We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #141 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location location location”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Pros are great location in meatpacking district, great top floor bar, but sometimes a bit pretentious, lovely food in restaurant.

Cons are...well I can't think of any apart from its not cheap and the bar pretentiousness as mentioned above.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,392
    740
    330
    135
    130
See reviews for
166
1,195
227
626
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Great location. Potentially a top hotel. Staff were warm and friendly in the main. However, some were clearly judging the value of guests on appearance (or in the case of the rooftop bar by footwear). It was bemusing to see it go wrong a couple of times.

Be aware that a new building is starting to be erected next to the hotel, so factor in a bit of noise from sunrise to sunset.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Me20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Hotel is very hip and in an awesome location right in the Meatpacking area of NYC. Close walk to the West Village. Check in was very easy and the room was a decent size for NYC. As others have noticed, the shower has a window right into the main room so be wary of that based off who you are traveling with. Went to the rooftop bar which was a good time, albeit slightly pretentious. Had a nice time and will look to return next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Superb location in an outstanding part of the city. The hotel has great views, top restaurants, outstanding rooftop bar and highly professional and yet laid back staff. The view from the gym is world class and worth staying for that alone. Enjoy

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DesireeD758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Standard is the ultimate in cool; understated and somewhat stark, the air filled with the scent of amber candles and the sound of foreign accents. I was set for the place to be snotty, with chilly "better than you" service. But, from the valet parkers to the doormen to the coffee bar server to the front desk clerk, everyone was cordial and welcoming. The Standard takes price in its chi-chi rep but no one takes themselves too seriously. Fabulous accommodations , low-key, super clean furnishings and the most comfortable hotel bed I've been in in a long time. The room was lacking a few things: 1) an in room Keurig-type coffee maker that's become derigeur, 2) a generous selection of bathroom amenity extras guests have come to expect from high end hotels -- here, there was only shampoo, conditioner and lotion -- and 3) drywall between the shower and the bed. In our queen room, only a pane of shower glass separated those in the douche from others in the room so unless you like putting on a Show for your roommate, trust him when he says he won't peek or have no modesty, you may have a problem. Overnight, the room was blissfully quiet (except for the confused drunken woman who banged on our door in error at 3am ... But that can happen anywhere..). Luckily, we had an early morning because construction across Washington Street started bright and early. It is a very long term project that soundproof window glass can't muffle. But, that's NYC and we weren't bothered. This winter, the hotel set up an ice skating rink in front of the building which was a real treat. Great Meatpacking District location, just south of Chelsea

Room Tip: Super insulated windows are a huge help muffling street noise, however guests in rooms facing Washin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

So my friends and I are staying here right now. No running water because of some disaster last night upstairs. No sleep because of all the leaking water. And to top it off, no help from the front desk after several calls. So, here we are, no way to take a shower or even brush our teeth after a sleepless night. What little water we have is coming out of the tap brown. The nice maintenance guy who came to check out our complaint was the only positive. What a great start to the new year! Thanks management for caring about your guests.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterbaby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello

Our sincere apologies that you were inconvenienced by the unexpected water issue in the building…not an ideal way to start the New Year for everyone in the building. We understand this must have been very frustrating and management was available to assist in guests every way possible. If you are still on property please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind regards,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The room I stayed in had a great view, not spacious but that's expected/acceptable in NYC. It was very clean and an overall good room experience. The location was also very ideal. However, when I stay at high-end hotels I expect a certain type of service and respect -- and did not get that at The Standard Highline. No one was even there to get our bags as we first arrived. Overall, I was a little turned off by that and will most likely not be staying there again. If you are looking for a wonderful hotel in a great location, I would recommend The Trump Soho.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,722 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#99 of 467 in New York City
3,437 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#177 of 467 in New York City
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#116 of 467 in New York City
564 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
621 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#102 of 467 in New York City
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing