We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #146 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and views.”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The upside: Great location, cool views, especially from cocktail bar

The Downside: trying to sleep with noise from niteclub which as a resident I think you should NOT have to queue up in the freezing cold for, nor should you be asked for I.D. when clearly over 25 and resident in the hotel. We weren't asked for I.D. anywhere else in NY.

Thanksgiving dinner in hotel's restaurant was disappointing - sloppy looking, overlooked turkey and watery mashed potato you wouldn't give a dog.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindfulmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,439
    755
    340
    141
    132
See reviews for
177
1,233
230
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Location is fantastic. Views are spectacular, particularly from the rooftop bar which is must. You see the new World Trade Tower and the river. It has a cool vibe. There is also a closed in bar on top which is really elegant. The rooms are lacking and do not quite fit the price, interiors seem rathe dated in spots but the hotel is purposefully quirky. Try to get a room with towards the end of the building but the river to get a great view.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BJAJDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Standard, High Line. So glad to hear you enjoyed the neighborhood and our spectacular views! We appreciate your feedback on the guestroom design...quirky and cool are definitely part of our personality at The Standard. We’ve noted your profile that you’d like to be at the end of the building with a river view. Hope to see you back again soon!

Cheers,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I previously stayed at The Standard when the hotel first opened in 2009, but recently stayed over the weekend & had an amazing stay! Literally every single person I came in contact with from the Front Desk, Housekeeping, Room Service, Guest Services, Bellman, The Standard Grill, & The Shop were super friendly, warm, hip and extremely attractive! Irina who checked me in was awesome- she set an amazing first impression, hit all the right notes, was cool, yet warm and was so nice! When I called down for assistance with my bags, Jake kindly helped me out and was very nice. Brian, my bellman, was awesome and helped me get a cab and could not have been nicer! Aubrey from Guest Services helped me out with adding a friends name onto my booking and was super sweet. I don't know who checked me out, but she was again, nice and wished me safe travels. Someone from Housekeeping even called to see if I needed service, and wished me safe travels as well. Jaris who made my reservation was very efficient! Everyone rocked! Thank you so much!

I was in 1524, which had an amazing view of both the city, the Empire State building, a sliver of the High Line, West Side Highway and the Hudson River- it was beautiful! The room was very modern and cozy, with a fantastic Queen bed that was extremely comfy, an amazing rain fall shower that had insanely good pressure, a huge tub, a separate W/C, and my favorite part, the little alcove the desk and cushy seating area that was awesome to browse on my laptop, observe the views, and eat room service. The room smelled very good and was fresh and clean. Everything worked perfectly, including the heat and A/C unit. I also loved the closet with plenty of space, the shampoo and soap that smells like honey and the cool little guides that come with your key card. I really loved my room and the overall layout was just perfect.

One of the highlights of my stay was the food! I went down to the bar with a great friend and we had drinks, a light meal, and some dessert, and everything was delicious and the space and atmosphere was just fantastic. The Room Service Food was so delicious! Ariana, Jason and Peter from room service were all so nice! I loved the Cobb Salad with Radish, the bread was soft and delicious, the Poached Eggs for Breakfast, the Potato Soup with homemade chips was incredibly satisfying, the Lemon Twizzle cocktail was so delicious, the Grilled Chicken Paillard was the perfect light lunch and my favorite dessert ever was the Banana Pudding from Room service- it was so incredibly amazing! I had it twice during my stay- it's not too sweet- a smooth pudding base, ripe banana slices, whipped cream, then topped with Crumbled shortbread- I'm still craving it!

I also loved the overall design, the carpet in the hallways leading to my room, the hip lobby, and the extremely good looking bellman! I had an amazing time and looking forward to returning soon. Thanks for an amazing stay!

Best,
Patrick Winkler

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickwNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Amazing review Patrick! It’s wonderful to hear that since your last stay 4 years ago…we were still able to blow you away. Thank you for your kind comments, I’ve shared them with our staff. Hope to see you back at The Standard, High Line soon!

Cheers
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Loved our weekend at the Standard, High Line. I must say, almost everything about this chic hotel is great. Of course (everybody says it) the location in the meatpacking district and on the High Line absolutely is value-added to the experience.
The staff at the front desk on our arrival was extremely nice (though the hostess' "cleavage" was a little distracting for this aging hipster I confess). Request a room in the higher floors for the views if possible, but I understand you don't want to be under the club on the top floors or right near the elevator. It was just a little too chilly to spend our first evening at the rooftop bar -- but the views from there were stunning. You just gotta go up there!
I must say, the rooms do seem SMALL and a bit cramped, although well-designed. Bathrooms have HUGE tubs and super-comfy beds ==> the bed is too low to the floor for my taste & comfort. I guess this is a "design thing" because of the floor-to-ceiling windows. This is certainly not a hotel for fuds (I also stubbed my toe a few times on the mini step-up to the bathroom) -- and I certainly did not like getting turned away at the elegant upstairs bar first time around [for wearing sneakers not shoes]. Drinks at the bar were uber pricey -- but I suppose if you are paying the price of staying at this hotel, just be prepared to go with the flow! We had Saturday and Sunday breakfasts in the cozy bistro-café. Excellent breakfast food. For dinner I recommend Fig & Olive around the corner. Mini-bar was well stocked with plenty of alcohol and treats, but at a premium price (to be expected).
Overall, we loved our stay -- and would likely return.

Room Tip: See comments above -- VERY important!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banjoman2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The location of the hotel above the high line trail, and in the meatpacking district was great. Lots of shopping and eating opportunities were available and we found we liked the neighborhood better than Soho. We stayed on the 7th floor in a Deluxe Queen ADA room with a view that faced the Hudson River, the Brass Monkey rooftop and the new Whitney, which is under construction. The room itself was comfortable. The ADA designation means that there is no bathtub, only a shower and the bathroom is large enough for a wheelchair to maneuver and has grab bars. The shower has one very dim light, so it might be difficult to see in there at night. Both the shower and bathroom are finished with shiny black-glazed tile.When you come into the room, the bathroom is on the left and shower on the right. The floor to ceiling windows are directly ahead with the bed area to the left and seating area and closet to the right. The seating area has a small sofa, table and leather swivel chair, a hanging fixture over the table and a magazine rack. The closet is behind a curtain and has two small cubbies a safe, a hanging rod with shelf above.The bed area has nightstands on either side of the bed and has a clock radio with iPod connector (old style). There are dimmable lights above the headboard and switch and dimmer for the room lights. The bath products in the room are pleasant, with a small glycerine soap bar, small pot of honey-scented body lotion, a packet of cotton balls/swabs and ear plugs. I brought my own ear plugs which blocked sound better than the ones provided. The shower has shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in pumps attached to the wall. The products had a nice Aveda-like scent but are not Aveda. The bed seemed spongy upon sitting on it, but for sleeping, it was very comfortable. Except for some loud-talkers in the hallway and the noise from the brass monkey, there wasn't much noise beyond the background din of the city. I use the earplugs to block out my partner's snoring!
There is a mini bar in a fridge for beverages and a cabinet above for snacks. I couldn't find the price list anywhere in the room. There are wine glasses, an ice bucket, a wine opener in the room. There was a candle in the room but wasn't sure if this was a mini bar item or part of the amenities.
The TV planted in the floor may have been a cool design idea (and perhaps helps with sound) but it interferes with getting out of one side of the bed and with the view.
The heating/cooling worked well and didn't give us any problems.
Facilities:
The gym on the 17th floor is decent and has great views. There are about 6-8 cardio machines and maybe 2-4 weight machines. There are also some free weights. Not a lot of room for floor work, though.
The open air rooftop bar and lounge is fun for a late afternoon/early evening drink. The upholstered furniture had nasty stains on it, so we stuck to the webbed chairs.
The boom boom room has some marvelous views of the city and cozy spots to sit by a fireplace. If you want a drink here, you'll need to get it yourself. The staff only seem interested in serving certain tables.
The plaza bar is good for people watching. Not all the seating has overhead heaters, so pay attention if you are sitting outside and want to be warm.
The Standard Grill front room is a pleasant spot to have breakfast. Service is efficient and friendly. The servers wear funky plaid pants and vests. I suggest the hotel re-work the continental breakfast from the 1 hot (coffee/tea), 1 cold bev (orange/grapefruit juice), choice of pastries and choice of toast to work in some protein and fruit. Who needs pastries AND toast? Plus there are enough pastries in one person's order to feed two people. Continental breakfast was included in our room package,
Getting up to the club late at night is impossible without an invitation or guest list privileges. We didn't inquire with the concierge about getting in ahead of time, so maybe that is how it works.
They separate the guest elevators from the club elevators at night so we didn't experience the mix-up of club-goers and hotel guests I've read on other reviews.

Room Tip: ADA rooms only have a shower in case you want a room with a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank club241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Whilst location, design and the restaurants and bars are fantastic, it is once again the superb staff who made the 7 night stay outstanding. Nothing is too difficult for these guys!
Looking forward to my next NYC visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a Queen size Deluxe Room on the 17th Floor, facing Uptown towards the Empire State Building - what a view - especially so at night from the bedroom seeing the twinkling lights! The service was excellent throughout our stay of 5 days, from booking in to drinking in the 18th floor Bar. The Standard Grill downstairs was one of the best meals - you just have to have the burger and share the huge brownie. A great stay we hope to return.

Room Tip: The higher floors looking uptown would be the best in our view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
1,790 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#100 of 467 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
639 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#174 of 467 in New York City
683 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing