We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT pick for NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #84 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My husband and I used to live in NYC and now go back once a year. We know what to look for in a hotel and this is a GREAT pick for NYC.
First, the LOCATION is optimal for access to both the West side and East side subway lines. The entrance to the 34th St B/D/F/V/N/Q/R/W is literally steps from the hotel lobby. You can easily get anywhere on the West side from here. The east side lines are just about a block from the hotel as well.
Second, the rooms are RECENTLY RENOVATED with a modern bathroom. Most of the NYC hotel rooms are really old and the bathrooms can be pretty yucky. These are nice, modern, and clean. The rooms are still on the small side but this is unavoidable in the city.
Third, there is a MINI-FRIDGE and microwave in all the rooms. It's really nice to be able to have cold beverages at all times and not have to overpay for the hotel's beverages.
There were other pluses as well- free wireless internet, staff is friendly, we felt welcome there, large flatscreen tvs, the "pantry" was pretty well stocked and not as expensive as other places, the "comfort bed" was pretty comfortable, housekeeping did a good job.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyctonaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,950 - 3,956 of 5,385 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

Having stayed at the HGI in Times Square last year, we thought we would try this one.
Location is great, close to Macys , Empire State etc, conceirge was really helpful, front desk very accomodating and a friendly barman in the bar. Rooms were really comfortable with every thing you need apart from a safe! . Nice bathrooms really clean with great showers.
Would have liked a real curtain rather than a decorative one at the window as it only had a net curtain which let in a little too much light at night. All in all a great place to stay, we will certainly use again .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justlimin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Enjoyed the hotel. Rooms were very clean and modern. Beautiful views from the floor we were on. Staff was helpful. Only thing we didn't love was the elevators... very narrow! Would stay again in a minute!

Room Tip: Book ahead. Price jumps a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RipleyRondaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I stayed in many different hotels in NYC during my 30 (or so) visits to the city. After reading many positive review about Hilton Garden Inn on the 35th street I decided it to give it a try and I am glad I did.
Well, the hotel rooms are pretty small (but you do not get more space in much more expensive hotels in NYC). The hotel is not old and it shows. The room incl. the bathroom was very clean and well equipped (microwave, fridge etc.). Everything in the room was in perfect working condition. The hotel provides both wired and wireless internet in the rooms with a decent speed.
The hotel is perfectly located ... very close to everything (one block to Empire State Bldg., across the street from Macy's, short walk to Times Square.
We arrived early and the front desk staff did its best to give us a room before the official check-in time.
In terms of the quality of accommodation it is definitely the best value I have ever got for a buck paid in NYC.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ED5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Very close to Penn Station, well connected and well appointed rooms.
Be it Empire State building, Madison Square garden, Time Square all are within a short walking range. You have great Korean and Mexican food joints next door, Macy*s close by and walk around to smell and feel the pulse of NY city.
Great stay, good values for money and space.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsisBandyopadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The first thing I noticed when I entered this hotel was that it all looked very new both from the outside and inside. The lobby area was small and made you wonder if the rooms were going to be like cardboard boxes. However, the rooms were just right and beautiful. Just what I would expect of a Hilton hotel. Everything looked spotlessly clean, the microwave and coffee and tea making facilities were very handy. We had 2 adjoining rooms with 2 double beds in one room and a king bed in the other. We were on the 13th floor with fantastic views of the empire state building. The best thing was the location. Macys was across the road and the subway literally seconds away. We were walking distance from times square and all the shopping places on 5th and 6th avenues. If you love the hustle and bustle then this really is the place to stay. I don't think I could have got a better location or hotel for the price. I am already planning a second trip next year and would definitely stay here again. The hotel were also kind enough to hold our luggage all day and didn't complain or frown when we kept coming back with shopping to fill our cases.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZeniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in late May for 3 nights along with his parents. We normally stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square when we visit NYC, however this hotel was cheaper and we thought we would check it out.
This hotel is in a great location, close to Macy's and the other stores on 34th street and close to the subway as well. We found it very convenient. The front desk was also good, we had ordered a number of packages online and had them delivered to the hotel, and the front desk kept these for us until we arrived. We also appreciated the fruit water and cookies in the lobby in the afternoon!
The rooms were new, and included a small fridge. They were small, but all hotel rooms in NY are small. One thing we thought was unusual was that there was no safe in the room - not sure if they plan to install a safe in the future?
Overall it was a good hotel and I would stay again.
Tip regarding the room rate - we originally booked this hotel online (via the Hilton website) fairly early (about 5 months before our trip) however we booked the refundable rate in case the price decreased before our trip. The price did decrease significantly (we had originally booked at $299 and ended up paying $239/night) and we cancelled our original booking and rebooked at the lower rate.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Bermudagirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 473 in New York City
7,521 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,054 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#162 of 473 in New York City
5,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metro...
#330 of 473 in New York City
5,157 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £104 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms and suites at an ideal Midtown Manhattan location! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street is just steps from some of New York City's best attractions including the Empire State Building, the world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Madison Square Garden/Penn Station, as well as many restaurants and nightlife. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is located near the Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and NYC airports. The hotel features 298 contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD TV, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker, desk with ergonomic chair, and complimentary WiFi access. Other amenities include 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby, the Garden Grille (open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge, room service and a 24-hour pantry. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and self-parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing