We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #146 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I stay at hotels about 90 days a year and I don't ever remember being so humiliated ever. The service is terrible and the staff is unbelievable arrogant. They think they are the hottest thing in the world but in reality it is just a modern hip hotel in a location that I would call a dump. It was probably my biggest mistake to stay there and I had originally booked for 4 nights and left after the first night even though they had to charge for another night!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,439
    755
    340
    141
    132
See reviews for
177
1,233
230
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Love this place - the NY office of my company is two blocks away so this is by far the most convenient location for me. Views are great from the room and the gym is awesome. Its a bit nightcluby so if you're not dressed to impress you'll feel a little sloppy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2010

+++The view of the room was priceless! Relaxing on the fantastic bed with the softest linnen ever was so nice after a whole day walking in the city. Waking up at 5 AM due to jet lag and watching the city wake up, what an experience. Brian the bell boy was extremely nice and made our fist impression of the hotel very good.
- - - The staff had an attitude (except Brian off course). Don't know why because they are there at my service not the other way around. As someone else already posted here you sometimes feel you need to please them.

If you can ignore the stuck up faces of the staff (except Brian off course) it's a wonderfull hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimke80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed at the Standard for four nights in november and loved the hotel and most of all the area. The hotel itself is very cool and modern in a retro 50s style a la Mad Men! Fabulous in every detail! Large rooms for NY standard with amazing views (we stayed at 17th floor). The bed was large and very comfy and the room had all the neccessary elements! Cool furnitures, free wifi, large TV, bathtub and even conditioner (which per se is my definition of a good hotel)! The service was good, although I must add that I was rather put of when we on friday night was stopped in the door when we tried to get up to the bar on the 18th floor. Apparently the bar is privately run after 10.00 on weekend nigths and it's not enough to stay at the hotel, you have to be on the list. The bar was absolutely marvelous though, but watch our the the bloody mary as the bartender didn't seem to know that it's not enough with spice, you have to add tomato juice as well.....we had to ask for extra juice three times. The area was great, with cool bars and restaurant in every corner and nice strech for walks (along the pier and on the high line). We didn't try the grill for dinner although I'm sure it's excellent. Breakfast was very good though, but pricey. Would definitively recommend this hotel, maybe not for quiet romance but absolutely for friends looking for a good time! The hotel was pretty loud on weekends, in party mode...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1lla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We went for 4 days in new york and the hotel was superb. beautiful service. immaculate rooms with a wonderful view. the food was beyond delicious, from amazing salmon at lunch time and the best breakfast in new york. we couldnt have had a better four days.

no complaints whatsoever, truly incredible.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloebuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This is a great place, lovely design, cool neighbourhood, stunning views and one of the best bars in town. If you enjoy design, great views and a cool neigbourhood, the place is well worth evey cent. I really loved my stay at The Standard!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Loved the breakfast which with the warm wind coming in through the open doors nearly gave a tropical feel. Loved the kind service from the reception staff and concierges. Spectacular view of the hotel from the highline and specifically watching people details in each room :-). Also the selection of mini bar items is great fun!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
1,790 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#100 of 467 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
639 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#174 of 467 in New York City
683 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing