We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky place in a funky town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Standard, High Line

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Funky place in a funky town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a great place to stay if you are hip! And I mean really, really hip, not a pretender like me. Rooms are small but with a great view. Bar and dining arrangements are a bit confusing with various entrances, times, dress codes etc. the upstairs bar (the one without the strict dress code) is uber cool hence on a sunny Sunday like today it rather resembled a caged chicken factory for the young uber dudes. Much more preferable are the downstairs restaurants which have great food and drinks, excellent staff and a great view of the passing parade of uberatti. Would I come back? Probably but my wardrobe would require a major renovation first. The free bicycles are a great way to get around and the staff on the front desk are fabulous.
I

Room Tip: Prepare to dig a bit deeper than you would normally prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Ian M

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It’s nice to hear you had such a pleasant stay! I am glad you got to experience many of our Food and Beverage outlets as they all have something unique to offer. The free bikes are definitely a fun amenity and a wonderful way to get out and see the city!

We hope you can join us again at The Standard, High Line real soon!

Cheers,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,376
    733
    328
    133
    131
See reviews for
165
1,180
225
622
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband treated us to a 5 night blow out trip to NYC for my birthday. The Standard was the perfect hotel for us:

Fantastic location
Amazing city view
Great bathtub and shower
Wonderfully comfortable bed
Efficient room service

We didn't hear the night club and had no problem checking it out on our last night. The formal bar at the top of the Standard has amazing views.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a river view - the city view is amazeballs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S-ABSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear S-ABSussex

Thank you for your review! I am so glad we got to be a part of your birthday celebration! Sounds like you had a wonderful time. Our location and views throughout the building certainly set us apart from the rest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Standard, High Line soon!

Cheers,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I booked the Hudson Suite for my final 2 nights during my trip to NYC.... and what a way to end the trip! I highly recommend this suite, its AMAZING! The views are so good that after 2 weeks of running around you don't feel so bad to sleep in that bit longer to enjoy the room while you have it!

The staff in general were quite good. Concierge actually were fun and aren't as starchy as some other hotels so thumbs up to them!

As a solo I definitely recommend this hotel for other solo travelers. I loved the area, close to lots of night spots and good eats.

The only fault I would say is that I had to wait to check in for over an hour as the room had not been cleaned. Although the staff were apologetic I would say that I wasn't really impressed that I had to wait especially since I'd be running around all day. That said, the suite was really worth the wait!

Room Tip: It was a tad noisy at the 15th floor due to the rooftop bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Kittyau

Thank you for your review. Sounds like you had an amazing trip to New York City and I am so glad The Standard, High Line was able to contribute to your experience! Our location in the Meatpacking District is ideal for various activities and so lively that it’s easy to forget you are traveling alone! Our staff is unique and fun and I am glad you were able to work with our knowledgeable concierge team, they certainly know the best way to see New York!

We hope to welcome you back to The Standard, High Line soon!

Cheers,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location however:
1. The hotel caters to casual visitors to the rooftop bars and give little recognition to hotel guests. The congestion at the lifts of a weekend is a nightmare. There is no priority or reserved lift for hotel guests.
2. The wifi in rooms drops in and out and to get a constant signal you need to sit in the hallway.
3. The TV streaming signal also drops out mid show and often does not return.
4. The maids don't replace the soap even when you have to leave a note requesting more.
5. Unlike other hotels there are no umbrellas kept at the front desk for guests. If the one in your room is broken, as was ours, there are no others.
6. The wardrobe is so small that none of our international bags will fit in it opened or closed.
The hotel is very popular but the focus is not on hotel guests. They are clearly making money form people eating and drinking here.

Room Tip: Ask to be above street noise around 14 but well away from the rooftop area of 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear C S

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It appears we missed the mark on several of your expectations and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in your experience here at The Standard, High Line. We take all feedback very serious and I have passed your concerns onto the appropriate departments.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to discuss in further detail.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Loved my stay at The Standard last month - now THOSE are rooms with a view. Top of The Standard bar is great, but the door girls are rather airheaded and snooty. Full details and pics on my blog: http://hyhoi.com/2014/05/standard-high-line-hotel-new-york/

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view. Both uptown and downtown views rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Nina F

Thank you for your review! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the amazing views throughout the hotel!

We hope to welcome you back to The Standard, High Line soon!

Cheers,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

After just staying at the Standard for one night I can only advise staying far away. We found our room to be acceptable (all be it small with a strange shower layout that for those with mobility issues would present a major issue) as were the dinning options which is good. Now for the problems during the course of a less than 24 hour stay we got stuck on various floors of the hotel for more than fifteen minutes each time with elevator issues. In two cases my wife and I walked down six flights of stairs exiting the building through a service entrance just to leave. Upon notice the hotel seemed unphased at the on going elevator issues and made little attempt to explain or make the issue right. A hotel of this cost must find a way to better communicate and handle there maintenance issues. We won't be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Kyle H

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry for the elevator issues you experienced during your stay. This was an unforeseen circumstance and one that we take extremely serious. Our staff did everything possible to minimize the impact to guests and I am very sorry for the inconveniences this may have caused you.

We hope to welcome you back to The Standard, High Line soon!

Cheers,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing