We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design, location, party place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #153 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What to say that you have not read before! This place has it all! The rooms design is very sleek, rooms have amazing views, the bedding was perfect not to soft nor too hard. Size is small but then again compared to New York it is in line with the standards.
Their restaurants and bars are great, awesome vibe! Loved the Standard grill (amazing cheese cakes) and if you can get in, the boom boom room is awesome!
I loved it but can understand that this hotel is not for all...let's put it this way, if you are their to have a beauty sleep, it is not for you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eolopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear eolopinion

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Sounds like you had a great time! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our rooms and many of our food and beverages outlets.

Hope to see you back at the Standard, High Line soon!

Cheers,
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 2,922 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at The Standard Hotel High line and really enjoyed the experience as a couple in our early 40s. The hotel has a great location in the Meatpacking District. Loads of good restaurants and bars around. The rooms are small and bathrooms without doors but it works out if you stay as a couple. We had both breakfast and dinner at the Standard Grill which was good but pricey. They are better options around but there is a great atmosphere and buzz all over the hotel. Overall a good hotel in a great location and so much better than staying Midtown. We will be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mbaCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear mbaCopenhagen

I’m so glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay! The Meatpacking District is indeed a vibrant neighborhood… we all certainly enjoy it!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cheers,
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

When we checked in the friendly lady said she would send bottle complementary champagne but it never arrived. Rooms are small but expected that. Need more pillow options. Didn't like the exposed shower. Nice hotel though. Busy on weekends upstairs and down. Downstairs bar make great cocktails

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jemskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear jemskins

Thank you for your review. I hope that despite your slight inconveniences you had a pleasant Honeymoon. I wanted to let you know that we do offer rooms with a private shower as well as different pillows on request. Please feel free to reach out to us prior to your next stay to arrange these options.

Cheers,
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Standard Highline is a truly cool hotel over top the Highline. Our room had an excellent view and the Meatpacking District is a great area of Manhattan. We had no trouble utilizing the hotel's valet parking service which was very convenient and reasonable for NYC. Our room was clean, super comfortable and reminded us of the ergonomic rooms we're familiar with seeing in Europe. The Biergarten on the ground floor is reminiscent of being in Munich but not quite. It's expensive but it is Manhattan and we did enjoy the atmosphere, pretzels and beer. The Sunday afternoon crowd was quite young (mostly 20 something), energetic, and fun. We shared an outstanding dinner at The Spice Market just a block away. Our weather was less than cooperative so we enjoyed some time at the Chelsea Market checking out the wide array of shops. Some time on the Highline is a must weather permitting. Look for coupons or promo codes for a possible discount at The Standard. I saved $100 with the promo code I found. I would recommend the hotel to friends visiting NYC.

Room Tip: There is an extra charge for water view rooms however in my opinion, our view of the Highline and Em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10acious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed 6 nights in april 2014 on a business trip. Had a 17th floor room facing uptown. Beautiful unobstructed views of the city. Room is intelligently designed and everything "seems in the right place". Because of the various bars/restaurants in the complex, the lobby can be a bit tough to negociate at night, but not a big deal. Staff is pleasant. Wifi not free and it should have been.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel has the best location, fantastic restaurant, friendly staff, comfortable bed, so why wouldn't I go back? The corner suite we booked was not cheap , so when we were shown to our room I couldn't believe how small it was, even for New York standards. So small , one side of the bed was jammed against the window and one had to jump over the end of the bed just to get out. The cupboard was just a hole in the wall with a curtain! We had trouble storing our three suitcases and were constantly in turmoil getting clothes out etc. it was a long five days.
Soooo disappointed

Room Tip: Don't get a corner suite unless you like sleeping in a room the size of a cupboard !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255103linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear 255103linda,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Standard, High Line. While our rooms are cozy in size, many guests still find them comfortable and modern; I’m so sorry you didn’t agree. We have a variety of room sizes at the hotel. If you prefer to spread out a bit more I suggest our Hudson Studio…floating over the Hudson River, they are to die for! We do hope you’ll join us in the future and once again enjoy our fabulous location, staff, and food and beverage offerings.

Please feel free to contact me directly to assist with finding you the perfect room!

Cheers
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from 4 nights staying at The Standard. We have been to New York loads of times, but as this trip was our honeymoon, we wanted somewhere pretty special. We weren't disappointed!

We had room 1223 with amazing views of the river, Liberty and The Freedom Tower. We slept with one set of curtains open, so we didn't miss the view from the moment we woke up.

The room was a brilliant size, open plan. The bath in the middle of the room felt very decadent while we sipped bubbly, soaking, taking in NY around us.

The bed gave us the best nights of sleep we've ever had. The linen is very soft and luxurious. The bed; massive!

The staff are really friendly & helpful. They booked dinner reservations for us. Booked taxis. Gave us free coffee!

Le Bain have us a truly epic Saturday night. We couldn't quite believe we were there. The view, music and atmosphere have given us memories and pictures to treasure.

The hotel has got it spot on. We really did 'Stay Cool' in NYC. And we won't stay anywhere else from now on. The Standard has got it all!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank franthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#221 of 470 in New York City
1,854 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 470 in New York City
3,635 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#229 of 470 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#80 of 470 in New York City
667 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 470 in New York City
675 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#179 of 470 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £213 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above a former elevated train line that has become downtown’s favorite public park, The Standard, High Line is located in New York City’s Meatpacking District. Every one of the 338 rooms features a full wall of floor-to-ceiling windows with sweeping views of Manhattan and/or the mighty Hudson River. The hotel’s inviting and scintillating public spaces include a bustling German beer garden at ground level, the rooftop discothèque Le Bain, the legendary Top of The Standard, and an outdoor public plaza with rotating art installations and a winter ice rink. A neighborhood staple, the award-winning Standard Grill melds a brasserie atmosphere with new American cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing