We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #80 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is my first time I stayed at the HGI on W 35th in New York. The location is excellent: Empire State Building, Time Square, theatre district, and Penn Station are in convenient walking distance. If you like Korean food, there are some fabulous restaurants on 33rd street. Try "Tous Les Jours" for some amazing desserts. The rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn were pretty much standard size for a moderately prized hotel in New York. Decor was updated and pragmatic, everything was clean and convenient. Bed was super comfortable and one of the best features of the room was that it came with a refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was way beyond expectation: really huge marble walk-in shower with the best shower head and water pressure I have had in a hotel in quite some time.
Another surprising plus in this hotel was the prompt and efficient front desk service, everybody was very helpful and friendly. We arrived really early for check-in on our first day and no rooms were available at the time. They took my cell phone number and ACTUALLY CALLED within half an hour. Another example for the great service was that the battery in our TV remote died the second day of our stay. I called the front desk and had a new remote in less than 5 minutes!!!
The breakfast buffet was plentiful, cooked to order eggs, good coffee.
You are not staying at the Four Seasons, but for a budget hotel chain in New York, the Hilton Garden Inn exceeded all my expectations. You receive excellent value for your money here and I will be happy to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,985
    1,624
    317
    66
    49
See reviews for
1,347
1,564
340
893
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I poured over lots of hotel reviews before I decided on the Hilton Garden Inn on 35th St. The location is ideal--within walking distance to many sites, including the Empire State Building and Times Square. There is also a subway stop just steps away. The hotel was quiet and we felt quite safe. The beds were very comfortable, which is important when you've been sightseeing all day. The room was smaller than other Hiltons I've stayed in, but this is something you will probably encounter with just about all downtown hotels. We three girls managed just fine, though, and we had a view of the Empire State Building. Staff was very helpful, also.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Johnna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

After staying at another Hilton Garden Inn in nyc last year,on which I wrote a positive review, we stayed one night this week , on the 35th str. at 6th avenue Hilton Garden Inn .We were very happy with the room,the clenliness and everyone who works there,from the reception people to the security peron who kept our luggage for a while.Also it is very,very near to all the shopping like Macy's and more.The only problem there is the elevators! A great problem!
One waits a long time for an elevator to come every time.I could understand, in "rush hours" when every one is checking in or checking out, but these elevators are slow 24/7!
Take this into account.

Room Tip: the higher the better,because of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75dina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn July 2-4 and it was wonderful. The hotel was located near everything that I needed. The staff was very friendly especially Tameika at the front desk. The hotel was quiet and I did not hear my neighbors at all. I travel to NYC every year for business and I have stayed at a few hotel hotels in NYC but I can honestly say that this is one of the best that I have stayed in.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The location could not be any better. The metro station is right off the hotel entrance. Times square is just 10 minutes walk, empire state building is 5 minutes walk. The hotel staff was less than helpful. I checked in early. My room was not ready so I requested them to call me on my cellphone once the room was ready. I waited for 3 hours and no call. I went back to the hotel and I was told the room had been ready for more than an hour.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ashwani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I really had a nice stay and this hotel. It was in a great location downtown New York. I really liked the staff they were friendly and helpful which made my stay that much better. The staff helped me with my map trying to find different things to do and see. I also loved my room it had a great view. Its also very clean and welcoming. I would recommend to anyone heading to NY.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchJoshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel in two rooms, as we were in NYC with our adult children. We found it to be exactly as advertized and consistent with similar hotels.

Reception was friendly and helpful, and check- in quick and easy. The rooms were more than adequate - not too large, but fine for sleeping in, as in NYC you are not going to spend too much time in them, anyway. The bed was super comfy, and we liked that we could adjust the firmness on each side. I especially enjoyed the wonderful pillows- something you do not find in all hotels of this caliber. The linens were clean and soft and in good shape. The bathroom was fine - clean with more than adequate amenities, and we enjoyed the walk- in glass doored shower. The only thing that would have been nice, would be a bar or ledge for leg shaving, and perhaps a shower head that could be adjusted. My only real gripe in the bathroom, was the location of the toilet rolls - you need super long arms to reach it! Good, forceful hairdryer is provided and the Neutrogena toiletries are a welcome touch. A larger soap bar for the shower/tub would be nice, as it is very small for more than one person.

The black - out curtains are great, and our room, 1109, at the end of the hallway, was quiet at all times and we slept like logs.

Housekeeping was very late doing our room one of the days - but I guess the hotel was very busy that weekend. They were better the following day, and most polite.

I had only two minor gripes, but they are personal, and probably won't affect most folk - firstly, I found the aircon in the lobby way too cold. After being in the heat and humidity of outdoors, I felt as though I was shivering in the Arctic on entering the hotel, and secondly, I had great trouble logging on to the free internet on my phone. I only managed to get on about twice, despite trying all the options and going down to the desk. Not sure why this happened. I would get as far as the agreement, and then there was no place to click to continue.

The kids enjoyed the free eats in the lobby daily, especially the cookies. Nice touch.

The location is superb for Times Square, Macy's and the subway, the Empire State Building etc. It's a good base for NYC and easy to access most places from the location.

All in all, a decent choice,but now that we have seen this part of NYC, we will go elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Room 1109 at the end of the hallway, was quiet with a great view and a walk- in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,925 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#105 of 468 in New York City
731 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#104 of 468 in New York City
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#170 of 468 in New York City
5,284 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 468 in New York City
6,621 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing