We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Marlton, NJ USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great deal!”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

The hotel was clean, the front desk was gracious and I could see the empire state bldg from my window. Yes, rooms on the small side, but you're sleeping! Will be staying here in future

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersey_KAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,959
    1,607
    314
    66
    48
See reviews for
1,325
1,555
336
887
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (996)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Most everything others have said (above a 3.5 rating) apply. The most impressive for me was the excellent service provided by the desk help (Jonathan) and the Guest Services Supervisor (Tiago). Upon very late check-in we were too tired to notice anything and showered and slept. However we did notice the noise from the nearby building's air handling units...did not get a good nights sleep. Although rooms were limited due to full booking, the staff (mentioned above) were totally helpful in arranging another room; letting us view a couple of rooms even though not yet ready, and on our choice let us know we could go out on our day and everything would be arranged. The new room was quiet and added to our enjoying the city. Very friendly and efficient staff, including the housekeeper who also ensured our room would be next upon our asking, due a need to attend an early event. It's little niceties and friendly faces that really make one feel good. Good staff!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2011

This location is so convenient with all the ground we cover in Manhattan. The room was spotless and the bed was really comfortable. The shower was great too. The hotel staff was so courteous...my husband purchased a bottle of wine for us downstairs and they so kindly offered him wine glasses and a corkscrew. We travel to NYC several times a year and have decided this will be our hotel of choice in the future.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nativenyer93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights mid April. good room size, despite what some seem to think! Beds were super comfy, very little street noise (we were on the 4th floor), breakfast very good, staff all fairly pleasant, though my sister took a bit of cheek from one receptionist when trying to reactivate her room key. She had left her passport in the safe therefore didn't have ID, my partner and I werent due back for some time, but she was refused reactivation without ID. This went on for some time until she pointed out to the manager that he had reactivated my key the night before on the basis that he remembered my face! Probably best to keep your keycard away from your mobile phone! Overall a good hotel and good location, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazfromScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My wife and I experienced excellent customer service during our 4 night getaway to NYC. The room was nice with a HDTV with HD programming. Both of us remarked how nice the mattress was - we almost always can't wait to get home to our own bed...but not this time. Excellent location. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors get you an Empire State bldg view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamille6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Very central hotel next to Herald Square and Macys, 2 blocks from Penn station. Subway access 2 doors down.
Staff were magnificent looking after all requests and organising friendly events to meet and greet other guests...thanks Tiato. Concierge very helpful also. check in and check out was seamless, I never saw a queue near reception during my time there.
Rooms were clean and tidy, and noise from street level minimal, we had a view of the Empire State building from ours.
Breakfast in restaurant was great.
I'll not look anywhere else next time I visit NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I selected this hotel because of the reviews here so I thought I should add mine
Firstly getting there. From JFK its a flat $45 fee + $5 toll so your looking at $50 + tip to get there. You can take the Air train to Howard Beach and then take an A train to Penn St and walk 5 minutes but I don't know how long it would take.

I booked through Hilton after joining the honours club, Id recommend this, You can go on standby for a bigger room. When I arrived i got a room upgrade for $19 a night to the 27th floor corner room which was amazing. Also got 2 bottles of water for free as an honours member. I had read about small rooms but this was a great size and had a huge double shower. The bed was the best ive ever slept in!! The only downside was a noise that occasionally kicked in. Not sure what it was. Maybe aircon unit?? It lasted about 20 seconds whatever it was. The fridge in the room was a nice touch too and the pavillion pantry is a good way of having access to food and drink without having a mini bar in the room

Literally yards away is a subway 34th herald Square which will get you to most places directly apart from the west side

The hotel is a 2 min walk from Empire State, 2 mins to Macys, 5 minutes to Bryant Park, 10 mins to Grand Central Station and prob 15 minutes to the Rockefeller so everywhere is convenient without the hotel being in a noisy area

For sports there are Bars a few steps away, O Reillys, The Playwright and Brendans Bar and Grill which does great food (which I believe is the bar menu in the hotel)

For breakfast you can eat in the hotel for $16. It may seem expensive but I ate in a restaurant and it was $25 so one big buffet in the hotel will keep you going most of the day

The staff are very polite and Sean the bar man is very amiable.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again no question

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing