We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #162 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was worried about the friendliness of the staff after reading some reviews but everyone was friendly and attentive. The view from my room was spectacular, part river, part Highline. The room itself was quite unique as it had a glass enclosed shower right next to the bed which my husband and I laughed about. The restaurants were all nice but Top of the Standard and the Biergarten were very crowded, even for a Saturday afternoon. Such a great fun neighborhood and being on the Highline was definitely a plus.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi Robbin
Thank you for your review! I am glad you had a nice stay and that our staff exceeded your expectations. Our food and beverage outlets are a popular destination for tourists and locals alike, creating a very lively buzz throughout the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 2,902 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

After a long day of stress filled with meetings at work --- I was spoiled every time I entered the Hotel. The Front Desk staff always had a smile which helped change my mood - they also immediately addressed my needs - dinner and other special requests. One night I was so tired, I was just going to order room service, but after discussing with the concierge - I ultimately ended up at the Standard Grill. I had a great meal and I was impressed by the table touching from a manager - can't remember his name - but it was nice to be treated so kindly. I will come back for pleasure if my wife ever wants to hit the city.

Room Tip: I had a view of the Hudson River - was sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi Robert

Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay and that you had great interactions with our staff! Service is our main focus so it's always nice to hear that we have exceeded expectations. We hope to welcome you and your wife back to The Standard, High Line real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A check was wrongly settled to my hotel room but also authorized to another my credit card:
the only thing they had to do was giving me back immediately the money
that they had improperly withheld because of their mistake.
During my stay, in addition to having held my money,
my room was always ice cold,it rained for two days from the ceiling
and no one has ever brought me the kettle that I asked for five times!
I wrote them many times to know where my friends could withdraw the money,
but ...no answers !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank antoniomilanitaly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Antonio,

I am so sorry to learn about your challenges with our authorization policies and that there was a mistake in your billing. If this has not yet been resolved, please reach out to me directly and we will handle immediately. Additionally, it appears we dropped the ball on your room service requests and for this I apologize. Should you choose to give us another chance, please reach out to Julie in our Executive Office (Jguerra@standardhotel.com) and she will make sure you are well looked after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the standard. The room I booked was 'The Hudson Studio' and it had an amazing view of the city and Hudson with glass on the three walls of the room.

The hotel also has one of the best clubs in the city...only downer was that they did not give preference to hotel guests

Room Tip: Hudson Studio was just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Licentious69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hello! Thank you for your review! So glad to hear you had a nice stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We have never been treated so badly as in the standard. We arrived late night with a reservation that was already fully paid. We were told our rooms were not available because they were flooded. We could noticed the hotel was overbooked. We were sent to a filthy hotel in china town, without a restaurant, without bottled water, without any facility. We arrived to the hotel they sent us to and starved because we were afraid to go out and look for something. Also we were told we had a suite booked at this filthy hotel and it was a lie, we had the cheapest room. We were requested to return tomorrow. I really hope they make it out for us although I don't think there's anything they can do. The manager was rude instead of apologetic.
The lobby is ugly.
They give more attention to their bars than to the hotel and their guests.
It's a shame because it's not a cheap hotel.
We are extremely mad.

Stayed: July 2014
10  Thank Mir_fjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hello. I am so sorry about not being able to accommodate you on your first night in New York. I hope that you have found our upgraded rooms satisfactory and can enjoy the rest of your stay with us. If there is anything I can do to make your stay more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel allowed us an early check in since our flight arrived before 4pm. The décor was clean and comfortable in the room. The Standard Grill restaurant was on the property next door and had a very good lunch. The hotel has no swimming pool which is too bad.
The first night we were there they brought us complementary water and beer while we were out. Very nice touch. The Standard is located in Chelsea which has the Chelsea Market nearby and lots of little restaurants and shops. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Caroline
Thank you for your review. Sounds like you had a wonderful experience at The Standard, High Line! Our location is truly ideal and the Meatpacking District is full of unique things to do. We hope you'll visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was excited to stay here, but once I arrived - that changed. I've never stayed in a room that small in my entire life. I couldn't unpack my bag because it was so cramped and could barely pass by my husband at the foot of the bed to get to the other side of the "room". The shower set up is stupid and the toiletries attached to the wall make no sense because you can't use them in the tub!
I had to pump shower gel into a glass to take a bath. I did like the bathtub. The ledge placement in the shower made no sense and they never replaced the bar of soap while we were there 4 nights!! The bed was comfortable but it sits on the floor. For $600+ I expected a LOT more!! Good luck!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXHotelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi there. I am so sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with your recent stay at The Standard, High Line. We have many types of room configurations and it seems this one did not work for you this time. Please contact Julie in the Executive Office (Jguerra@standardhotel.om) next time you plan to visit and she will help you choose a room that is better suited for your needs. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#222 of 469 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 469 in New York City
3,623 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#199 of 469 in New York City
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 469 in New York City
656 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#163 of 469 in New York City
667 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#177 of 469 in New York City
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £216 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above a former elevated train line that has become downtown’s favorite public park, The Standard, High Line is located in New York City’s Meatpacking District. Every one of the 338 rooms features a full wall of floor-to-ceiling windows with sweeping views of Manhattan and/or the mighty Hudson River. The hotel’s inviting and scintillating public spaces include a bustling German beer garden at ground level, the rooftop discothèque Le Bain, the legendary Top of The Standard, and an outdoor public plaza with rotating art installations and a winter ice rink. A neighborhood staple, the award-winning Standard Grill melds a brasserie atmosphere with new American cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing