option even for a privacy curtain) and room smelled strongly 'perfumed/deodorized'(?). Some other details within the room left something to be desired (concept seems to have won over functionality).

Service: Concierge/Desk staff described in another review as 'complacent'...I would agree. Neither helpful nor hospitable. The other staff was better though.

Rooftop lounge: Fantastic panoramic views (IF you can get in). Some of you will want to note it is only open to 'regular folks' until a certain hour. Later in the evening it is 'by list only'... i.e. NOT OPEN TO PAYING HOTEL GUESTS which is ludicrous, exclusionary against the hotel's patrons and, on principle alone, enough for me to book elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EastCoastGal202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemmondd, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thanks for your comments. The offered state of our rooms is of great concern at the Standard, having all areas first cleaned, inspected, and then inspected again prior to any guest arrival. I have to admit I am surprised by your experience. I’ve spoken with our Housekeeping team to see why a guest of ours would leave with such an impression, as this is clearly unacceptable.

Apologies on any confusion with The Top of The Standard. While this is a private space in the late evenings, we do invite all of our guests to visit us for Sunset Service from 4pm to 9:30pm, Tuesday through Saturday. The views are amazing! We would enjoy welcoming you back with us soon, and please let me know how I can be of help in arranging this.

Kind Regards,

David Lemmond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Absolutely loved our three day stay in this hotel. The Queen Superior room is still quite small. No hook to hung your coat or luggage rack for your suitcase. Internet is “complimentary” but never works. You can pay $19.95 a day and get faster working wireless. The views are spectacular. And location is great. Don't miss the bar on top of the hotel. Expensive but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor for added privacy. On lower floor people can really see inside of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed three nights with friends and we loved it. Will stay again i feb 2012.
We loved the location, the staff, the lobby bar, breakfast at Standard Grill and of course Boom Boom for sunset. If you are lucky you might even see Boom Boom late at night - but it's difficult to get past the bouncers... We did and had the best evening in a long time.

Room Tip: At first you might think that the city view is the thing but next time we will try the Hudson view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I was never in such a small room, beds are very small and you are not allow to get into some of the bars/clubs of the hotel unless you are register. Honestly a big deception.

Room Tip: Standars rooms are really really small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jaime m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemmondd, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thanks for your comments. While I am sorry to read your post, I would be interested in speaking with you on some specifics. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience and I would be happy to discuss why you feel your stay with us was a “mistake.” We’d love for you to give us another try!

Kind Regards,

David Lemmond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

If you travel regularly on business, THIS is the hotel which will make you look forward to your next stay at a Park Hyatt or Four Seasons....

1) The upside: the views are amazing. There we can start and end this review - truly stunning. Book the corner king "Liberty" for the most incredible Manhattan sunset and sunrise skylines or the "Empire" for the northerly Manhattan vantage - either are great. Accept high floor only....you'll regret it otherwise....just not too high and thus too close to their boom-boom-room (hey, they don't call it that for nothing!).

Now the downsides:

2) remember you're booking into a "party hotel". It's >SO< party that you can see the razor blade lines in the tabletops from the worshippers-of-charlie who've previously overnighted in your room. Your neighbours arriving from the local chill-out lounges will ensure you hear the continuation of their party, hours after the party is over...

3) the design of the "wet shower" will ensure that you, and all of your toiletries, are just that: wet. The sinks were bought on the cheap and don't drain properly. Wait til you see where they put the large screen TV's - smack dead in the middle of your expensive Manhattan skyline view (corner room). There's no exhaust fan in the toilet "cabin". That said, whoever purchased the mattresses did well....

4) "room service" lacks the "service" - coffee day one, 51 minutes flat and coffee day two was under 48 - so don't plan an early check-out.

5) you can also forget a friendly welcome or special guest services - you need to book at the rooftop bar (no special contingency for hotel guests) and same at the restaurant (albeit there are plenty of restaurants, bars, and nightclubs in the area...see 2 above). The limos from Jersey pull up at all hours of the night and you'll hear the inebriated young Jersey girls on the high floors, as well as the low, too. Yes, all that entertainment from the quiet of your own room. Just don't expect the hotel staff to anticipate that you, too, might want a quiet nights sleep as your principle desire in a "hotel".

6) in addition to the expected "Manhattan drone" of cars, horns and street-sounds which you'll hear at any NYC hotel, you can look forward to the semi-trucks arriving to the local meatpacking district meat-packers with their annoying "beep-beep-beep" reverse warning sirens just prior to the arrival of your neighbours from the after hours club (see 2 above). There are also major construction projects on both the north and south side of the hotel - the west rooms all overlook the westside highway (joy, zoom, joy, siren) and the east rooms are all corners - so there is no escape if you crave silence other than earplugs.

7) I'm boring, you are too....so I'll stop here and let your imagination or high fill in any other details.

Room Tip: See review above....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemmondd, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thanks for your comments. I am sorry to hear of your experience, and would like to address a few of your points.

1.) Glad you appreciated our views! They are really spectacular and unique in the city.

2.) While we do have a upbeat atmosphere at The Standard, it’s equally important to us that all of our guests enjoy a restful night’s sleep. In the event that other guests of the hotel are preventing this, our Guest Relations department is more than happy to help and can be reached by dialing “0” from your room phone.

3.) We take great pride on our design and had our items custom made for this property. With that said, we understand that this style is not for everyone.

4.) I want to apologize for the delay in service you mention. This feedback is being brought up with our management team to see why there was a disconnect on the prompt and attentive service we aim to provide each guest.

5.) Again we hope each of our guests enjoy a restful night’s sleep. The Top of The Standard, Le Bain, our Biergarten and The Standard Grill have become quite the venues in New York in their own right. While we do hope that our guests can experience these great spaces reservations, on availability, are strongly recommended.

6.) We apologize if any outside noise from the neighborhood was an issue during your stay. Our team is always willing to provide suggestions on how to better the stay of each of our guests.

I do hope to welcome you back with us soon, and appreciate your candid comments. Please don’t hesitate to let me know how I can help with any questions or concerns.

Kind Regards,

David Lemmond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed 5 nights after Christmas. Great location, amazing views from the hotel and helpful service and staff. Nice hotel bar. Apparently there's a club ( Boom Boom Room) which is open after 9pm, but hotel guests are not allowed in. You have to be on the guest list, if you're lucky.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodnwinentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#213 of 469 in New York City
1,836 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#127 of 469 in New York City
3,596 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#84 of 469 in New York City
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#208 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 469 in New York City
663 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 469 in New York City
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £244 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing