We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience Outside. Poor Inside.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #164 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

OK I'll agree to one thing right away: the rooms have great views and I selected the Standard High Line for that reason. I love the building and the area so The Standard High Line was a natural choice.

My room was on the 13th floor (no superstition) and faced downtown. View was OK (Whitney Museum of American Art in progress). The room is fairly spacious for NYC. Loved the little nook with the bench and table.

My disappointment is with the little attention you are given. I stayed two nights. Complimentary water was offered only on the first night. Turn down service was offered only on the first night as well... I'm used to little attentions (like next day's weather, a chocolate etc.) with turn down - especially at this price range (even in NYC). Here nothing.

Oh yeah, and on the 13th floor you can hear the music from the roof-top club throughout the night. Nice.

I wouldn't recommend the Standard High Line, except if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yulcdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 2,906 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed at the Standard for 3 nights. The hotel, restaurant and bars were great. Rooms were modern with floor to ceiling windows. Ours had a great view of the Empire State building. My only complaint was that it was a bit noisy. We could hear the noise from the street and the rooftop bar. I would not use this as an excuse not to go back. Beds were very comfortable and the Bathrooms were really cool. There were so many positives on our visit that outweigh the noise factor. The restaurant was very good too. Food and service for dinner were great. Service for breakfast was so so. But we were not in a hurry so it was fine. I would definitely go back to the Standard. The location and the experience were great.

Room Tip: Try Fig and Olives restaurant around the corner for a great option if you are there for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked four nights at the hotel but we stayed on for another four nights due a medical emergency. The staff was very kind and helpful with the arrangements. The rooms very nicely furnished and the views fabulous.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed a weekend in spring 2013. High floor, 2 from the top, no issues with noise from the club above. Rooms have incredible views and are very interesting, to the say the least. Yes the rooms are tiny but they are very modern in style, with full floor to ceiling windows and see-through window into the shower. Highline is right there, so its great access to walking on a nice day. There are tons of shops and restaurants in the immediate vicinity too. The general area has a lot to offer in the same regard. Maybe the best location in the city to be a homebase for a visit.

The hotel staff is very good and valet/check-in/etc was a breeze. The drinks and food at the hotel establishments are very good. Recommend the hotel restaurant for breakfast/brunch and the outdoor patio for drinks. The top-floor bar makes great, if not super expensive drinks, but good vibe and awesome views. It is worth the visit.The rooftop club was not open during our stay. The beer garden gets packed so get there early to avoid a line.

Note that you get no special consideration at any hotel clubs, bars, or restaurants for being a hotel guest. Props to the hotel staff all around as I bet they deal with a lot of crap on the weekends, most of the people on the property aren't hotel guests but just there to party.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room for better views but not directly below the Boom Boom Room. Corner rooms are lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_large_farva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here for 10 days and loved it! The staff is incredibly helpful, the vibe is very cool. The rooms are small, but very well designed. The floor to ceiling windows allow for an amazing view of the city. The food is great (breakfast french toast is amazing) and there are a number of restaurants within walking distance, including upscale, diners, burger joints, Thai food and Chelsea Market. The location is fantastic. It is a great place to sit on the patio and people watch as there were a number of fashion shoots going on (and a few celebrity sitings) while I was there. I will definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you like to soak in a tub, as for a room with a tub (not all rooms have a tub).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSav0ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Everything about this hotel is amazing. The staff - particularly the concierge staff are fantastic and very helpful. Location is fantastic. The beer hall area is definitely a bit of fun. Hate the token system, but I guess can put up with that.

Room Tip: A room down towards manhattan is excellent, best view from a hotel room in NYC I've had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

One of the best places to stay in NYC.
The location is great, next to the high line park, amazing view from its roof top, rooms are very clean, cozy and staff will provide you a nice time in there!
The view from rooms is also amazing, and i´d recomend it for a a romantic trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#223 of 469 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#134 of 469 in New York City
3,624 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#194 of 469 in New York City
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#80 of 469 in New York City
656 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#159 of 469 in New York City
669 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#173 of 469 in New York City
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £214 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above a former elevated train line that has become downtown’s favorite public park, The Standard, High Line is located in New York City’s Meatpacking District. Every one of the 338 rooms features a full wall of floor-to-ceiling windows with sweeping views of Manhattan and/or the mighty Hudson River. The hotel’s inviting and scintillating public spaces include a bustling German beer garden at ground level, the rooftop discothèque Le Bain, the legendary Top of The Standard, and an outdoor public plaza with rotating art installations and a winter ice rink. A neighborhood staple, the award-winning Standard Grill melds a brasserie atmosphere with new American cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing