We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location and wonderfull rooms and amunities!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #78 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I and my wife visit New York City almost every year and in the last years we checked few hotels in center of Manhattan including 4-5 stars hotels. This year we get a recommendation from my colleague who stays lately in this hotel and we were very pleased to stay there too for one week.
I would like to rank three aspects about this hotel.
1. Location - The hotel is located in a wonderful area, in the corner of Herald square and in the front of Macy's. Short walking distance to Times Square and Theater district. Fifth Avenue and all fancy super stores.
2. Rooms - The rooms are new renovated and have modern design. Very large rooms comparing to other NY hotels and equipped with the latest entertainment accessories. The bathroom is bright and has a large bathing space. Only about 20 rooms in a floor i.e. each room is not far away from the elevator. The hallway and public areas are nice decorated and they serve fresh coffee/Tee and cold water during all day.
3. Guest service – we where impressed by the friendly and efficient front desk people and the very helpful concierge that where there always to give us advice and support. They price was also reasonable and it's certainly worth every penny.
I definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and colleagues.
Hemda & Simcha Segev
Ramat-Gan, Israel

Room Tip: Always look on the bright side of life.... High floor with a view to the empire state building
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simcha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,182)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,082 - 3,088 of 5,184 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

I have stayed at this Hotel in NYC for a few years now for business, and it continues to impress me. The staff is always so friendly and helpful, even when they are busy. The rooms are clean and have enough room to be comfortable. The beds are very comfortable to sleep on, and I LOVE their pillows.
This location if very convienient for me with all of my appts. in the area including the Empire State Building; I can walk to each appt.
I will continue to make my reservations at this hotel and tell all of my co workers to stay there when they go to NYC.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on a high floor so I don't hear all of the sirens and traffic at night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tawnya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have stayed in this otel 14 days and can say that it was very comfortable, clean with very kind and helpful staff in a very good location
This is almost what you need from a hotel!!!
Location: hotel is located 5 minutes from Macys. Almost in the middle of broadway and 5th avenue. So it is definitely good place to stay if you want to shop.

Breakfast: food is good. But the air condition is week in the dining room. You can feel that yor clothes are smelling. Staff is very kind indeed.

Room: we were staying 2adults and 17 months old little one. Our room was seeing the city view. Although It was located near elevator, we slept like babies:) only the sound of minibar can be heard but not a big deal.
Room is kept clean but not as it should have been. When we told that sheets are not changed although we had left the card on the bed, the manager kindly apologized and provided us a free breakfast which worths $40 without hesitation. They have indeed have a good complaint management.
Just a suggestion. Try not to eat all the time in the hotel. It is quite expensive. There are good places around where you may get the same taste.

Dinner: there is no place to eat in the hotel but strongley recommends Brendans Bar and Grill. Guests of this otel has a discount.. They have a vey kindly staff and gine food.

The only problem might be the elevators. During rush hours as the hotel is busy, it takes time for the elevator to come to your floor and takes time to go down as it stops a lot. But to be honest we had this problem only once during all our days.

As a summary it was a vey nice hotel. Worths for the money paid. Strongly recommends... Enjoy:)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerOfThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel lived up to the good reviews. It was super easy to arrive at when we entered at the Lincoln tunnel. The front desk was very friendly. Our room was very clean, and also large for NYC standards. Location is convenient to sights. My only negatives are that we personally did not find the beds to be to comfortable. Slept on worse, but have slept on alot better. Also, be prepared to wait at the elevators.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife wanted to spend night in the city with her Mom. I chose this place for them because of great location (they would be going home from Penn) and reasonable price. Very professional: there is a counter so you can check your bags before your room is ready and start your day (or for your last day, so you can check out and leave your bags till later). Room was clean, view was good. Overall very positive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed for one night. Hotel is nice and clean. But the front desk was not as I expected from the Hilton chain. We made a reservation for a room with a view (those rooms are more expensive ) and made a request for a high floor. On arrivle we were being told that we will get a back room no view since the hotel is full. When I told the front desk lady that I payed more for that type of room , she said all the rooms are the same price... Only after I insisted that it's not correct , she called the manager at that moment and he admitted it was their mistake but, we still couldn't get the room we reserved . They compensated us with free breakfast But we felt very bad with the front desk attitude at the beginning . The room without the empire state building was fine all looked clean and new. Hotel location is good for touring the city. Beds are too soft.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great hotel in prime location. Walk to everything. ESB, Penn Sta and Macies a very short walk. Central Park & Times Square walkable as well.
Squeaky clean, good sized rooms. Super friendly staff. Micros and fridges. Have stayed before and the HGI always comes through. Rate this time unbelievably low.
Will return.

Room Tip: Availability basis upgrades offered when booking are a good value.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,182 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,493 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#164 of 468 in New York City
5,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#107 of 468 in New York City
6,852 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#106 of 468 in New York City
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £149 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing